We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A really good experience

The boats are well maintained and cared for. Well fitted out with all you need for the holiday. All... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2022
NickLewis57
Fun family sailing holiday

I had never sailed before the holiday, but now I really know my way around the boat and the key... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2022
893pippa
via mobile
Read all 101 reviews
  
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
98
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience welcome pack norfolk broads great sailing high seas boat yard be booking again relaxing holiday tea and coffee day sail supermarket delivery yacht gaff westwood skiing sailed boatyard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Best way to unwind... in the wind!
After the fun and excitement of arriving and setting sail you can feel life's pressures falling away.
Eastwood Whelpton is a lovely family owned boatyard on the beautiful Norfolk Broads. A short stay gives you just enough time to sail up to Hickling and Horsey, two lovely sailing destinations, where you can experience life at a pace it is meant to be.
We have had a number of holidays on the broads and, once you get into sailing a 'proper' broads yacht, you will never turn back. Those that have cruisers are the 'hullabaloos' that Arthur Ransome talks about and sailing past Potter Heigham Bridge filters out the majority of hullabaloos and it makes for a tranquil time on the water.
Cannot wait until we go again.

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

Lovely friendly yard, great service, boats are kept well and in good condition. Ropes replaced when getting worn, which is so important for enjoying sailing. Goodie bag and pint of milk in the fridge on arrival - they really take care of you.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank NorffolkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2020

I have had two separate days sailing one of the half-deckers this year. The boats were clean on pick-up and all Covid precautions were taken. It felt very safe. Both days were windy and reefs needed but the boat still handled well. This yard is a very good place to set off from for a days sailing and fits beautifully into a morning sailing, moor up for a picnic lunch and sail again in the afternoon pattern. They provide a small electric outboard which can be a help getting out or into the dyke. ( I think a way of securing the outboard while saying will help)
I hope to make these days a regular event-have also hired one of the cruisers for a few days and can highly recommend that experience as well. Great family stay-cation.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Kilderkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 September 2020

We had a fantastic trip aboard Windjammer. The staff at Eastwood Whelpton were very helpful and the boat was clean and tidy on arrival. All social distancing was maintained as we did the introduction before setting sail.
We had mixed weather, but thankfully the torrential rain and high winds were confined to the nights.
Some great sailing on Horsea and two journeys through Potter Heigham bridge.
If you want somewhere to sail from this is a great place.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank richardhR6197YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2020

Eastwood Whelpton are an extremely friendly and professional team and this year also offering a very careful Covid-aware service, along with their traditional warm welcome. Annie and Andy are such sailing enthusiasts, their energy is revitalising. Lovely new loos at yard, probably the best on the Broads and definitely worth a visit. 'South Seas' is a gaff rigged, beautifully crafted boat designed for the Broads. Just boarding begins to replenish the soul and a week aboard is life enhancing. We are amateur sailors with a more experienced young skipper. Engine very useful. Fridge is fantastic and very neat and serviceable oven/hob. Bunks very comfy. Added extras very welcoming. Exhilarating sailing on Barton and Hickling Broads, and the peace and precision of goose winging up meadow dyke utterly sublime. Other things to do: row to Ranworth from the island moorings; mud weight overnight at Horsey; eat yummy donuts at Potter Heigham, ice creams at Ludham Bridge (served to the mooring by the very kind shop owner) and great pizza at the White Horse Inn Neatishead; book for next year.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Global14651789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andy H, Owner at Eastwood Whelpton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you so much! What a kind review - our favourite one of the year so far! Glad you all had a super family week together on South Seas. See you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews