We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well family run Guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dockside Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This guesthouse is very comfortable with spectacular views of the Port Alfred Harbour. It also has a spacious upstairs lounge and large table for working.
Positives: Good Breakfast, Comfortable bed, Flat screen TV, cable Channels, fridge, tea/coffee station. Nice veranda overlooking the Harbour. Ideal for sundowners.
Negatives: I would have to think hard to find one. I would say the only small negative is tat if you have a room near the breakfast room, it can wake you up in the morning. However these are the rooms with a better view, so a trade off.

Room Tip: trade off best harbour views have rooms closest to breakfast room which may be a noise factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you. We appreciate the kind words and the very thoughtful review. Have noted your remarks about the noise. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the hosts was welcoming and extremely friendly. Not only were they helpful, they were ready to go out of their way to accommodate us. Amazing views from and around the guest house are to be expected. Highly recommend

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank zeekay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you. It was great having the 2 of you to spend some time with us and to introduce you to the many delights of our town. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Friendly clean and beautiful place
Room was beautiful
Great service
Very friendly
Breakfast was delicious
Very modern rooms. Loved the room we stayed in very spacious
Bed was comfortable
Very clean
Safe area and close to everything

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 823chantelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Pat and Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Service was great from checking in to checking out.
Friendly welcome, always available to attend to our requests.
Very nice view of the Port Alfred harbour. The place is also in a well secured area and very close to the shopping area

Room Tip: Room was clean and spacious
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely having you to stay and we are so glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

What a wonderful surprise when you step through the door of this delightful guest house. Pat welcomed us and immediately made it feel like home. Rooms were very comfortable and of a good size. Really enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Excellent view from front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anderson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Thank you - it was lovely having you to stay. Hope to see you again. Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.6 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
334 reviews
9.1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
1.4 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#1 of 27 in Port Alfred
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
169 reviews
1.6 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest House

Address: 1 Caxton Lane | East Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: HK$445 - HK$1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dockside Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Guest House is situated directly across the picturesque small boat harbour on the East Bank of beautiful Port Alfred, in the Eastern Cape - situated midway – exactly 150km between the cities of East London and Port Elizabeth.Dockside Guest House is managed by owners Des and Pat Riggien, and you will experience warm and friendly hospitality throughout your stay. We measure our success since we opened by the high return rate of our guests, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing