We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
118
12
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided walk western tiers venison spring water world heritage end room delicious meal book dinner this wonderful place delightful experience food and wine master chef own garden home grown peace and quiet home cooked comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

What an outstanding place to visit on out Tasmanian Itinerary arranged by Susie de Carteret, great host Sean an Rosemary food and hospitality where excellent.

Fabulous walk in the World Heritage Forest with Sean, his knowledge and expertise is second to none. Anyone visiting Tasmania should take a in a few days here to learn about ecology of this wonderful place. Thank you for the experience it will live long in the memory.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank E5594ZNjohnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-Sean, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hi John, Thanks for the review. The walk with Sean is usually eyeopening and can be pitched at any level depending on your previous knowledge and experience. If you take this walk early on your Tasmanian visit it will set you up for what you are looking at all over Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

In a remote forest area this B&B/lodge has been built with eco-considerations in mind and is v. attractive and comfortable. Our first night Rosemary cooked us a delicious meal of smoked trout and home-grown lettuce, venison shoulder with pommes daupinoises, carrots & courgettes, & apple & rhubarb crumble & home-made ice-cream. We had a comfortable night apart from the smoke alarm deciding to go off! Sean, back from a trip, cooked us duck eggs & bacon for breakfast and a truly amazing master-chef dinner: buckwheat mushroom pancakes, tempura pink ling with courgette veg & flower, dessert of lemon & mandarin curd tart, kuquat in brandy, kumquat sorbet & a little glass of cointreau - wow!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thanks Linda
The citrus deserts have certainly been a winner this year. Sorry about the smoke alarm. We have recently had them both replaced so hopefully that won't happen again. The courgettes have dried up but we have very nice kale in the garden at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

On the excellent advice of our travel agent , Susie of Tasmanian Odyssey , we booked 2 nights at Forest Walks Lodge . It's quite unlikely we would have chosen , or even found , Rosemary and Sean's out if the way accommodation , but so glad we were directed here.The ecologically aware , virtually self-sustaining Lodge boasts large , clean accommodation , excellent , beautifully presented meals , prepared by Sean , the hosts' hospitality , entertainment (and eggs !) provided by the resident 4 ducks , and as a piece de resistance , Sean's guided forest walk ... a fascinating , educational , eye-opening few hours . Weather cooperated , so we got to spend a lot of outdoor time , were well-fed , slept well , learned a lot , didn't miss satellite connections ; what more could we ask ? Great stay ! Thanks to Rosemary and Sean ... and Susie !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It's hard to zero in one any one outstanding feature. The accommodations, the food and the hospitality shown were over the top. Meals were bountiful, delicious and very well presented featuring local ingredients of the highest level. the hosts, Sean and Rosemary were just wonderful; kind, knowledgeable and only too happy to assist.
I booked again for this year and look forward to another stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrific view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElffromNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

We are looking forward to having you here again and sharing some great "foodie" stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in the Tasmanian wilderness, our hosts Sean and Rosemary provided a wonderfully layered experience.

The lodge is an ecologically aware design using solar and water power for most of its energy needs. The rooms are comfortable and look out onto plains, hills, the Tasmanian forests and not much else.

Dinner is prepared by Sean who is clearly a loss to the restaurant industry after preparing a wonderful meal with sustainable, locally sourced products.

Following breakfast, you must take one of Sean's guided forest walks. As an ecologist of many years standing, he opened up the wilderness to us and pointed out so many things we were looking at but not really seeing. A perfect way to enjoy yourself, get a little excercise and learn about our natural backyard.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WarwickF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestlodge, Owner at Forest Walks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks Warwick. We attempt to showcase the best of Tasmania, which includes the natural environment and the clean, green, food resources. Also the opportunity for sustainable living. A "layered" experience is exactly what we are hoping to achieve for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews