We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Maguga Lodge(Piggs Peak)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
153
86
24
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
86
24
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservehiking trailsbeehive hutstwo nightswe loved our staysafari tentsouthern africagreat pooloverlooking the valleyremote areaspectacular viewsbeautiful lodgelarge gardengravel roaddecent sizegreat stopsurrounded by trees
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I had the pleasure of taking my family to stay for 5 nights at Phonphonyane over Xmas. All the staff went out of their way to make our visit pleasant and memorable. Our arrival had been unavoidably delayed by 5 hours - no problem the kitchen stayed open till after 11pm ! We enjoyed pleasant walks on well marked trails around the reserve; delicious food (the grilled Swazi chicken a favourite); a quirky but fun and very comfortable 'beehive' suite and a very pleasant ambiance with families and children providing a lovely atmosphere for Xmas dinner.

Room Tip: Do try a 'Beehive'
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ConcordeRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your positive review about your 5 day experience at Phophonyane. It is great to know that our staff provided the level of service you describe, and that you enjoyed the beehive so much. They are indeed a favourite with our guests. We hope to welcome you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Way off the beaten path, this lodge sets the standard in Swaziland for boutique accommodation. There are a variety of rooms ranging from relatively luxurious tents to beehive huts to virtual houses. The lodge area is beautiful and the food is delicious. There are hiking trails. The easiest leads to a lovely waterfall and does not take long. There is a swimming hole for the adventurous but also a swimming pool for the less adventurous. The only drawback is that it is not convenient to anything else. It would make a great stop on the way to/from South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and lovely, descriptive review of Phophonyane. It is indeed widely used as a stopover between the Kruger Park (only 70 km to the north) and the many attractions of northern Kwazulu Natal. Our guests do take advantage of the activities available in the area, e.g. the canopy tour at Malolotja Nature Reserve, the Maguga Dam houseboat tour, Bushman Paintings, Village Walk, Mountain Drive, Bulembu Museum and the nearby Peak Fine Craft, which features some of the best handicrafts in the country. While some of these are not in the immediate vicinity, all can be experienced within half a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 11:30 am with family of 5 looking for a meal and cool drinks and a pool to swim in
Was informed by reception kitchen opens at 12:30 and swimming pool is only for guests
Upon enquiry to walk to rock pool with family informed there have been fatalities in past 2 years safety was a real concern for us chose not to do it
As a local Swazi very disappointed not to be able to enjoy the restaurant and be able to make use of all the facilities
Moved on to Orion Hotel for great pool and good food only 2 clicks down the road

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Thanks very much for your important feedback on your day visit to Phophonyane. We are very sorry that you did not have the experience that you were anticipating. Indeed the swimming pool is only available for resident guests, which is a common practice for small, private lodges. The information regarding the use of the pool is clearly stated on the signage at the entrance to the nature reserve. We only accommodate about 25 guests at the lodge and you can understand that with these limited facilities, it is not possible to accommodate the general public. This is better catered for by the nearby Piggs Peak Hotel, which you consequently visited . Our restaurant facility is always open to day visitors, though it is a small facility as well. At the time of your arrival our staff was still preparing the restaurant for lunchtime. You can appreciate that this is a particularly busy time of year. Normally, visitors to Phophonyane come to enjoy nature, and you and your family were free to walk around and enjoy the beauty of the place in the meantime. In regard to the Rock Pool: this was built at considerable expense and is available for day visitors to use. It is situated in a spectacular location at the top of the waterfalls and is only a safety concern if one disobeys the regulations and moves away from the designated viewing areas onto the waterfalls. We are obliged to give strict warnings to day visitors to alert them of the need to follow the rules. Besides the Rock Pool, we have provided great facilities for Swaziland residents with many attractive trails and viewpoints in the nature reserve. We hope that you and your family will come return here to enjoy these facilities at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Were in Swaziland for the first time. And found this remarkable place.
Accomodations, Service etc. at high level..
(Only the platform beside the "nature pool" could be re-arranged a bit, but
this is moaning on a high level:))

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank michael_zorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

We really appreciate your great feedback. Since we are always seeking perfection, we would be curious to know what your perspectives are on improving the platform by the nature pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great location and excellent services. The accomodation was comfortable, with a nice view and lovely decorated. There are hikes from the lodge and the waterfalls nearby are beautiful, as well as the dining area with its superb view.

We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank olmaf2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d, Owner at Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

We really appreciate your wonderful review. Great that you loved your stay and hope that you will be able to come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews