We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Platypus and Mountain Bikes

Reserve now only permanently open to walk ins from carpark at entry. A huge attraction to mountain... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2020
RestlessMum
,
Tasmania
via mobile
Great place for spotting Duckbill Platypus

We had visitors from Japan 🇯🇵 who came specifically to see the Duckbill Platypus and I must say... read more

Reviewed 27 December 2019
T3783RDrussellt
,
Devonport, Australia
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
6
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
6
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

Reserve now only permanently open to walk ins from carpark at entry.
A huge attraction to mountain bikers of all ages with Wild Mersey just there.

Date of experience: July 2020
3  Thank RestlessMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

We had visitors from Japan who came specifically to see the Duckbill Platypus and I must say they were not disappointed. They visited the forest at dawn on several occasions and were extremely happy to report that they had spotted several Platypus ducking and diving in the Mersey River

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank T3783RDrussellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

The maps available online show that you can drive right up to the 'platypus pond' - this not not so. The road is closed and it is a 10 to 15 minute walk. We went in Jan 2019 and the pond had no water in it. Your best bet is to bring your walking shoes and walk the track along the river, it starts as soon as you pass through the gate to your right. Walk slowly along the river you may see a platypus. We didn't because it was too late in the day (11am).

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Probably ur best chance to look for wild platypus, there a a small walk on bitumen road to the pond, yet we could not see any -around 3pm- best is early early in the morning, tours are at 6am, else if ur really looking for some, try platypus house at beauty point which is approx an hour driving east,

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Applanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

There is Still a lot of damage from the flooding that occurred two years ago but the platypus were there.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Downunderjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews