We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing with great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwanje
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ntchisi Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just wanted take a quick break and the Ntchisi Forest was exactly the place for the purpose. I enjoyed everything of the lodge; fresh air and delicious iced tea in the garden, champagne at the Sunset Rock, wine over bonfire, excellent meals, and gorgeous hi-tea served as part of the package of the Mothers Day weekend. Above all, the hospitality of Rob, Irene and their team was something that we can rarely experience in other places. I booked an Ensuite Delux room, but was offered a room of the former owner. I am looking forward to staying in other rooms in the lodge. Another things I am looking forward to are longer walk in the forest with the knowledgeable guide Eston, and clearer view from the forest towards the Lake Malawi, which I missed due to the dust caused by the dry season.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenlover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear greenlover,

our place indeed is perfect for green lovers! Seeing guests having a real good time, sharing special moments like the champagne on the sunsetrock and meeting interesting people: that is what keeps us going. We will prepare Eston to be fit for your next visit!

Tionana.

Irene, Rob and the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Lodge is perfectly positioned for Ntchisi Forest trekking. The Lodge is beautifully designed, gorgeous gardens and amazing food. Rob and Irene are the perfect hosts and the staff are excellent.

I camped in my tent this time, and have stayed in the rooms. Both options are very good.

The Lodge is the perfect place to unwind for a long weekend and enjoy nature at its best.

The dogs, Simba and Sellah are fabulous too and will escort you on your hikes!


Highly recommended all round.

Room Tip: Camping or the luxury rooms are all excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Victoria,

we are very pleased and flattered by your review. We also enjoyed your stay at the lodge, having nice conversations while stargazing and watching the telescope getting great views of the moon. Amazing how the milky way shows itself.

Irene, Rob and the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed for two nights and exchanged the cultural tour for a most informative and entertaining traditional medicine tour. The welcome was most appreciated after a long and bumpy dirt road journey. Hospitality and food was good. Solar power, candles and oil lamps worked fine. We enjoyed the sunset from sunset rocks and found the walks through part of Malawi's last bits of rain forest stimulating. This was a great part of our 17 day family tour through the length of Malawi. Many thanks to Irene, Rob and the Team.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrabbenTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Thom and family,

Thank you for your kind words. We noticed that you had a very good time and that is what we all constantly try to achieve. And yes, the walks are very special. Is makes you realize that we can learn so much from each other. It also gives you an insight in the culture of Malawi and way of thinking. And Sunsetrock, well, even without a sunset it’s a beautiful spot. Peaceful and currently very colourful.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back some day.

Rob, Irene and the Ntchisi Forest Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The Lodge is ideal for time away. Even a 1-night visit felt completely rejuvenating, although I would recommend staying at least 2 nights to feel totally relaxed and to take advantage of the many walks/hikes, the fireplace in the lounge, and the opportunity to just do nothing. We stayed in the Deluxe Double, but would be just as happy in any of the other rooms or the gorgeous glass 'Tree House.' The food was plentiful and delicious. We appreciated being able to bring our own wine & not pay outrageous corkage fees. All of the staff were genuinely gracious. Eston, the local guide, is an incredible resource; his knowledge of the forest and the history of the area is invaluable. We can't wait to return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Eigenaar at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Judith,

thanks for your stay with us and your nice review.

Staying over for 1 night is absolutely worthwile and gives you plenty of opportunities to do some hikes in the surroundings and to relax. But we absolutely agree that to get the full experience of Ntchisi 2 nights is definitely recommended. You will leave re-energised!

Great you did a hike with 74 year old legend Eston; still fit and keen to give our guests a truly unique forest tour.

Hope to see you back here soon.

The NFL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I came with a few friends and we stayed for 2 nights doing the cultural package. It was an incredible cultural experience that was supplemented by some beautiful hiking during our free time. The lodge staff were very friendly, and the food was delicious! I would recommend Ntchisi Forest Lodge to anyone traveling to Malawi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Eric,

we loved to accommodate you and your friends during your stay at
Ntchisi Forest Lodge. Our Cultural Package is one of the many great experiences we offer. We are happy you liked all the activities included. And of course you are most welcome to stay with us once more. If you do we make sure there are some other delicious dinners for you to taste.

The Ntchisi Forest Lodge staff and management thank you and your friends to have stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ntchisi Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 1517 | Ntchisi, Bwanje, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Bwanje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bwanje
Price Range: HK$547 - HK$625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ntchisi Forest Lodge is a remote eco-lodge in a historial building in a rainforest location with the most stunning view in Malawi. Here you can experience the real Africa, either on one of our many rainforest or mountain hikes, or you can participate in some of our cultural activities in remote rural villages still untouched by tourism. We also arrange volunteering stays, on which you can spend a few days or weeks delving a bit deeper into Malawian culture and feel that you give something back as part of your holiday. The lodge runs enterily on renewable energy and we grow most of our own herbs and vegetables. You can stay in one of the 5 lodge rooms, our newly build Forest Cabin or stay in one of our two luxury tents. Here you can experience the real Africa in comfortable and safe surroundings and with a good conscience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing