We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Peaceful retreat.

Nice to spend some time away from the crowded world. And this island in the middle of Lake... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2018
bigvicSydney
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Nice half-day trip

We took a regular boat from Passignano to visit the Isola Maggiore, the second largest island at... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2018
Borzov
,
Rijeka, Croatia
Read all 541 reviews
  
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
229
172
83
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
172
83
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato lake trasimeno minute ride next year my husband and i walk up walking trails small hotel island restaurants church ferry passignano francis world past assisi
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Worth the ferry trip - harbour, street, cafes, restaurants, lakeside walks.
Best in sunshine
The toilets are behind the tourist info
Watch the times for the return ferry - unlike some of Italy they do follow a timetable.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank lowryepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Not much to see on island, it is all about the boat trip across the Lake. We stayed on hour and then straight back.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We enjoyed a pleasant cruise around this lovely lake. The stop off at the Isola was a lovely break and an opportunity to enjoy some gelato. We watched a couple of old ladies make lace, which they have been doing here literally all their lives. The medieval buildings are a delight. What a pleasant way to spend a warm summer afternoon.

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Caught the 'water bus' from Tuoro direct to the island. Very peaceful and felt like stepping into a different pace of life. We ate in a pizzeria overlooking the lake, beautiful views and surprisingly good value for money. It's a steep climb up to the top of the island but worth it for the stunning views if you go on a clear day. We wandered around for a couple of hours exploring some of the historical buildings and ruins before rewarding ourselves with some well earned gelato!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank 247beckyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Historical place & religious place but even if you wish to visit a nice island with family or just a walk, consider this one. Plenty of restaurants to and their prices are actually less than expected.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Piotr-OutdoorExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews