We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a FABULOUS night!”

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Villareal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Our family of adults enjoyed the most amazing dinner at Black Stallion tonight! Alex picked us up at our resort and we enjoyed visiting with him and hearing about Black Stallion. We arrived to the most unique dinner spot that we’d ever experienced. Food and drink began flowing the moment we arrived and everything was truly incredible - the BEST fish soup ever! The grandest spread of steak, ribs, chicken and sausage that we’ve ever seen and every bite was scrumptious! Fresh salad, veggies, rice, and SO much more! Full variety of drinks and some fun shots thrown in had everyone warmed up for karaoke. Alex, Fabio and Nancy were all amazing! We feel like we’ve met lifelong friends! Thank you guys! We hope to be back soon!

Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for the fab review,happy to see you loved our BBQ cooking style.
I hope you got the girls surfing lessons,next time come zipping with us & we do a little surf adventure aswell.So great to have you all. The girls loved the kareoke haha, goodtimes.
Thanks again & Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Had an awesome time at Black Stallion. The horses are very well trained and responded to every command. Our guide, Marcos was excellent. The BBQ was by far the best I've ever experienced. The entire staff takes great pride in their work. There is a pool and games such as ping pong. Very relaxing. I will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank todd5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Big thanks for the great review.Happy to see you loved the horses
and the ride with Marco.Yes our games room is a big hit with the kids,
We now have some thing for everyone to enjoy.Next time bring the fam & we will do a BBQ & karaoke pool night.Thanks again & Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Black Stallion is a great place to visit during a visit to Guanacaste!! Super place for locals as well!
Absolutely the Best Bar B Que anywhere around! Great for Private Parties too!
Had my son's 9th birthday there and it was a smashing success!
Offers Zip Lining, horseback riding, animals such as goats, horses, donkeys, swimming pool, pool tables, ping pong, pool tables, bandstand even a vintage carriage previously owned by the late rocker Tom Petty!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Pleasure having the Big Bash Party for Joey & his friends.That was a super fun afternoon,we do have a cool spot for Family events,every one had a blast.
We can go up to 22 kids on the zipline in one tour,so next time lets get all the kids to do canopy,plus the moms & pops
We are doing a tropical ranch wedding in the fiesta room for 70 next week,check shirts & cowboy hats,sombrero time amigo,lets see who ends up in the pool lol.
Thanks again,you are always very welcome Amigo.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Horseback riding was one of my favorite things to do in tamarindo and we had such a good time at black stallion ranch. Alex picked us up and took us to the ranch and let me borrow longer shorts so that I wouldn’t hurt my legs while riding. Then Marcos guided our riding and he was excellent! The horses are beautiful healthy and well kept. I would definitely come back and do it all over again.

Thank Telma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for the great review.Yes its better to wear cargo shorts that are longer so your inner legs are covered,more protection.You looked good our shorts lol.
Happy to see you loved the ride.Next time take a dip in the pool & relax.If you do the ride & BBQ combo you get dinner and drinks for $25 which is a great deal.
Thanks for visiting us.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We love coming to Black Stallion with our friends and enjoying the BBQ. They offer a nice pool you can swim in, a fun play room, and a relaxing atmosphere.

They make up great drinks for you to enjoy and lots of food options. One of the best things you can do in the Tamarindo area.

Worth the money!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for the review Amigo we had a Dinnner by the pool with LED lights the other night which was very creative evening & everyone ended up having cocktails in the pool
you would have liked it.We will do that for you next time if you like.Thanks again & Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing