We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful and relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way to Kruger via Swaziland. Only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! We stayed in beehive 2 which was lovely. The views from the deck near the restaurant are amazing. We had dinner on site which needs to be ordered by 5pm on the day. A range of Swazi dishes on the menu, food was very tasty and large portions. The drive down front the main road is down a dusty track so do as advised and make sure you arrive before sundown!

Thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cyn3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our family of four (two children aged 14 and 13) thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay as part of a longer trip to South Africa. The tents we stayed in were well equipped with rustic wardrobes, proper beds, and electricity, and one even had an en suite bathroom. There is wi-fi in the main building.

The peace and quiet was wonderful. No sounds but the birds and the running water of the falls. There are plenty of hiking trails, some short, some longer, around the camp, and there is a fantastic terrace overlooking the valley that frankly I could have sat at all day. Our mad 13-year-old even went in the pool even though it was unheated.

The place is a bit difficult to find, so don't leave it until it gets dark like we did! You also have to order your lunch 1-1.5 hours in advance and dinner before 5 pm, so some planning is required. The food is on the basic side, but not bad. The staff were very nice - they even baked my daughter a cake for her birthday.

Good memories!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mrsmullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I booked a hut near the river but was upgraded by the stuff to one of the lovely beehives which was a perfect choice to stay. We regret that we stayed there only one night.
You will like the sound of the water running through the garden and admire the construction of the traditional beehives and the muffins for breakfast are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Z7336BFjuliap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I've stayed in many places around Swaziland, and Phophonyane is definitely top for non-self-catering stays. The food is simple, healthy and home-cooked, with the most delicious freshly baked bread in the morning. This time my husband, three year old daughter and I stayed in Tent 5 and then Tent 6. Both of these tents have bathrooms attached to them. Tent 5 has a glorious high balcony (not suitable for the under-threes) with a view into the bush and the river below. The bathroom has a shower and a bath (the bath has a lovely view of the garden). Tent 6 is situated higher up the slope and does not have a large balcony nor the view of the river - but I liked it all the same, and got to see the tiny and I assume resident buck grazing around it. It has the advantage that the attached bathroom has a lot of space - with shelving and cupboard space. There is no bath. But the layout was great. Neither of the tents have fridges, although a kettle and water is supplied. If you need a fridge, I can recommend the smallest cottage (that I've stayed in previously)(it has a large garden and a view to the forest rather than to the valley - great for monkey watching). I'd definitely recommend staying a few nights here - it is tremendously peaceful with beautiful gardens and lovely hikes. Great staff too. The pool is good in summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thembiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We carefully navigated the way in from the highway on a rough bush track and the reward, once we got to the gate with its interesting murals, was magnificent. It was off season so we shared the place with a monkeys and not many others.
There is a variety of accommodation and the one we had was a self contained cottage overlooking rainforests where the monkeys played and birds sang.
The resort offers a range of walking paths, a beautifully situated restaurant overlooking the valley below, a swimming pool and the waterfalls after which it was named.
A great place to enjoy respite after the excitement of safari.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piggs Peak
8.2 km away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
55 reviews
20.3 km away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 3 in Piggs Peak
211 reviews
18.3 km away
Bulembu Country Lodge
Bulembu Country Lodge
#2 of 11 in Mbabane
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
0 km away
Sunset View Guest House
Sunset View Guest House
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
11 reviews
0 km away
Emafini Country Lodge
Emafini Country Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mbabane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve

Address: Phophonyane Falls Nature Reserve | PO Box 199, Piggs Peak H108, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Piggs Peak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Piggs Peak
Price Range: HK$718 - HK$2,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of legendary romance and breathtaking natural scenery. Choose between comfortable cottages, riverside safari tents or luxury traditional Swazi beehives, each blending into the lush sub-tropical forest. Enjoy healthy home-cooked meals and fine wines in our stylish restaurant with a roaring log fire. Small library and internet room. Refreshing natural rock pools, a stunning hilltop pool with views, waterfalls, walks, hikes and excellent birdwatching. A secluded hideaway for travelers seeking a magical retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing