We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Gannet Safaris Overland
from US$548.51
More Info
from US$633.19
More Info
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
520
36
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
520
36
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape kidnappers golf course our tour guide great tour gannet safari hour tour the cliff the entire trip sense of humour highly recommend this tour interesting commentary his knowledge three hours four wheel drive excellent trip native birds once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Having visited Hawkes Bay a lot I decided it was time we went out to Cape Kidnappers, much to my husband's disappointed expectation that this would be just like Muriwai. The morning with Tony turned out to be far different from a trip to Muriwai. Yes, we saw gannets, but that's where the similarities end. Three hours of interesting commentary and anecdotes, with enough stops to enjoy the landscape, passed very quickly. And the gannet colonies (all four of them) were very interesting even to non bird watchers. We were privileged to be allowed on this working farm.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank nzcowlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Second time there. First was along the beach several years ago. Even more interesting this time with the drive through the Farm. David, our driver, gave an interesting and entertaining commentary. It is always fascinating watching the adult gannets coming in to land, and the older chicks wing flapping.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

Amazing to get so close to the gannets, great information on the birds, the history of the farm and Hawkes Bay Area. Tony our guide and driver was a very safe driver over some ‘interesting’ roads.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Ambassador639466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021

One time go experience only . The price was not worth the trip $88 .. only thing to watch was the ocean views . Gannet colony was very smelly as one Gannet was laying dead in front of us .. Tea was provided in the same area , should have chosen another spot for afternoon tea.
Other spots shown to us on the way was mud ponds with ducks and cows.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank ejaslka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Great trip - the Gannet colony is amazing and you get so close without interfering with the birds. Lots of information given throughout.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank 269alistairm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews