We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A really good experience

The boats are well maintained and cared for. Well fitted out with all you need for the holiday. All... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2022
NickLewis57
Fun family sailing holiday

I had never sailed before the holiday, but now I really know my way around the boat and the key... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2022
893pippa
via mobile
Read all 101 reviews
  
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience welcome pack norfolk broads fantastic week little extras great sailing high seas boat yard storage space the galley be booking again relaxing holiday tea and coffee day sail supermarket delivery yacht gaff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2021

Took the family for a week in August on a sailing holiday, and we had a great time, and the team at Eastwood were great. we took our dog, who turned out not to be too keen, bit they gave her a life jacket, and she survived. the boat was ok for a family of 4, and the holiday was a reasonable price, esp as you don't pay anything else, as mooring is generally free, and they include fuel, car parking, you can even cook meals on the boat, although most evenings we found a pub.
the kids did great, even the youngest was able to sail a triangle course, and the oldest was fine on her own sailing the 30 foot yacht.
we wanted a bit of training as we hadn't sailed for 30.years, they gave us 2 options, £75 for half a day refresher, or £400 for 2 full days plus RYA certs. we went for the 2 full days, and I think that was an error, not that the instructior didn't know his stuff or was bad, he was a good bloke, but we didn't get any qualifications, and that was the main reason we choose to pay more. Hopefully we will return.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank S5514NLsimonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2021

A really great short break made really perfect by the wonderful team at the boat yard. Superb boat to sail and first Gaff rigg I have sailed for many years. Great to be reminded of how wonderful these boats are to sail.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank christof131
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

The yacht was very clean, well equipped and a pleasure to sail. The staff are beyond helpful, even stowing a supermarket delivery expertly. If you need to contact them, they are knowledgeable and quick to respond. I also loved the welcome pack! Also love their dog friendliness with no hidden or extra costs for fuel, the dog or parking. The price published is all you pay but this is not true of all other boatyards. Shower and toilet facilities are immaculately clean.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank gnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

We fulfilled a lifetime ambition to go sailing on the Norfolk Broads this summer (July 2021). We were able to achieve this by taking out Lutra for the week, made possible by the excellent team at Eastwood Whelpton. We cannot praise them highly enough for their friendly (and very professional) attitude and support, through booking, to sailing and as we disembarked...an amazing company, who want to encourage the return to sailing on the Broads.

Lutra sailed like a dream, and had everything we needed on board for sailing and catering, and despite our concerns, we successfully lowered and raised the mast without great trouble. The boat and its setup was really designed to take the worries out of sailing someone else's boat and great attention was paid to ensure it was a relaxing holiday, not a source of stress.

We are already in the process of booking next year's trip

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank prichardmcgurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

This was our first family sailing holiday since having our 3 kids who are now 9, 12 and 15! We had some experience of yaght sailing before kids but were very rusty so had a half day tuition from Frosty who was superb. Our boat ('Trade Wind') was perhaps a tad small for a growing family but she was well equipped and nimble so perfect for getting used to Broads sailing. We had 2 wonderful days sailing on Barton Broad with all 3 kids taking the helm and becoming completely addicted to sailing! We will definitely be booking again!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Chilliecider
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews