We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Weekend at Ntchisi Forest Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwanje
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ntchisi Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2016

It remained a wonderful experience. Having visited Luwawa Forest Lodge I was much tempted to visit Ntchisi Forest Lodge which was near to Lilongwe. We are much appreciative of staff of lodge for preparing vegetarian meals for us. That was extraordinary and out of way experience. Not forgetting ecofriendly management of whole setup. Cleanliness of entire area was catching eyes. Management is efficient and friendly. Community surrounding lodge is also very helpful, friendly and progressive.

Room Tip: Do not miss camp fire if you are traveling during winter. And enjoy drinks from their verandah durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anup P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Hi Anup,

Thank you for your nice review. It was very nice having you at the lodge. We have a wide variety of vegetarian dishes and always try to suit the needs of our guests. We are working close with the local community by providing them with jobs in and around the lodge. Also, a group of local men and women are patrolling in the forest to fight illegal logging and poaching. Most of our fruits and vegetables are either bought from local farmers or harvested in one of our three vegetable gardens. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the lodge again soon.

Best regards from everyone at Ntchisi Forest Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

Not only the fact that this lodge is located in the last remaining rainforest of Malawi makes it unique. We Stayed in the forest chalet. Any Scandinavian or Finnish architects wet Dream. Just a beautiful Little house with glass walls, fireplace, nice furniture and the forest just outside. A truly unique Place not only for Malawi but for the whole of Africa. We did a lot of forest walks but also a walk in the local village. These peole do not see too many Tourists. Superfriendly and we got let into the local small shops and "factories" where people grinded their corn and baked their bread. The small barbershop. The local school. Just very interesting and educational. Food was excellent. The host, from Holland, as the owners, was friendly but we do feel the overall service level could have been higher. The staff never asked if you needed anything, you hade to ask for drinks etc but when it was brought to you it was brought with a smile!

Room Tip: The Forest Chalet is the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi David,

It was a pleasure having you two at our lodge and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Our Forest Cabin is the ideal accommodation for couples, or families and even with all the glass overlooking the forest it offers lots of privacy. Besides the Communty Tour with one of the local guides we also offer guided Forest Hikes and a tour with the local traditional healer. Plenty of opportunities to discover all the diferent sides of live in rural Malawi.

It's a shame to hear that you felt that our service level could have been higher, although we really appreciate your remark in this matter. Especially since we are a small lodge we try to stand out by our service levels. In perspective it is good to know that all our staff live in nearby villages. They have been trained on the job and they get refreshers regularly. They might be shy to guests sometimes since their English is not always perfect. We keep on working on this to give our guests the best experience possible.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip into Zambia as well.

With best regards from everyone at Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

nice place, nice people, the food was very nice, the forest and the history of the place is amazing. Was lucky enough the weekend I visited there was a a music event, " Rythyms of the Rain forest" you would want to visit again and again

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thanks for your kind review. We were happy that the two of you could visit us and enjoyed your stay! As we told you Rhythms of the Rainforest was the first music festival ever at our lodge and we are therefore happy that it turned out to be such a success. We will definitely organise this next year again. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards from all Ntchisi Forest Lodge staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It's not easy to get to this remote lodge. It's takes a lot of time and effort but it's worth it, Actually, its remoteness is its highest virtue.

It's located in a beautiful scenery and the indigenous forest (in which we walked the next morning) is very near by. The public areas of the lodge itself are very inviting and nicely decorated, the garden is lovely, the rooms are OK (not more) and the staff are nice (but not too professional).

Our biggest disappointment was the food, both dinner and breakfast. It simply wasn't tasty. To be honest, it was the least so throughout our fortnight journey to Malawi.

Go there for all other reasons, but don't expect too much of your meals.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Hi Ohad,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you and your daughter at our lodge last April. Ntchisi Forest Lodge is located right next to one of the last remaining parts of rainforest in Malawi. It is at the end of a 27 km dirt road, but still only 2,5 hours from Lilongwe.

Our staff is from nearby villages. In this way we promote the local economy which feeds many families. They get training on the grounds according to our standards that guests should feel at home and be treated nicely. We are proud that almost everyone is working here for many years and is part of our family.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food. This is also a surprise to us, since we are well known in Malawi for our great homemade food. You can find references to this in the other reviews on this site as well as in the guide books. We take very good care in preparing the food and use mostly fresh vegetables and herbs from one of our three gardens. To proof this must have been an exception, we will offer you one free three course dinner during your next visit as compensation. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Wishing you all the best from us and our Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Looking for quite , relaxing place , and beautifull nature .That's the perfect place not far from Lilongwe .We went there coming straight from the airport .It' was the best choice to avoid Lilongwe and be in the real Malawi.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grandkudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thanks for your review and your stay at our Forest Lodge. It was a pleasure having your family stay here. Ntchisi Forest Lodge is only a 2 hour drive from LLW airport and therefore a perfect first and / or last stop in Malawi, instead of staying at Lilongwe city. The quietness and beautiful surroundings of the lodge will give you a perfect start of your Malawi holidays.

Enjoy the rest of your travels! Kind regards from the Ntchisi Forest Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ntchisi Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 1517 | Ntchisi, Bwanje, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Bwanje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bwanje
Price Range: HK$546 - HK$624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ntchisi Forest Lodge is a remote eco-lodge in a historial building in a rainforest location with the most stunning view in Malawi. Here you can experience the real Africa, either on one of our many rainforest or mountain hikes, or you can participate in some of our cultural activities in remote rural villages still untouched by tourism. We also arrange volunteering stays, on which you can spend a few days or weeks delving a bit deeper into Malawian culture and feel that you give something back as part of your holiday. The lodge runs enterily on renewable energy and we grow most of our own herbs and vegetables. You can stay in one of the 5 lodge rooms, our newly build Forest Cabin or stay in one of our two luxury tents. Here you can experience the real Africa in comfortable and safe surroundings and with a good conscience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing