We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening ”

The Square Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Maghull
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely relaxed evening. Received groupon gift and used to our pleasure. Lovely place great service good gin selection to my husbands delight. Relaxed friendly what more could you ask for a mid week chilled out meal.

1  Thank cglfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very quiet but suited us perfectly. Unbelievably good value for money, any starter and steak main with glass of wine for two for £19.95!
Very friendly and quick service. Thank u

2  Thank Amerettocurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Groupon offer
We all entered and notice inside it was Very nice and lovely interior we sat in a lovely booth for 4 people and was greeted by a lovely waitress that took our orders
We all ordered our meals and after 5 to 10 minutes the starters arrived and all generous portions then We all had Steak and Real chips with skin that came 15mins after we finished our starters was quick they where all was lovely and cooked perfectly the only complaint we all notice the plates was cold
But excellent service by all the serving staff and felt very welcome, thank you to all.
We all will come again for lunch soon

1  Thank jackrabbit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Booked the steak offer on Groupon didn't really need to as they're are lots of offers on anyway. We both upgraded to fillets- they were amazing. Presented well, cooked well. Tried the parma violet gin it was delicious. Owner really looked after us and gave us lots of gin tips and a free bottle of flavoured mixer. Really recommend this place. Would like to try an evening meal next time. Many thanks

1  Thank debned03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally bother writing reviews, I am not normally that bothered if a place isn’t great. But the amount of reviews on here must be made up. Don’t be fooled. This was the worst place I’ve eaten in. Here’s why. You were warned...

We booked it via groupon so had already paid. If I hadn’t I’d have walked out before sitting down. The owner I’m
Guessing told us she couldn’t accept groupons that wasn’t printed out, though I had the screenshot of the code. She reluctantly accepted it. She then gave us a tiny drop of wine in a massive wine glass, both glasses were dirty so had to swap. Her customer service skills were terrible, she was arguing on the phone in between serving. I ordered nachos. Worst I’ve ever had, 4 with some cheese and the 3 sauces. No jalapeño or anything else it said. Chicken strips looked iffy so didn’t finish them.

Mains where steak, was cold and mostly fat. Chips were ok. Salad was grim too. She also charged me twice for peppercorn sauce.

Place was dark, no atmosphere and scatty. I’d have walked if I had not already paid through groupon. Only positive is the food was quick. The owner obviously doesn’t want to be there, the chief isn’t a chief, so what’s the point. Be a bar instead. Your welcome.

3  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Square Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks for the review Bryan nice of you to leave one in such detail after saying all was nice whilst you were here would have been better to give the chance for your issues to be rectified by the CHEF the reason you was asked to print the voucher off was explained to you when you phoned earlier to book your table although you did insist that you wasn't asked but never mind slight misunderstanding so just to clarify you was asked to print it off because a phone had been damaged previously and we no longer accept responsibility for your property I guess the best bit is the made up reviews lol for the iffy chicken you didn't finish it took you to eat 4 and a half of the 5 to notice this and the menu asks you to choose if you want jalapeños or not but maybe you missed that too thanks again wish you well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Bar and Grill also viewed

Maghull, Merseyside
Maghull, Merseyside
 
Aughton, Ormskirk
 

Been to The Square Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;