We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
54
23
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
23
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housewent out of her waylovely viewpatdesviewsport
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I have stayed in the Dockside Guest House twice now and the rooms and the service are of a very high standard. Although the Guest House is situated close to the main thoroughfare through Port Alfred it is more than made up with the views that you have.
Breakfast is excellent with a good selection and you will have the best scrambled eggs there that you have ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well apportioned and have good views but undoubtedly the main bedroom upstairs is a truly excellent room.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We always enjoy having you all to stay and this year it was a celebration for you with all your wins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I had a lovely room downstairs, overlooking the yacht basin. It was comfortable, and well equipped with everything I expected and needed. The off-street parking was fine, and it was a short drive from the house to good restaurants in town.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deblèssé S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Pat and Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I wish we had more time to enjoy and explore this stunning views we had from our bedroom window. Wonderful place to stay, elegant, comfortable beds and BEAUTIFUL bathroom (with romantic corner bath)
Great value for money, my new address in Port Alfred

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank belindawerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This place is above & beyond for what one would normally get at this price. The rooms are all wonderfully decorated. The hosts are very kind and even lent us an additional heater of their own in winter. Pat kindly recommended activities and restaurants in the region, beyond Port Alfred. And the view from the lounge or room balcony is lovely. The shower in our room was very small so if you're finicky about shower space please ask the host for a room with a larger shower.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 958kikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Pam and Des drove out and helped us change our flat tire before we checked in. To say the least, it was clearly service above and beyond the typical. We also appreciated all the tips they had about local shops and sights. We will happily return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelandjudy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews