We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Afternoon & BBQ”

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Villareal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous afternoon on Black Stallion we did the canopy for one hour rode horses for one hour then relaxed in the pool,then had dinner.Great time the kids are still talking about it.Thanks to the staff.Great time we will be back.

Thank dolpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Pleasure having the family Amigo.Great kids,they loved the zipping.Be great to have you in our Ranch community,let us know when u are back in beautiful Costa Rica,we will make another fiesta for you.Cheers! life is good here.Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

I must preface this review with a suggestion to TripAdvisor. My family and I visited this place just for dinner - not as part of a zip / horse riding package - and so my review is based just on the dining experience. Looking at the either reviews I’m not sure I can say the same for others, in fact I would suggest that there should be two separate entries. One for dining and one for an attraction.

First of all their website is misleading as to exactly what you can expect for dinner. The people who arrived before us were expecting live music and there was none. You will also see pictures online of flame throwers etc. and the general description leads you to believe they are providing an “experience” - thats not what we experienced at all.

I will say the staff and owner are all very friendly and in fact they arranged for a shuttle to come and pick us up / bring us back.

That said, I thought he food was mediocre at best. It’s served buffet style but most of it was served in cold serving platters and even though we were first in line the food was cold already. The best thing I had were the bbq sausages, the beef was pretty tough and the chicken over cooked and dry.

I pre-paid $45USD each which includes drinks but even so this was by far the worst meal (and poorest value) of our trip to Tamarindo.

The good news is there are lots of awesome places you can eat in town. Save your money and visit one of those instead.

2  Thank gavinjd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi we are sorry you did not enjoy the evening.We did explain to you that our chef
had lost her son in a motor bike accident a few nights before so you can imagine ?
But like you said that should not have affected the dinner ?
Re: the Flame show pics on the website this is only for special events that are prebooked in advance.Its clear on the website that we do private parties & we have a great time doing them.The night you came was a slow evening with our chef not in the best frame of mind.
We did refund the total amount to you as thats clearly what you were aiming for.
As we spoke we are a ranch in Costa Rica in the jungle,things are very very different here as you found out the following evening when the whole of Tamarindo went pitch black with a power cut.Its diferent here and thats part of the charm of this beautiful country.
But thank you anyway & Pura Vida Amigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

This place was awesome! Our families first time doing zip line and we all loved it!
Great crew that was really kind and fun!!

Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Amigo great to meet your family.
Happy to see you loved the canopy tour.
Next time relax in the pool & hang out pura vida style no stress here.Thanks Again.Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I strongly recommend Black Stallion if you are a thrillseeker or just want some fun in a small or large group. Absolutely fantastic zip lining course. They also offer a great pool area and restaurant. Scale up or down depending on your time limitations or needs. Huge find in Tamarindo, Costa Rica.

Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Great to have you & the family zipping and dinning with us.Next time you are in Costa Rica you can go bigger and book the new private Party Events room.Thanks for your imput and glad you liked the rustic design concept, its going to be lots of good food & funtimes.
Thank you for the great review amigo.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved zip lining here. Alex picked us up from where we were staying and gave us a beautiful tour of the place. He even stopped so we could hold some adorable baby goats and check out the other farm animals. After we geared up and got to the top of the mountain our guides gave us a brief lesson and we went flying away through the forest. It was beautiful and the staff is so nice and patient there. Next trip we are definitely coming back to check out their fabulous bbq. Thank you so much for making Costa Rica unforgettable Alex!

Thank jvezina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

You very welcome we always make sure people have the best time zipping with us.Yes,the babe goats are amazingly cute we had another two last week so it’s all about the 5 babies,each one is very
special with its own personality,funny & cool to just hang out with them.Thanks for the great review we appreciate! Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;