We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
66
33
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
33
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadlocal communitylocal guideworth the journeygreat hostsdry seasonthe food is greatflora and faunatwo nightshot waterother guestswell marked trailshiking trailsallow plenty of timegreat weekendhigh clearanceirene
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Not only the fact that this lodge is located in the last remaining rainforest of Malawi makes it unique. We Stayed in the forest chalet. Any Scandinavian or Finnish architects wet Dream. Just a beautiful Little house with glass walls, fireplace, nice furniture and the forest just outside. A truly unique Place not only for Malawi but for the whole of Africa. We did a lot of forest walks but also a walk in the local village. These peole do not see too many Tourists. Superfriendly and we got let into the local small shops and "factories" where people grinded their corn and baked their bread. The small barbershop. The local school. Just very interesting and educational. Food was excellent. The host, from Holland, as the owners, was friendly but we do feel the overall service level could have been higher. The staff never asked if you needed anything, you hade to ask for drinks etc but when it was brought to you it was brought with a smile!

Room Tip: The Forest Chalet is the best option.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi David,

It was a pleasure having you two at our lodge and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Our Forest Cabin is the ideal accommodation for couples, or families and even with all the glass overlooking the forest it offers lots of privacy. Besides the Communty Tour with one of the local guides we also offer guided Forest Hikes and a tour with the local traditional healer. Plenty of opportunities to discover all the diferent sides of live in rural Malawi.

It's a shame to hear that you felt that our service level could have been higher, although we really appreciate your remark in this matter. Especially since we are a small lodge we try to stand out by our service levels. In perspective it is good to know that all our staff live in nearby villages. They have been trained on the job and they get refreshers regularly. They might be shy to guests sometimes since their English is not always perfect. We keep on working on this to give our guests the best experience possible.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip into Zambia as well.

With best regards from everyone at Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

nice place, nice people, the food was very nice, the forest and the history of the place is amazing. Was lucky enough the weekend I visited there was a a music event, " Rythyms of the Rain forest" you would want to visit again and again

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thanks for your kind review. We were happy that the two of you could visit us and enjoyed your stay! As we told you Rhythms of the Rainforest was the first music festival ever at our lodge and we are therefore happy that it turned out to be such a success. We will definitely organise this next year again. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards from all Ntchisi Forest Lodge staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It's not easy to get to this remote lodge. It's takes a lot of time and effort but it's worth it, Actually, its remoteness is its highest virtue.

It's located in a beautiful scenery and the indigenous forest (in which we walked the next morning) is very near by. The public areas of the lodge itself are very inviting and nicely decorated, the garden is lovely, the rooms are OK (not more) and the staff are nice (but not too professional).

Our biggest disappointment was the food, both dinner and breakfast. It simply wasn't tasty. To be honest, it was the least so throughout our fortnight journey to Malawi.

Go there for all other reasons, but don't expect too much of your meals.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Hi Ohad,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you and your daughter at our lodge last April. Ntchisi Forest Lodge is located right next to one of the last remaining parts of rainforest in Malawi. It is at the end of a 27 km dirt road, but still only 2,5 hours from Lilongwe.

Our staff is from nearby villages. In this way we promote the local economy which feeds many families. They get training on the grounds according to our standards that guests should feel at home and be treated nicely. We are proud that almost everyone is working here for many years and is part of our family.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food. This is also a surprise to us, since we are well known in Malawi for our great homemade food. You can find references to this in the other reviews on this site as well as in the guide books. We take very good care in preparing the food and use mostly fresh vegetables and herbs from one of our three gardens. To proof this must have been an exception, we will offer you one free three course dinner during your next visit as compensation. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Wishing you all the best from us and our Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Looking for quite , relaxing place , and beautifull nature .That's the perfect place not far from Lilongwe .We went there coming straight from the airport .It' was the best choice to avoid Lilongwe and be in the real Malawi.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grandkudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thanks for your review and your stay at our Forest Lodge. It was a pleasure having your family stay here. Ntchisi Forest Lodge is only a 2 hour drive from LLW airport and therefore a perfect first and / or last stop in Malawi, instead of staying at Lilongwe city. The quietness and beautiful surroundings of the lodge will give you a perfect start of your Malawi holidays.

Enjoy the rest of your travels! Kind regards from the Ntchisi Forest Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I loved my all-too-brief stay at the Ntchisi Forest Lodge. I traveled solo for a short weekend break between work meetings in Lilongwe. The lodge is rustic and lovely, with clean and well maintained rooms, and lovely open air dining underneath the stars. Eduard, the host, arranged a long hike through the rainforest with Eston, a 70+ year old dynamo who has amazing stories from his years in conservation (and watch making!) and a short tour of nearby flora and fauna with a traditional healer who lives in the community. I'm vegetarian but this was no issue for the lodge team - dinner was a fantastic 3-course meal with vegetables fresh from their garden and freshly baked bread. There are also a great array of South African wines to choose from, and coffee grown locally. The lodge staff also arranged a round trip taxi for me from Lilongwe - he were really accommodating with all details around my visit and I would love to come back here!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bitika_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you at Ntchisi Forest Lodge! The lodge is a perfect getaway from the city of Lilongwe and only 2 to 2,5 hours drive. We are always happy to arrange with transport to and from the lodge. We have three big vegetable gardens which our chefs always use when preparing dinner. Our aim is to use as much local produce as possible. We hope to see you back at Ntchisi forest one day!

All the best from all staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews