We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
164
86
24
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
86
24
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservehiking trailsbeehive hutstwo nightswe loved our staysafari tentbeautiful lodgesouthern africaremote areaspectacular viewslarge gardena wonderful place to stayself catersurrounded by treesan understatementoverlooking the valleyfully equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our family of four (two children aged 14 and 13) thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay as part of a longer trip to South Africa. The tents we stayed in were well equipped with rustic wardrobes, proper beds, and electricity, and one even had an en suite bathroom. There is wi-fi in the main building.

The peace and quiet was wonderful. No sounds but the birds and the running water of the falls. There are plenty of hiking trails, some short, some longer, around the camp, and there is a fantastic terrace overlooking the valley that frankly I could have sat at all day. Our mad 13-year-old even went in the pool even though it was unheated.

The place is a bit difficult to find, so don't leave it until it gets dark like we did! You also have to order your lunch 1-1.5 hours in advance and dinner before 5 pm, so some planning is required. The food is on the basic side, but not bad. The staff were very nice - they even baked my daughter a cake for her birthday.

Good memories!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mrsmullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I booked a hut near the river but was upgraded by the stuff to one of the lovely beehives which was a perfect choice to stay. We regret that we stayed there only one night.
You will like the sound of the water running through the garden and admire the construction of the traditional beehives and the muffins for breakfast are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Z7336BFjuliap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I've stayed in many places around Swaziland, and Phophonyane is definitely top for non-self-catering stays. The food is simple, healthy and home-cooked, with the most delicious freshly baked bread in the morning. This time my husband, three year old daughter and I stayed in Tent 5 and then Tent 6. Both of these tents have bathrooms attached to them. Tent 5 has a glorious high balcony (not suitable for the under-threes) with a view into the bush and the river below. The bathroom has a shower and a bath (the bath has a lovely view of the garden). Tent 6 is situated higher up the slope and does not have a large balcony nor the view of the river - but I liked it all the same, and got to see the tiny and I assume resident buck grazing around it. It has the advantage that the attached bathroom has a lot of space - with shelving and cupboard space. There is no bath. But the layout was great. Neither of the tents have fridges, although a kettle and water is supplied. If you need a fridge, I can recommend the smallest cottage (that I've stayed in previously)(it has a large garden and a view to the forest rather than to the valley - great for monkey watching). I'd definitely recommend staying a few nights here - it is tremendously peaceful with beautiful gardens and lovely hikes. Great staff too. The pool is good in summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Thembiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We carefully navigated the way in from the highway on a rough bush track and the reward, once we got to the gate with its interesting murals, was magnificent. It was off season so we shared the place with a monkeys and not many others.
There is a variety of accommodation and the one we had was a self contained cottage overlooking rainforests where the monkeys played and birds sang.
The resort offers a range of walking paths, a beautifully situated restaurant overlooking the valley below, a swimming pool and the waterfalls after which it was named.
A great place to enjoy respite after the excitement of safari.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Super comfortable cottages, the guard makes fire at fireplace so that youbstay warm
Nice service, good restaurant (great steaks); only thing missin is good espresso ;)
Very nice but somewhat limited hiking options, after some hours you ve seen everything
.... and all this in stunning landscape

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews