We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood BBQ & 007 Cocktails”

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Villareal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The most awesome place with great food, great atmosphere and perfectly wonderful waitstaff. They even cooked the fish we caught early in the day. Alex made the most killer 007 cocktails!! Need to visit!! Fun Pura Vida!!

Thank maxy2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Pleasure having you all on the ranch
Happy you enjoyed the fishing trip we organized for you & even better you bringing the catch for us to BBQ.Glad you enjoyed the private dinner and
the 007 cocktail lol. We do have fun here.Bring the kids to zip in the morning.
Thanks again Amigos.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018

Such a fun experience! The food was great and the ziplining was so much fun! Alex is a real people person and will make you feel right at home at the Ranch. They were really accommodating-- they picked us up right from our hotel and then drove us back early when someone in our party got sick. Highly recommend!

Thank Peyton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you & happy to read you loved the canopy zipline and the ranch,no prob driving her back, if some ones not feeling good they gotta rest up.Maybe to much sunshine after a long flight.Everyone had a great dinner & enjoyed real Costa Rican style cooking.
Thank you & Pura Vida Amigos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We typically don't like planned tourist activities and were searching for a more relaxed, smaller type of experience for zip lining and a horseback ride. Being a tripadvisor long time member/user, I had read about Black Stallion Ranch and also noted it was rated #1 for all of the restaurants in Tamarindo. We took a drive and stopped here on our way back to town to check it out. From he moment we pulled up we were welcomed by Fabio and shown around the place. It was definitely my kinda place. Laid back, horses, beautiful setting, dogs, puppies, an orange cat, a bar, a pool...uh, can I just move in? We made a reservation for the next day for zip lining, horses and dinner. Unfortunately my daughter (14) got food poisoning (or the flu) the night and morning before our planned day. I waited to see if she would feel better (and be able to keep anything down, poor kid) feeling worried about cancelling last minute if she didnt start feeling better. She was determined to try to go. We decided zip lining probably wasnt a great idea so we just did the ride and dinner. She was so disappointed that she didn't feel well still but rallied and did the ride.
We showed up (had our car but they do provide personal transpo if needed) and were surprisingly the only ones there. They had a very busy week with lots of large parties and groups and were relieved to not have a busy night. They were willing to do whatever we wanted when we wanted. Went for a swim in their nice pool and enjoyed a few beers. Poor kid still wasn't feeling well and laid in the cabana for bit then tried a swim to feel better. Fabio saddled up the horses and took us for a ride. My husband (not a horse rider) was relieved to see that Fabio rode in shorts and flip flops and brought beers along for the ride. I believe his words were "my kinda horse ride". My daughter and I being horse riders here at home at not always thrilled by the typical "nose to butt" type of ride but had a really nice time exploring the ranch on horse back and seeing the beautiful landscape. Fabio didn't mind if we trotted a little bit. Being a horse gal, I always love to see the horses well cared for and especially that they dont use a typical bridle with a bit in the horses mouth, its a simple halter type bridle.
We came back and had dinner at the bar as we were the only ones there (another dinner party had cancelled), daughter still not well had to lay down in the cabana by the pool and couldn't eat dinner :( Nancy was so sweet and packed up a "to go" plate for my daughter. The dinner was excellent with perfectly prepared steak, chicken and sausage and excellent sides (Thanks Nancy and Fabio) oh so good. The little orange ranch cat "Ginger" joined us by taking up one of the stools. Minnie the boxer laid down underneath while her 2 little puppies romped around. Being an animal lover, I was in absolute heaven! We watched an event on tv which apparently is a big Costa Rican pastime of bullriding and a soccer match, very entertaining indeed.
Alex and Fabio joined us for dinner at the bar. This made the whole experience! It was such a pleasure to chat with Alex and hear some of his history (big wave surfer) and how the ranch came to be. Fabio is so funny and we loved hearing about his past and his funny stories. It was like being invited to hangout with new, cool friends on their ranch! Such an amazing experience! I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time and could go on and on but I'll summarize by saying don't miss this place if you want to do some fun activities in a intimate, personalized setting. Alex, Fabio and Nancy were the best!
This is the perfect place for individual travelers, families, groups, bday parties, weddings, etc. ;)
Summyr, Kurt and Malia
Seattle, WA

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smrbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

So many people to thank at the Black Stallion for my sons birthday zip-lining and BBQ fiesta!!! You are were so accommodating, kind and INCREDIBLY FUN!! Flynn had the most memorable 5th birthday there at the ranch that he wont stop raving about. We all had a blast... from the 1 yro to the 62 yro. Your place is fun for the entire family not to mention the food. You guys knocked it out of the park with BBQ buffet. Every bite was delicious but mainly because we witnessed it being made fresh and with so much love. THank you to all at the ranch for hosting us... we will be back!!

Thank tnflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you that was a great afternoon and evening.We enjoyed looking after you all.
What a great family & Flyns grandpa,well he should have in the movies with Clint Eastwood or John Wayne,hes a classic,plus he surfs,one cool grandpa.
We have some classic pics of Flyn receiving his birthday cake & the video
we posted on Instagram for fun.Thanks for super great review and for visiting us
Pura Vida Amigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We chose to go to the BBQ night at the ranch because of the amazing reviews of the place, and we wasn’t disappointed!

Alex picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel after which was really nice of him.

The bbq food was amazing, we had steak, ribs, chicken, sausages, salad, pasta, veg and more to choose from, all of which was very good.

They will get you any drink you want and even made me up my own personal jug of sangria.

Alex and Fabio were both great hosts, I got to know a lot about their lives and they are both really interesting and fun people. There was three other families there enjoying the bbq and also two beautiful boxer puppies which we loved!

They also do some karaoke, which I enjoyed and got up and sang, others also had great fun singing and dancing during the night.

Well worth going if you are nearby the ranch, thanks to Alex , Fabio and Nancy for a lovely night!

Thank heyitschloeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for the great review.
Pleasure having you on the ranch.We always try to have a fun time & BBQ up a tropical storm lol.
Talking about rain the seasons switched and now we can look forward to a green jungle,much nicer for zipping.Thanks again for visiting us.Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing