We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Borobudur Temple
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$49.20
More Info
from US$61.25
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
Reviews (7,552)
Filter reviews
7,552 results
Traveller rating
5,220
1,798
382
74
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,220
1,798
382
74
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise tour largest buddhist manohara hotel an umbrella top level take your time early in the morning world heritage central java temple site tourists exit indonesia carvings structure century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 7,552 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Visiting Borobudur Temple is a very good idea for adventurers. There we can see how the structure of the temple is and what is special about this Borobudur temple. So far I have been to Borobudur temple about 3-4 times in 2018 and 2019, and every time I go to the temple it's never boring. Around the temple, there are lots of people who sell like; food, drinks, souvenirs, and so on. In addition, many people also visit temples, because at that time they are on a year-end vacation. Borobudur Temple has many steps to the top. When I was at the peak, it felt really good and I could see the city of Magelang to the end. Indeed, this Borobudur temple is very large and interesting to visit while on vacation.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank azriels2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Borobudur is one of the best places you can visit in magelang. I’ve visited this temple for the second time, but it still manages to amaze me.

the size of this temple is gigantic, and it has a lot of history behind it. You can ask the person there, or look it up on google. There is a long set of stairs leading you to the top of the temple. You may think that it's going to exhaust you, it doesn't feel that much of an exercise. Besides, there are a lot of carving on the walls of the temple. You can go straight for the top, or stop by on one of the floors and admire the carvings. Once you got to the top, you'll be rewarded with the scenery or the dozens of stupa (mound) surrounding the top dome. there is a second set of stairs, leading you to the exit.

even though to get to the temple is a long walk, it is still an awesome experience, seeing a literal historical temple in front of your eyes. I would definitely visit for the third time if I had the chance.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank MCCHEESE365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

It is one of the historical places in Indonesia. Located in Borobudur village, Magelang regency, Central Java. So, it is NOT in Yogyakarta.
However, it is only 1 hour by motorbike from Yogyakarta. 1,5 hrs from the new airport of Yogyakarta (YIA).
The best part to stay nearby is #genthonghomestay

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank genthonghomestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesstaff, Sales Staff at Borobudur Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

We're glad that your trip to Borobudur temple is amazing. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2020

Borobudur temple is the world’s biggest Buddhist monument, an ancient site widely considered to be one of the world’s seven wonders. Been here for about more than 20 times and I am very proud of it.

Date of experience: September 2020
2  Thank muriyatnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesstaff, Sales Staff at Borobudur Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

I am proud to have borobudur temple as an one of the wonders of the world, clean and high maintain by government. Must visit!

Date of experience: November 2020
1  Thank ireneario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesstaff, Sales Staff at Borobudur Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

YAY! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews