We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A really good experience

The boats are well maintained and cared for. Well fitted out with all you need for the holiday. All... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2022
NickLewis57
Fun family sailing holiday

I had never sailed before the holiday, but now I really know my way around the boat and the key... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2022
893pippa
via mobile
Read all 101 reviews
  
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience welcome pack great sailing high seas boat yard day sail supermarket delivery yacht gaff westwood skiing sailed boatyard frosty broads boats motor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2021

Just back from our second week's holiday on the magnificent Leda and cannot speak highly enough again of our experience, Leda and the Eastwood Whelpton team and its gold-standard service. I can't wait to go again!
Leda was in beautiful condition. The team has thought of everything to make a break aboard perfect - the galley is equipped with everything you need, and the folder of info goes above and beyond what you'd expect.
Leda sails beautifully and we enjoyed many hours of wonderful sailing.Everything above deck worked perfectly.
Below deck was comfortable. We didn't think we'd need the heater when we booked for the end of May, but it was very welcome for the chilly nights.
Last September we explored the northern rivers mooring at Thurne, Ranworth, Ludham, Barton Turf and wild moorings.
This time we headed for the southern rivers - Berney Arms, Reedham, Loddon, Coldham Hall, Somerleyton, Beccles, Oulton Broad, St Olaves and Ludham, with one night's wild stop.
Thank you so much to all the team for making a holiday on our doorstep so perfect.
My partner first sailed an EW boat as a 15-year-old Londoner 46 years ago, caught the bug from his time on Bootlegger, and has sailed ever since. He is Leda's biggest fan now and we're now planning another break aboard her.
She has the magical powers to calm the stresses of life on land and glides you through the wonderful escapes of our beautiful Broadland. Perfect.
Even our 14-year-old golden retriever is a huge fan of boat life.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank RachelM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 May 2021

We have just returned from an excellent week's sailing in Eastwood Whelpton's HIGH SEAS. The boat was in excellent condition, and we were brilliantly looked after by EW both at handover, and when we needed help with a minor problem halfway through the week. Down below HIGH SEAS was well equipped and provided for, and even in an unseasonably cold late May the cabin heater for evenings and the warm duvets overnight kept us snug. Above decks everything worked impeccably, and HIGH SEAS lived up to her description as a high performance and elegant sailing gaffer.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 850mickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andy H, Owner at Eastwood Whelpton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you for your positive feedback - did you mean to give us a 1 'terrible' rating?
Hope to see you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

The operation is highly professional with friendly and helpful staff. The boat was clean and well maintained with everything we needed for a week out. The welcome pack was was a really nice touch!
To experience an old gaff rigged yacht and traditional way of sailing was such a treat.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank rgpentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

These is only one way to sail on the Broads, and that is with Eastwood Whelpton. Their yachts are beautifully maintained, equipped with everything you could possibly require and sail perfectly, A superb four days. Nothing is too much trouble for Annie and Andy. What more could you possibly require?

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank simongQ1347VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 April 2021

First time with Eastwood Welptons since I was a child. Have hired LUTRA. Wonderful experience in this autumn cool. A heated cabin is a luxury. And the team could not have done more to make us welcome before our departure

Really good and welcoming service.

Great family holiday and the boat handles.very well in all conditions. Can not fault anything

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank christopherdV1757LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews