We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (9,300)
Filter reviews
9,300 results
Traveller rating
4,647
2,917
1,054
416
266
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,647
2,917
1,054
416
266
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mojito bar a la carte restaurants seafood lobby bar superior room premium section chicken beach restaurant pizza our favourite amazing holiday gala dinner crepes coffee train waiter service air conditioned
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,234 - 4,239 of 9,300 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This resort was recommended to us by a friend who goes every year. I was a little skeptical as it is cuba and was told that the food is horrible. I read lot of reviews before going, and most of them were good about this resort.

Check In- Pretty fast for the amount of people who were checking in at the same time as us.

Food- honestly way better food here then my previous trips to both mexico and dominican. We ate at the Romantico (our fav) the seafood (fantastic) and the caribino (very good) and we had no complaints about the food. A little slow with dessert, but honesly very good service. We had many buffets for breakfast and lunch and had no complaints. Never got sick, and never any issues. We did stay away from the cold cuts and salads, but by the end of the trip did eat salad and still not problems.

Coffee Bar- by far our favourite thing, we had this every day multiple times. Its very busy after dinner and the wait is sometimes upto 20 minutes, but the ladies work extra hard to get you served as fast as possible. This is possibly some of the best coffee/latte/cappicino I have ever had.

Beach- nice blue waters and white sand. No problems with walking in bare feet, as the sand is very nice. Snorkling is great! Never had to wait for snorkle equipment. Did have to book the paddle boats well in advance (day before)

Staff- always friendly! loved our maid Aida as she was so sweet. We did tip a lot as that is what friends had said to be prepared to do. I honesly think that they appreciate it, as they do not get paid much. We left lots of goodies for the maid each day, and she gave us nice towel art everyday.

Large resort, so be prepared to walk. Although there is lots of carts going around all day long, so they will pick you up and take you to where you are going.

Money Exchange- bring canadian if possible. If you bring US money you will be charged a lot more for exchanging to CUCs. Exchange rate was pretty good when we were gone. Usually exchanged about 40 Can got 37 cuc's.

Internet- Very slow. Dial up. No wifi. Typically pay 4 pescos for 30 mins or 8 for an hour.

Markets- New each day. The resort has a pathway that has about 8 vendors each day. Very good prices. Paid a dollar for jewelery, 10 for a picture frame.

Outlets for electrical items- they have 220V, so we had purchased an adaptor. I actually blew a fuse trying to use my hair straightner, so becareful with what you plug in, and make sure they are compatible with 220V. I know most canadians have 120V items.

Day Trips- We did the Island Paradise tour (with nolitours) and the Cuba inside trip. We loved the Island paradise. It is truly paradise, your taken out on a catameran to a private island. On the island you are taken on a jeep safari to see all of the animals. These animals were brought in from other countries. We seen ostrich (got to pet) zebra, buffalo,gazelle, wild horses etc. After that had buffet lunch while looking out to the bay. Then went snorkling, which was awesome! Lots of fish and coral to see. Then took catameran back, with happy hour.
Cuba Inside- was going into town for the day. Took airconditioned bus and went to see the sites in town. Was very informative.Went to cuban cigar factory, to see how everything was made. Purchased cigars. Went to a new hotel for lunch. (excellent food) then visited some markets. Did get hasseled quite a bit when walking around the town for money from the locals. Might have been the only downfall of this trip.

I think thats it. Honestly this was one of the best hotels I have been to. Its rustic yes, but clean and the staff are great people. I want to go back as soon as I can. We went the week of Feb 28th Till March7th. Weather was good. Only 1 day of rain, a few cloudy days, but it was still hot compared to Canada. Wish we were able to stay for 2 weeks.

Room tip: Try for an upper floor closest to the beach and pool.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tismetiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The beach was amazing, second time staying on that beach,crystal clear water and white sand. If you go snorkling, take a banana from the buffet and the fish will eat it
Rooms were good for Cuba, I was in a deluxe room by the beach. They were clean, but a bit squishy, and the bathtub/shower was in rough condition. Other than that, mini fridge was refilled daily.
The resort was on the larger side, so be prepared to get a little exercise depending where your room is. The buffet was quite large, and I found the food disappointing. However, If you like seafood, it isn't too bad. The staff at the resort were amazing and always willing to help with a smile.
Entertainment was lacking, although they did have nightly shows, they were nothing special... At night, the lobby is lively and there is a disco until 2am.

Weather for the week was good, a few rainy days, but when the sun came out it was beautiful

Overall, i was happy with the resort, but disappointed in the food.

Room tip: If you have get a higher room, be careful when it rains because the stairs are extremely slippery. Try to get a room in the center of the resort- less walking
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

A well run complex with dutiful and lovely staff . The beach is ok but like the huge well kept pools you have to suffer the towel reservistas who grab the best spots at some ungodly hour then disappear for most of the morning and lunch . The food is ample with good basic quality and the restaurant staff are always keen to assist , the food is often uncovered but there's very few flies to cause an issue. Small birds habit the open roof beams in the two main restaurants and bar area which is charming depending on your view but they were never an issue . The rooms were cleaned daily by wonderful maid .
Tips can be a constant draw on your finances so budget for it
. We went end November start December and lost a few whole days and 5 half days to the rain , these weren't passing showers but prolonged down pours that lasted for hours!.
Cuba is Canada's Majorca so expect a few noisy families but its not an issue if you just move away .
The beach areas can get messed up with discarded plastic cups fortunately the excellent staff clear up some evenings .
A few more bins may encourage greater use. The pool area was immaculate.
Take your own snorkelling gear as the free fins are in short supply . Beach staff crew the Hobbie cats and take you out for a free half hour ride out to the deep sea and back , rather than just tip consider other things like sun tan lotion which is expensive for the locals to buy.
We didn't think the trips were value for money so organised our own . You can hire 1950/60 American taxis or modern ones and the hotel bus to holguin is cheap. There's plenty of mopeds but most weren't working.
Cuba is great the people are lovely and this resort is better than most so Go!

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorcycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Traveled with my wife and some friends on the 18th Feb for two weeks. Weather was mainly good 30 and sunny with a couple of cloudy days.

The resort is big but you can walk anywhere in about 15 minutes. There are a number of restaurants I think 8, by far the best was the seafood restaurant on the sea front and Ardeless was extra special, I think she is the best member of staff I have found anywhere, always a laugh and a smile.

Romantica restaurant was good the Itialian had the most fed up staff and worse service I have ever experienced.

In terms of the overall hotel it is well kept we were in block 54 which has 16 rooms in it, not too far from the beach or the pool.

The main buffet restaurants have a wide selection of food but it is the same every night, but you do get four optional restaurants included per week.

The pool is vast, clean and not deep, less than 1.5m at all points, the beach has plenty of chairs and you can snorkel direct from the beach, so take you gear.

Free pedolows, hobby cats etc are available but the guys that run them are constantly on the make, trying to charge additional money if you wanted to take a fishing rod on your pedalo.

The main bar is big and quite well stocked with both international and local spirits, the bar does not have a great deal of character and feels a bit like a station waiting room and time with a great deal of coming and going. It does have a great coffee bar, with one of the best all inclusive lattes I have ever had.

There is not a vast amount to do in and around the resort but the trip to the dolphins is definitely worth the moneys. As is a trip into Holguin for a walk around.

A taxis for the day will cost about 80 peso so about £50 and takes about 35 minutes.

If you do visit Maybe try Bar Resturant Encuentro, Calle Aguliera No.24 e/ Pep Torres y Jose, Cardet Holguin Tel 924) 42 2752. It is an excellent fish and seafood resonant with an international chief. Ask for Wilmer and Say Gary;s friend Adrian sent you he will look after you well and he speaks good English, some french and Germany as well.

My overall view of Playa Pesquero is it is great value for money we paid £1100 for two weeks flying from the UL with Thomas Cook. I think now is the time to go to Cuba as it will become more commercialized, already tipping is prominent but not essential.

The Playa is not a 5 star international hotel, probably a good 3 star, great value for money, but expect to find a few days when they run out of things, we had two days without butter and a couple of days without white wine or rosie wine. Unfortunately that is Cuba, but accpet the Playa for what it is a good value all inclusive get away with some great staff and you will have a great time.

Room tip: Returning guest get better rooms
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is the second time we've been to Cuba, but the first time we've stayed at this hotel, it will not be the last time.
The hotel is a large hotel with plenty going on for adults and children during the day as well as on a night.
The pool is very large, but not deep therefore safe for children to play and swim. There is a smaller pool with activities going on throughout the day.
The activities team is truly fantastic, both my son's (10 & 12) were on the go most of the time. There is also a children's game room which they both thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel has numerous restaurants to use at lunch as well as for dinner.You can also book also an a la carte restaurants for dinner but make sure you do that early as they soon book up.
The coffee bar is open 24/7 and makes the most amazing coffees.
All staff are exceptional, the service is truly fantastic and everyone is so friendly.
Thank you to everyone at this hotel, you made our holiday fantastic and we will be back.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thirtysomethingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews