We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
118
12
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided walk western tiers venison spring water world heritage end room delicious meal book dinner this wonderful place delightful experience food and wine master chef own garden home grown peace and quiet home cooked comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017

What an amazing place. Total peace and stupendous views. Food was excellent and the hosts were great company . I was their only guest and they spared no effort in making me feel welcome. They were heading into their busy time. Do go on the half day guided walk into the rain forest. This was the highlight of my Tasmanian adventure. Super comfy room with great views.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Enid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-Sean, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thanks Enid, we try to make our single guests feel special. They usually get our undivided attention if there is no one else here which is sometimes the case, and if there is there is usually something to talk about over dinner. Our guests seem to share similar interests and often dinner conversation is lively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a beautiful place in the Western Tiers with accessible walks, wonderful meals and hosts very knowledgeable about the area, look no further than Forest Walks Lodge. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds, and luxurious baths, a lovely outdoor space to watch the lovely sunsets and the impressive southern stars. While you are close to the pretty town of Deloraine where you can get provisions for walks and have a meal, take advantage of the wonderful meals at the Forest Walks Lodge where a delicious meal with locally sourced foods can be prepared for you by your friendly hosts. You will also be able to join in walks right from the Lodge. There is much to be enjoyed at the Lodge and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ginar338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-Sean, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear gina, so glad you were able to do some of our great short walks. The Great Western Tiers around us is one of the best walking destinations in Tasmania. There are over 25 different walks of different grades and levels of ability from difficult to easy. So something for everyone. We recommend our guests stay at least 3 days to get a good insight in to varied activities available in the Deloraine district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

What an outstanding place to visit on out Tasmanian Itinerary arranged by Susie de Carteret, great host Sean an Rosemary food and hospitality where excellent.

Fabulous walk in the World Heritage Forest with Sean, his knowledge and expertise is second to none. Anyone visiting Tasmania should take a in a few days here to learn about ecology of this wonderful place. Thank you for the experience it will live long in the memory.

Room tip: They are all good.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank E5594ZNjohnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-Sean, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hi John, Thanks for the review. The walk with Sean is usually eyeopening and can be pitched at any level depending on your previous knowledge and experience. If you take this walk early on your Tasmanian visit it will set you up for what you are looking at all over Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

In a remote forest area this B&B/lodge has been built with eco-considerations in mind and is v. attractive and comfortable. Our first night Rosemary cooked us a delicious meal of smoked trout and home-grown lettuce, venison shoulder with pommes daupinoises, carrots & courgettes, & apple & rhubarb crumble & home-made ice-cream. We had a comfortable night apart from the smoke alarm deciding to go off! Sean, back from a trip, cooked us duck eggs & bacon for breakfast and a truly amazing master-chef dinner: buckwheat mushroom pancakes, tempura pink ling with courgette veg & flower, dessert of lemon & mandarin curd tart, kuquat in brandy, kumquat sorbet & a little glass of cointreau - wow!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thanks Linda
The citrus deserts have certainly been a winner this year. Sorry about the smoke alarm. We have recently had them both replaced so hopefully that won't happen again. The courgettes have dried up but we have very nice kale in the garden at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

On the excellent advice of our travel agent , Susie of Tasmanian Odyssey , we booked 2 nights at Forest Walks Lodge . It's quite unlikely we would have chosen , or even found , Rosemary and Sean's out if the way accommodation , but so glad we were directed here.The ecologically aware , virtually self-sustaining Lodge boasts large , clean accommodation , excellent , beautifully presented meals , prepared by Sean , the hosts' hospitality , entertainment (and eggs !) provided by the resident 4 ducks , and as a piece de resistance , Sean's guided forest walk ... a fascinating , educational , eye-opening few hours . Weather cooperated , so we got to spend a lot of outdoor time , were well-fed , slept well , learned a lot , didn't miss satellite connections ; what more could we ask ? Great stay ! Thanks to Rosemary and Sean ... and Susie !

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews