We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Clearview Estate Winery
from US$58.45
More Info
from US$123.65
More Info
from US$76.71
More Info
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
83
40
12
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
83
40
12
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting small plates stuffed squid fish of the day lovely service kids menu clearview estate the food was absolutely delicious relaxing lunch great knowledge couldn t wide selection bread cellar door duck restaurant was fully booked tasted wines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

We had the best day at Clearview , we had a fabulous wine tasting with Lee, his knowledge was outstanding and could not fault anything. We then had lunch the staff were fabulous and we were privileged to have Tim come over and chat with us and shared some wine. The food was outstanding. New chef in town again we could not fault our day shame it had to end ! Thanks all.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Tomdickharrysally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

A fabulous afternoon all round, special mention for Ginny who oversaw our wine tasting, very informative with a dollop of good humour as an added extra. Lunch was delicious and the staff very attentive and courteous.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank 332leannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

We visited here last week for a tasting and ended up having lunch as well. The staff member who did the wine tasting was very knowledgeable and helpful, and flexible in terms of catering to our tastes - very happy with the experience. Our lunch was lovely, very tasty flavours beautifully cooked and presented. It would be a place we return to and recommend to others.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

Visited Waitangi Weekend as part of a wine tasting tour for a friends birthday. Venue was beautiful and clearly popular as it was very busy but staff member Lee left us all feeling a bit stink. We had hoped he was just having an off day but from reviews below and on google it seems we are not the first to experience Lee's rudeness and arrogance.

When greeted at the door Lee was clearly flustered and complained about us being late (we didn't know this at the time but he had actually asked our guide to bring us in early if possible and we had arrived "on time" ) and the fact the group before us were yet to arrive and 45 minutes late (whom as it turns out were seated behind us shortly thereafter).

When seated he asked about our day and we mentioned this winery was the last on the tour of four. He then stated not to tell him that as he then couldn't serve us as duty manager. Two members of our group then informed him that they are also duty managers with liquor licences and work in bars/the sale of alcohol at which point he changed his tune.

When asked if he could cater the tasting to whites rather than reds he acted like it was the biggest inconvenience. He snubbed and was quite rude and offensive to several members of the group who decided to leave. Our tour guide picked up on this so we said we would all like to leave early as we had already tasted 5 wines and we felt we had had enough and could the guide please inform Lee.

Lee came out to provide another wine and our birthday girl politely explained our group had had enough, thanked him for his service and informed him we were leaving not wanting to cause a scene. He insisted he had two more wines for us to try (funny behaviour for a man who had claimed we were too inebriated to be served when we first arrived!) and again we stated we had had enough and were leaving to which he rolled his eyes and shouted "whatever" as we left. Really put a damper on an otherwise amazing day.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Laurenalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Had booked for a wine tasting and nibbles for a hens do during our cycle winery tour- we were late to our table booking (but the place was quiet) - was treated by “what time do you call this?!” By a sexist rude man called Lee who told us we were “naughty girls” - looking back I wish we just left. If your looking for good welcoming service avoid this place and spend your money and time somewhere else where they will treat you with respect. Do not go here!!!

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank NZfoodandwineltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews