We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
109
143
52
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
143
52
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews call to prayer hotel is beautiful entrance sunrise yogyakarta tours culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2020

We stayed here for three nights to visit Borobudur and also did some side trips to sights in Yogyakarta - Prambanan and Taman Sari. The Hotel was very clean and beautiful, the staff helpful and attentive in assisting with transport and tours, the food was excellent. The pool area is lovely, and great for an afternoon cool off.

To address the other comments on the call to prayer - having travelled in several Muslim majority countries including Malaysia and Egypt hearing the call to prayer in your hotel room is a common experience. It’s part of the culture of the place you are visiting - take it in. In any case - get up and get to Borobudur, it’s stunning!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 142rhettb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasvatiBorobudur, Manajer at Sarasvati Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Mr. Rhett,

Thank you for taking your time to write your positive review here. We're glad that you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay at Sarasvati.

We look forward to your next visit, and ready to welcome you just the way you like it.

Warm Regards,
Management of Hotel Sarasvati Borobudur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Please dont book sarasvati borobudur.. we just paid for 2room but never stay there.. a man from reservation office talked to us via telephone have very bad attitude... they received our money but never give service.. we plan to go to borobudur and want to stay at saravati borobudur 2rooms but my husband got accident so we have to cancel the planing so..
I did cancelled the booking at 10days before reservation date but there is not refundable so i want to keep it and change the reservation name to my nephew because i have done fully payment..i called the hotel a man on duty dont want to help to re-active the booking again and talked to me with bad intonation
So.. they took our money and dont let us stay there.. very bad service..

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dewiwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasvatiBorobudur, Front Office Manager at Sarasvati Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Dear Ms. Dewi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We deeply regret to hear about the inconvenience experience, please accept our sincerest apology for the unpleasant experience.

But may we clarify that you have made cancel your booking on Oct 5, 2019 and this reservation is on-refundable booking, so after we got your cancellation we closed this reservation. Then two days later on Oct 7, 2019 you called to our hotel asking to re-active your reservation, it is not possible because your reservation already closed by your cancellation.

Thank you and we look forward to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

The hotel is very nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel is an old colonial style building. Our room was spacious. The swimming pool is very nice and well kept. The restaurant is good.

This is just about the closest hotel to the Borobudur Temple. I recommend having the hotel driver take you to the temple for sunrise, the walk is a bit far and confusing in the dark. It is only a couple of dollars. Walk back once it is light.

The hotel has cars and drivers if you need to get to the airport or to drive you around. The prices were reasonable.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMandKWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

Thank you to Bu Riska and the team for their outstanding service during my 2 day stay.

Sarasvati is 200m from Borobudur Temple & markets, and well located opposite a mini market, around the corner from a larger Indomaret & about 1 hour from Yogya city centre. I stayed here 2 nights just to see Borobudur.

The staff were very friendly and always accommodating, allowing me to practice my Indonesian and being very attentive during brekky and dinner service. The dinner menu is well priced.

The hotel grounds are clean and lush. Rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. I was on the 2nd floor and enjoyed a view over the school next door. The pool is beautiful and nicely shaded.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Sarasvati and will absolutely be back with my partner soon! Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank klchnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2019

The hotel breathes the colonial style with high ceilings. The hotel is wel situated close to Borobudur. The rooms are located around a garden. The nice swimming pool gives a good cool down and creates a nice atmosphere for some rest and a drink. The staff is very friendly. We loved to stay here.

(And please don't let you be scared by the reviews talking about the sound from the mosques, those reviews mainly exaggerate this subject: this is a muslim country, so the singing from the mosques is part of the culture, so better get used to it ;) )

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasvatiBorobudur, Front Office Manager at Sarasvati Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2019

Dear Mr. Martijn,

Thank you for staying at Sarasvati Borobudur Hotel and taking the time to write such a positive review.

It would be our greatest pleasure to be able to welcome you again at Sarasvati when you visit Borobudur.

Should there be anything else we can do to make your upcoming visit more enjoyable than ever, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

Management of Sarasvati Borobudur Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews