We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tranquility close to the nature!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This was our tenth stay at Phophonyane Falls ecolodge and Nature reserve. We really appreciated also this stay. During the years they have improved the quality of the kitchen, the food was delicious. The staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed an almost 6 hours very nice walk from the lodge through a forest area, up to the highest mountain in the area with a fantastic view, returning via the local village together with an experienced, knowledgeable and clever guide. If you would like a peaceful stay close to the nature, go to Phophonyane and stay in one of the tents. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the tents close to the river, but the toilets are outside with a little to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safarilusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Phophonyane and for once again choosing to stay with us. It is great to know that things continue to improve. The 6 hour mountain hike does feature some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and is something that we need to promote better. Nice to know that our guide provided such good service. Thanks also for highlighting the tents! Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

I had the pleasure of taking my family to stay for 5 nights at Phonphonyane over Xmas. All the staff went out of their way to make our visit pleasant and memorable. Our arrival had been unavoidably delayed by 5 hours - no problem the kitchen stayed open till after 11pm ! We enjoyed pleasant walks on well marked trails around the reserve; delicious food (the grilled Swazi chicken a favourite); a quirky but fun and very comfortable 'beehive' suite and a very pleasant ambiance with families and children providing a lovely atmosphere for Xmas dinner.

Room Tip: Do try a 'Beehive'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ConcordeRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your positive review about your 5 day experience at Phophonyane. It is great to know that our staff provided the level of service you describe, and that you enjoyed the beehive so much. They are indeed a favourite with our guests. We hope to welcome you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Way off the beaten path, this lodge sets the standard in Swaziland for boutique accommodation. There are a variety of rooms ranging from relatively luxurious tents to beehive huts to virtual houses. The lodge area is beautiful and the food is delicious. There are hiking trails. The easiest leads to a lovely waterfall and does not take long. There is a swimming hole for the adventurous but also a swimming pool for the less adventurous. The only drawback is that it is not convenient to anything else. It would make a great stop on the way to/from South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and lovely, descriptive review of Phophonyane. It is indeed widely used as a stopover between the Kruger Park (only 70 km to the north) and the many attractions of northern Kwazulu Natal. Our guests do take advantage of the activities available in the area, e.g. the canopy tour at Malolotja Nature Reserve, the Maguga Dam houseboat tour, Bushman Paintings, Village Walk, Mountain Drive, Bulembu Museum and the nearby Peak Fine Craft, which features some of the best handicrafts in the country. While some of these are not in the immediate vicinity, all can be experienced within half a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 11:30 am with family of 5 looking for a meal and cool drinks and a pool to swim in
Was informed by reception kitchen opens at 12:30 and swimming pool is only for guests
Upon enquiry to walk to rock pool with family informed there have been fatalities in past 2 years safety was a real concern for us chose not to do it
As a local Swazi very disappointed not to be able to enjoy the restaurant and be able to make use of all the facilities
Moved on to Orion Hotel for great pool and good food only 2 clicks down the road

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Thanks very much for your important feedback on your day visit to Phophonyane. We are very sorry that you did not have the experience that you were anticipating. Indeed the swimming pool is only available for resident guests, which is a common practice for small, private lodges. The information regarding the use of the pool is clearly stated on the signage at the entrance to the nature reserve. We only accommodate about 25 guests at the lodge and you can understand that with these limited facilities, it is not possible to accommodate the general public. This is better catered for by the nearby Piggs Peak Hotel, which you consequently visited . Our restaurant facility is always open to day visitors, though it is a small facility as well. At the time of your arrival our staff was still preparing the restaurant for lunchtime. You can appreciate that this is a particularly busy time of year. Normally, visitors to Phophonyane come to enjoy nature, and you and your family were free to walk around and enjoy the beauty of the place in the meantime. In regard to the Rock Pool: this was built at considerable expense and is available for day visitors to use. It is situated in a spectacular location at the top of the waterfalls and is only a safety concern if one disobeys the regulations and moves away from the designated viewing areas onto the waterfalls. We are obliged to give strict warnings to day visitors to alert them of the need to follow the rules. Besides the Rock Pool, we have provided great facilities for Swaziland residents with many attractive trails and viewpoints in the nature reserve. We hope that you and your family will come return here to enjoy these facilities at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Were in Swaziland for the first time. And found this remarkable place.
Accomodations, Service etc. at high level..
(Only the platform beside the "nature pool" could be re-arranged a bit, but
this is moaning on a high level:))

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank michael_zorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

We really appreciate your great feedback. Since we are always seeking perfection, we would be curious to know what your perspectives are on improving the platform by the nature pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piggs Peak
8.2 km away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
55 reviews
20.3 km away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 3 in Piggs Peak
212 reviews
18.3 km away
Bulembu Country Lodge
Bulembu Country Lodge
#2 of 11 in Mbabane
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
0 km away
Sunset View Guest House
Sunset View Guest House
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
11 reviews
0 km away
Emafini Country Lodge
Emafini Country Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mbabane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve

Address: Phophonyane Falls Nature Reserve | PO Box 199, Piggs Peak H108, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Piggs Peak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Piggs Peak
Price Range: HK$851 - HK$2,896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of legendary romance and breathtaking natural scenery. Choose between comfortable cottages, riverside safari tents or luxury traditional Swazi beehives, each blending into the lush sub-tropical forest. Enjoy healthy home-cooked meals and fine wines in our stylish restaurant with a roaring log fire. Small library and internet room. Refreshing natural rock pools, a stunning hilltop pool with views, waterfalls, walks, hikes and excellent birdwatching. A secluded hideaway for travelers seeking a magical retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing