We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rumah Dharma(Borobudur)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Efata Homestay(Borobudur)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Borobudur Resort(Borobudur)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanjiwo Resorts(Borobudur)
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Janur Bungalow(Borobudur)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
55
21
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
21
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barnice lobbylush paddy fieldsslept soundlyrecommend this hotelbreakfast buffetthe staff were extremely helpfulfitness centerperfect hotelbeautiful sceneryguest roomsminutes by carricespacious roomgood sizecolonial styleminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights feeling like we needed a break after bouncing around Indonesia for a while.

+The building and rooms are very nice and clean.
+Pool is nice, clean, and fairly shady which is nice.

-The breakfast is free, but all of "hot" food is room temperature and a little dicey. Most trays have no warmer, some have 1 disposable sterno, all are open air. This is picky, but 2/3 days there was no protein besides fried chicken with BBQ sauce, only noodles, rice, pastries, pancakes, cereals soups. No sausage, bacon, lunch meat, or anything that wasn't carbs. For long days out, we prefer protein heavy breakfast.


- The spa was very poor, would not recommend. I left a separate review on the spa page with details.

- We did the bike tour excursion. It was very nice but very short (~2 miles, about 30 minutes of biking and 45 minute pottery stop). Not worth $65USD.

-They arranged a driver to drive us into Yogyakarta after our stay. It did not have working AC and it was ~90°F|95% humidity. Needed to shower after the 2 hour ride.

- Restaurant service was a bit awkward. Every meal we had to get up and walk to server station to get check, ask for drinks, napkins, etc... We were not being impatient, but after nobody checking in for 30-40 minutes and making eye contact we just wanted service. They only take your order, deliver food, pick up plates.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweberplataran, Director Of Operations at Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Zach G,

Greetings from Plataran Indonesia.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel and for your positive feedback with regards to the building and the facilities.

I am concerned and disappointed with regards to your comments about the level of service and the quality of the breakfast. This is something that I will take up with the team in detail immediately to ensure that the shortcomings are not repeated.

With regards to the Spa treatment, I am surprised and curious as to what went wrong since we consistently have good comments all around. Would you be so kind as to share with me on which spa page you left your comments? I have not been able to find them. You can also reach out to me directly at thomas.weber@plataran.com. This would also give me the chance to communicate with you in more detail and to figure out how we can try and make this right.

Thank you for your kind attention and I do hope we get the chance someday to welcome you back to one of our properties to show you true hospitality.

Kind regards,


Thomas Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We only spent one night at the this hotel but it was truly a night to remember. The room was absolutely beautiful, and the staff were extremely helpful. We ate in the main dining room and had an equisitely prepared meal and a nice bottle of wine. Next morning, we were up with the birds at 4 am, and off for a sunrise ceremony at the largest buddhist temple in indonesia, and one of the largest in the world. We returned to the hotel around 10 am for a wonderful breakfast before our departure. Everyone, including the Manager was wonderful while we were at the hotel, and we wish we had booked to stay a little longer. If we return to Indonesia, we are surely going to stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the one away from the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hillfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujiani a, Executive Assistant Manager at Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Hillfamily2014


Thank you for choosing Plataran Heritage Borobudur, and thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about the room, breakfast and also the staff. It was our pleasure to read your kind words as it is our goal to always create the best place to stay with positive atmosphere and excellent service.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back again on your next visit to Java.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Plataran Heritage is middle rate hotel that belongs to Plataran Borobudur with building style. It’s about one years old and has premium start same as plataran Borobudur. Since the hotel have a lot of twin room so it would fit for MICE industry. It has ballroom for meetings room or for company gathering.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Teru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujiani a, Executive Assistant Manager at Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear TeruB

Greetings from Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel and Convention Centre!

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews on tripadvisor and we are very grateful for the highlights for our ballroom and your recommendations for meetings and gatherings at Plataran Heritage Borobudur.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back again on your next visit to Java.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

My wife and I stayed for three nights at this magnificent hotel.

Hotel: The building is reminiscent of the past colonial era in Java. Huge and beautiful designed entrance hall. Outside is a nice pool where you can relax on several deck chairs. Towels are available at the poolside. We had chosen a Deluxe Room which was spacious enough for two persons and nicely furnished. The rooms were cleaned daily. We felt very comfortable.

Food:
Breakfast is amazing. You could choose from so many options: warm, cold, traditional asian food, continental breakfast, fruits, fruit juices, etc. There is food for everyone.
The restaurants where you can have lunch or dinner are as good as the breakfast. Every day at 4 pm the hotel offers some tea and coffee accompanied by some snacks for free on the rooftop bar.

Staff: Every single employee was so kind and helpful to us. If you have any wish or question they are helping you with great effort and a friendly smile.

Activities: Of course we went to see the Borobudur at sunrise whilst staying at the Plataran Heritage. It was an incredible experience although not a cheap one (900.000 IDR/two persons). We rented some bikes at the hotel and explored the surroundings which was also very lovely. Originally we thought about taking a Jeep tour to the vulcanoes but that would have cost us around three million Rupiah which was a bit too much in our opinion. So we hired a privat driver for two and a half hour (around 300.000 IDR) and drove to the chicken church, camera house and the Mendut temple.
We also took advantage of the Spa in this hotel and had a relaxing massage.

Overall this was a very relaxing and great experience on our trip through Java and we would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a quite and relaxing time in this region.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zizou5_javapalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujiani a, Executive Assistant Manager at Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dearzizou5_javapalme

Greetings from Plataran Heritage Borobudur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at Plataran Heritage Borobudur. We are very delighted to see your very detailed review of our building, swimming pool, room, restaurant, food, spa and also our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your three nights stay with us. Related to the Borobudur temple visit, the ticket price is indeed quiet expensive as you mentioned, that is the ticket price for the visit at sunrise or sunset, which actually this is the best time we suggest for visiting the temple because it will usually be less visitors that in day time visit especially in weekends. We already checked with our team who informed you regarding the Volcano Jeep tour arrangement, our team informed you for combined tour of Volcano Jeep Adventure and Prambanan temple visit, while if you would like to have Volcano Jeep Adventure only it will cost less than 2milion for two persons.
Once again thank you for your review and we are hoping that we could have you staying with us another time when you visit Java.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Visited during the Easter long week end March 2018. We checked in about 15 minutes after 12 noon. The checked in was very slow, fortunately there were nice sofas around the reception counter, so We all just sat there, and the consierge did all the works. The loby was very beautiful.

We entered the room that have already cooled, and it was a very nice big room. The bathroom was clean too. The pillows were nice, big and fluffy and the beds were also really cozy.

The room has a balcony, but it was prohibited to smoke there. There was a nice rooftop cafe/bar with a great view to the green scenery and mountains. There was a decent afternoon tea with some condiments and coffee and tea. They also had a traditional herbal drink small exhibiton, they had a very nice, polite, sweet lady who were showing the guests how to make jamu.

There was a nice Indonesian food Restaurant name Stupa Restaurant. The food was good but the service were very slow during busy hour.

I saw some bicycle in front of the hotel, but we didn't try to rent or borrowed one, but i think it was free for the guest to bike around the hotel.

The breakfast was prepared in the Menoreh Restaurant. The food tasted good, but the variety could be added, yet it was sufficient.

Swimming pool was clean but they didn't have life guard.

Generally it was a very nice and quiet hotel, with beautiful surrounding. It would be suitable for honeymooners, couples who need to run away from hectic and busy city life.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to have a better view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincinsugiarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujiani a, Executive Assistant Manager at Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear cincinsugiarto,

Greetings from Plataran Heritage Borobudur!

Thank you for your thoughtful review, despite of your disappointment regarding the check-in process. We always try to do our best to make the check-in process as fast as possible, thank you for reminding us to improve our services regarding this matter.
We are glad to know that you like the interior design of the hotel, especially the lobby and the room. Thank you for mentioning the beauty of our hotel as well as another positive feedback such as the good food and the great service. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed the afternoon tea and our complimentary art and craft activity (Djamu Making Class) with a beautiful view overlooking Menoreh Hills.
We are hoping you would allow us to have another opportunity to provide better service in your future stay when you visit java again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews