We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dockside Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I wish we had more time to enjoy and explore this stunning views we had from our bedroom window. Wonderful place to stay, elegant, comfortable beds and BEAUTIFUL bathroom (with romantic corner bath)
Great value for money, my new address in Port Alfred

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank belindawerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

This place is above & beyond for what one would normally get at this price. The rooms are all wonderfully decorated. The hosts are very kind and even lent us an additional heater of their own in winter. Pat kindly recommended activities and restaurants in the region, beyond Port Alfred. And the view from the lounge or room balcony is lovely. The shower in our room was very small so if you're finicky about shower space please ask the host for a room with a larger shower.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 958kikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Pam and Des drove out and helped us change our flat tire before we checked in. To say the least, it was clearly service above and beyond the typical. We also appreciated all the tips they had about local shops and sights. We will happily return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelandjudy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The cleanliness and welcoming from the lady of the house the orientation the view to the harbour the balcony . looking at the house team (wife & Hubby ) preparing breakfast for the guests was so amazing. wish to come back again

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dinilesizwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

i was very happy and impressed about everything in Dock side,the place it self is so refreshing and welcoming,i really had a good time staying in there and i think i can recommend other people to go and also have a quality time at dock side

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wisemansimphiwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
9.1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.6 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
334 reviews
1.4 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#1 of 27 in Port Alfred
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
169 reviews
1.1 km away
Sheilan House
Sheilan House
#9 of 27 in Port Alfred
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest House

Address: 1 Caxton Lane | East Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: HK$406 - HK$1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dockside Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Guest House is situated directly across the picturesque small boat harbour on the East Bank of beautiful Port Alfred, in the Eastern Cape - situated midway – exactly 150km between the cities of East London and Port Elizabeth.Dockside Guest House is managed by owners Des and Pat Riggien, and you will experience warm and friendly hospitality throughout your stay. We measure our success since we opened by the high return rate of our guests, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing