We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,846)
Filter reviews
2,846 results
Traveller rating
2,499
256
58
12
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,499
256
58
12
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overwater bungalow our honeymoon thai restaurant fish water pool villa host dhoni bar half board sister island picnic island maldives resort room boy private pool male airport special thanks heaven on earth minute boat ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,846 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2021

It is my day 3 in Anantara Veli and I would like to share some observations:

1. Veli itself is small island but it is much bigger place if you include Dhigu and other islands, there is some renovation/construction going on which I assume is necessary but strange to see a digger driving between islands.

2. As an extra little treat and as it is our 10 year wedding anniversary, I booked a couple's massage before arriving to the hotel (for a few hours after we arrived on an overnight flight) and received a confirmation from the reception, however when we arrived at the spa there wasn't any booking for me, and the spa was fully booked. It was highly frustrating, embarrassing and not a very good first impression at all. The staff at the spa were wonderful though, they booked us in for later that day.

Btw, spa at Veli is closed so one needs to use the spa on Dhigu island which is not a big deal but slightly meh.

3. Veli is not 100% adults-only resort, guests from other Anantara hotels can book restaurants here and you can end up next to a table with fussy child and arguing parents - a delight we specifically tried to avoid.

4. Restaurants: food is amazing, staff are attentive, maybe sometimes too much. BUT, you have to book just about all evening meals in their restaurants in advance. You cannot just decide on the day that you want Italian and go whenever. You can't even book on the day for a decent time, if you want to eat before 8.30pm you need to book literally a week ahead. It is frustrating! Also on Saturday and Sunday this week, their most popular restaurant, Sea Fire Salt is either closed or hired out for a private function.

This side of the resort experience really takes one out of the holiday, go with the flow, experience, and is extremely tiresome.

So far this is only a 7/10 holiday, I guess we may have been spoilt on our previous visits to these islands.

I hope it gets better.

Cheers,
Ilya Burkin

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2021

I really recommend this hotel for your trip to Maldives. The hotel has a wonderful structure for those who wants to practice water sports or just relax. The room is amazing, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The food needs also to be highlighted as I gained some pounds there ;). The highest point is the staff that treats you like a famíly member with happiness and courtesy. A special compliment for our angel Hidha that didnt measure any effort to make our honeymoon and my 40th birthday as a special moment.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anderssalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Owner at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Dear anderssalva,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.
We are so pleased to see that we were able to make your honeymoon and birthday a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2021

We loved staying at Anantara! It was unforgetable experience!
For Brazilians, Maldives is super far and arriving there is not easy, but when got there, David, who speaks Portuguese so well and is so kind, immediately took care of us showing that we could rest as much as we can that he would help us with everything! During the days, the food was delicious, the spa was incredible and the facilities in Veli and Dighu were super cool!
The main point for us: E V E R Y B O D Y that works there is super polite, kind, sweet and happy to help!
David and Jennifer (reception), Isse (room boy), Maniak R. (73 degrees) and Preshan (Fushi Cafe): We really hope to see you again! Thank you for being amazing with us!

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank alinemirelealves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Owner at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2021

Dear alinemirelealves,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
We are so pleased to see that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2021

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and Anantara Veli did not disappoint! The service, meals, and cleanliness was superb. Our room was an amazing overwater bungalow where we watched the most beautiful sunset every night. Some days, we didn't even leave our room because that's how beautiful the setting was.

The food was really good! Coming from the NYC area, my husband and I have high expectations on food. All but one of the restaurants lived up to our expectations. Origami was the best restaurant on the island by far!

The service and staff was A++ Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank michellelo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Owner at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2021

Dear michellelo2020,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
We are so pleased to see that we were able to make your honeymoon a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2021 via mobile

A beautiful honeymoon stay from start to finish. Easy transfer via a short boat ride from the airport by the hotel's own boat. Friendly welcome from our personal butler, Sulvaan who was superb throughout the stay. He helped us with all our queries, making reservations and even arranging little surprises for the wife. The villas are superb; private, modern, very clean. Shisha every night by the pool was great.

Service in-room, at restaurants and bars was always courteous, efficient and friendly. Zahir, Manik, Kamal and Ismail were especially nice. My wife and I had the time of our lives and a week that we will fondly cherish forever.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martoosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Owner at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Martoosian,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.
We are so pleased to see that we were able to make your honeymoon a memorable one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews