We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
66
33
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
33
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadlocal communitylocal guideworth the journeygreat hostsdry seasonthe food is greatflora and faunatwo nightshot waterother guestswell marked trailshiking trailsallow plenty of timegreat weekendhigh clearanceirene
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This Lodge is perfectly positioned for Ntchisi Forest trekking. The Lodge is beautifully designed, gorgeous gardens and amazing food. Rob and Irene are the perfect hosts and the staff are excellent.

I camped in my tent this time, and have stayed in the rooms. Both options are very good.

The Lodge is the perfect place to unwind for a long weekend and enjoy nature at its best.

The dogs, Simba and Sellah are fabulous too and will escort you on your hikes!

Highly recommended all round.

Room Tip: Camping or the luxury rooms are all excellent choices.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Victoria,

we are very pleased and flattered by your review. We also enjoyed your stay at the lodge, having nice conversations while stargazing and watching the telescope getting great views of the moon. Amazing how the milky way shows itself.

Irene, Rob and the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed for two nights and exchanged the cultural tour for a most informative and entertaining traditional medicine tour. The welcome was most appreciated after a long and bumpy dirt road journey. Hospitality and food was good. Solar power, candles and oil lamps worked fine. We enjoyed the sunset from sunset rocks and found the walks through part of Malawi's last bits of rain forest stimulating. This was a great part of our 17 day family tour through the length of Malawi. Many thanks to Irene, Rob and the Team.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrabbenTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Thom and family,

Thank you for your kind words. We noticed that you had a very good time and that is what we all constantly try to achieve. And yes, the walks are very special. Is makes you realize that we can learn so much from each other. It also gives you an insight in the culture of Malawi and way of thinking. And Sunsetrock, well, even without a sunset it’s a beautiful spot. Peaceful and currently very colourful.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back some day.

Rob, Irene and the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The Lodge is ideal for time away. Even a 1-night visit felt completely rejuvenating, although I would recommend staying at least 2 nights to feel totally relaxed and to take advantage of the many walks/hikes, the fireplace in the lounge, and the opportunity to just do nothing. We stayed in the Deluxe Double, but would be just as happy in any of the other rooms or the gorgeous glass 'Tree House.' The food was plentiful and delicious. We appreciated being able to bring our own wine & not pay outrageous corkage fees. All of the staff were genuinely gracious. Eston, the local guide, is an incredible resource; his knowledge of the forest and the history of the area is invaluable. We can't wait to return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Eigenaar at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Judith,

thanks for your stay with us and your nice review.

Staying over for 1 night is absolutely worthwile and gives you plenty of opportunities to do some hikes in the surroundings and to relax. But we absolutely agree that to get the full experience of Ntchisi 2 nights is definitely recommended. You will leave re-energised!

Great you did a hike with 74 year old legend Eston; still fit and keen to give our guests a truly unique forest tour.

Hope to see you back here soon.

The NFL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I came with a few friends and we stayed for 2 nights doing the cultural package. It was an incredible cultural experience that was supplemented by some beautiful hiking during our free time. The lodge staff were very friendly, and the food was delicious! I would recommend Ntchisi Forest Lodge to anyone traveling to Malawi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Eric,

we loved to accommodate you and your friends during your stay at
Ntchisi Forest Lodge. Our Cultural Package is one of the many great experiences we offer. We are happy you liked all the activities included. And of course you are most welcome to stay with us once more. If you do we make sure there are some other delicious dinners for you to taste.

The Ntchisi Forest Lodge staff and management thank you and your friends to have stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We chose Ntchisi Forest Lodge as we wanted to camp for two nights in a quiet spot. Ntchisi Forest Lodge was ideal for this. Rob & Irene were warm and friendly and very helpful. The ablutions were clean. Best of all for us we were the only one's camping.

We left to continue our travels across Malawi refreshed. The road to and from the Lodge takes one through rural Malawi which was also a plus, seeing the villages and people living there.

Room Tip: We camped, so can't say about rooms. But the lawn was nice and soft :)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terrano2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ken and Di,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We know you had a hectic
trip and wanted some quietness. We are very glad that you found that at
our lodge. As many visitors do. Hopefully you were refreshed enough to
cope with the goodbye party at the Lake.

We hope to see you back some day at the lodge!

Warm regards,
Rob & Irene on behalf of the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews