We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Lodge(National Park Village)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tongariro Crossing Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plateau Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Howards Mountain Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Haus(National Park Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA National Park(National Park Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Pukenui Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Heights Lodge(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
85
168
91
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
168
91
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstongariro crossingloft roombar and restaurantwalls are thinroaring firelamb shankpacked lunchcommunal kitchenschool holidaysgreat atmospherehot tubcontinental breakfastpleasant stayboth nightsrooms are smalltea and coffeespa pool
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

the hotel is in a town, where there are practically no alternative for eating.
the bar is cosy, having happy hour (reduced - not half - prices ) where you can bring your drinks to the restaurant afterward.
the food at the restaurant was OK, but do to the very slow waitress the food was not warm, when you received it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hogsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize that your food was not warm, we do hope you brought this to our attention at the time so we could fix the issue!

We are glad to hear that you had a warm reception however, and enjoyed our on site bar:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stayed at the Park Hotel in Tongariro National Park on the North Island the second week in April. We paid extra ($125 New Zealand) for special service for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The "special service" that the Park Hotel offers is a cheap sack lunch and the hotel van to shuttle hikers to the crossing. On check-in, the hotel informed us that weather had forced a closure of the Alpine Crossing and that they would not provide any refund on the "special service" because "those are the rules". In speaking with the Hotel Manager, he refused to provide any recourse saying that "weather cancellations are not their fault and their was no possible recourse for a refund" and that it was "clearly stated" on the website. We could find no such reference. Note that the hotel had not spent any money on our hike, they simply pocketed the money. Trying to work to find a resolution with the hotel manager was impossible. At first he avoided talking to us but when we finally met up with his the hotel manager was openly hostile and had no interest in providing any customer service. An example quote: "that's fine, you are out of your $125, too bad...". This manager has never heard of customer service and, in his mind, the customer is never first - always last..
As for the hotel itself - the rooms are mediocre, rooms are cold, breakfast is mediocre (coffee is instant). There is a wide variety of hotels in this area that are much nicer, please stay at one of those rather than this rip-off joint.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL - THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 873darrelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

This reviewer has done their best to trash us because they wanted to cancel out due to bad weather and was very abusive to staff. The extreme language in the review speaks volumes. I can’t imagine any hotel taking bookings on the basis that you just cancel on the spot because the weather isn't what you wanted. We do however accept that it is unfair that unused non accommodation components of the crossing package are not refunded. Accordingly we have changed our policy, changed the T&Cs on the website and will refund this whenever such a situation arises. We will also refund those components to these guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent and economical place to stay. It is a great place to stay for hiking the Tongariro crossing. We appreciated the friendly staff, delicious meals, the heater and electric blankets. The room was compact but was ok as we only stayed one night.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellingthewor2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hello,

Thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay while doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I stayed at the Park Hotel for two nights. Checkin was easy. The staff was very nice. I arranged transportation to and from the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and purchased a lunch. The first night was very quiet and non-eventful. The next morning, I had the breakfast buffet. It's nothing to write home about, but perfectly fine. I reported to the lobby for the bus ride. The hotel staff had the packed lunch ready and advised me not to wear jeans for the Alpine Crossing. I changed and returned to meet Tony, our driver to the crossing. Tony is awesome! He gave us a lot of valuable information about the crossing and picked me up exactly when he told us to be there. No problems at all. I had dinner at the bar that evening- fish and chips. I was pleasantly surprised how piping hot and delicious it was, and a large serving at that! The bar was quite nice as well. Good happy hour. It is worth noting that there is one gas station in town, and it was everything you could possibly need, with the exception of a cold beer (I think that's a NZ thing). So again the bar was nice to have. I retired to the room on the second night and the hotel was quite a bit busier than the first. I'm really sensitive to noise, and sadly the room is fairly noisy, but nothing that my noise-cancelling headphones couldn't remedy. The Park Hotel, the bar, and the transportation to the crossing all worked out well and it was priced right. Overall I had a nice stay at the Park and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floor away from the restaurant for noise abatement.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwpix26e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback:)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here while completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. It sounds like you had a great time and took in all that The Park Hotel has to offer, including our convenient transport options and great meal choices:)

Thanks again, we hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were here for a two nights stay, doing the tongariro crossing.

The stay was okay for the price we paid. They have a good team running the place, there is nothing short about their service.
The breakfast is slim on choices but the dinner menu is varied and delicious.

Bathroom: well, that was the actual let down for our stay. It’s extremely small and impractical, even putting a couple of hooks would improve it significantly!
Must add that the hot water on tap is very good.

That’s all, thank you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Sharron,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was:)

Thank you for your feedback regarding the ensuite, we will pass this suggestions on.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our great restaurant and found their to be a high level of service from our staff.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews