We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$318
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (4,638)
Filter reviews
4,638 results
Traveller rating
3,335
912
239
85
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,335
912
239
85
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bungalow sunset bar pasta point our waiter fish superior room overwater suites our honeymoon salad crab three bars dolphin trip mini bar dolphin watching food was amazing octopus every meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 4,638 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2021

Absolutely outstanding 7th visit to Dhonveli. We we treated like royalty from the minute we arrived, and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Beach Suite from our booked Beach Bungalow. As always the food is excellent, all the restaurant team are incredibly friendly, especially the amazing chef Kahir, who goes out of his way to make sure you have something you like and Siti who makes amazing salads. We enjoyed two beach dinners - one steak and one lobster Thermidor - again excellent quality as always. Lots of work continues on the beach following storm damage with sand being pumped in - we have seen this many times before and look forward to next time seeing the beach back to it’s normal beauty. The team at the Sunset are excellent, especially Priyantha, Malinda, Dilsham, Mahosh, Dilipa, and Osi - they all go out of their way to look out for you. We enjoyed two Spa treatments again - the Spa team are always so friendly and give fantastic treatments. We will always continue to recommend Dhonveli for an amazing stay in Paradise at good value. We would like to thank everyone at Team Dhonveli for making our stay so special again, and look forward to seeing you for our 8th visit.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 724vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear 724vi,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!


Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are extremely heartened to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your 7th visit stay with us and that you were well-looked after by our team again for yet another memorable stay experience! We wish thank you for your kind understanding for some improvement works to certain parts of our resort during your recent stay.

Once again, thank you for all your kind words and support. It definitely encourage our team to continue to deliver service excellence from the heart to all our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home - Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Warmest regards,

Shiela Marie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

My husband & I had the best time. We’ve been coming to the island since 2007, this trip was the first time without our children. We were worried we’d be sad because of all our wonderful memories at Dhonveli with them, butI we had a throughly enjoyable time.
The staff so friendly and were so helpful from the towel people to reception staff. I don’t have one negative thing to say.
Since our last trip in 2016, there has been a lot of improvements, the rooms, the dining area, the food stations, sunset bar. It’s all great.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leeniler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Dear Leeniler,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for spending time sharing a review of your return visit and for returning to your home in the Maldives! We are delighted you had a great experience with us once again and loved the enhanced facilities of our property. We are pleased that you had a fantastic time like before and that our team were able to showcase the hospitality that everyone loved from us. We are so grateful for the beautiful words and excellent review you have shared with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you, hopefully, sooner again than later, back to our paradise. Please let us know if we can be of any support.

Until then, please stay safe and well!

Warmest regards,

Shiela Marie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021

Wonderful resort wonderful staff OWS superb luxurious The Spa and staff amazing.The excursions great and amazing value for money.Housekeeping faultless.Chef Khair outstanding friendly and indulging loved his food.Restaurant buffet choice varied though beef and lamb dishes meat tended to be tough.However restaurant overall was superb. On beach dining experience service and food were truly amazing Great place to chill out

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Dear parkersmp1,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would like to extend our sincerest gratitude for sharing such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is truly an inspiration for us to continue to strive to deliver exceptional service and to create an unforgettable experience for all our guests. Thank you for complementing our resort, especially the services, experiences, hosts and rest of the team. We hope we have an opportunity to host you again in near future.

Warmest regards,

Shiela Marie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021

This was our fourth trip to Cinnamon Dhonveli. We’ve come before with our sons who learned to scuba dive there (one loved it so much he is now taking his PADI instructor qualification!) and this time it was just the two of us. Each visit has left us wanting to come back again. We couldn’t fault anything. All staff are so courteous and polite. Special mentions go to Salaiman and Lassan in the restaurant, Patrice, Sanjaya in the surf bar, Mustafa, Dinesh who couldn’t do enough for us and finally, Shiela who was lovely and very helpful.
Everyone, from the general manager down, was interested in our experience so they could improve anything that wasn’t perfect - but everything was! There was always a great range of entertainment so you could party if you wanted - or take yourselves away to a quiet spot if you didn’t. The food was fantastic as always.
We also made some great friends on this trip we will keep in touch with. We absolutely love this bit of paradise - we will now start saving for our next visit!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ruth556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Dear ruth556,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!

Thank you for sparing your time sharing such a lovely words following your recent visit with us. Its wonderful to learn that you had a wonderful experience again, and team could make your stay memorable every time. It definitely gives us immense pleasure to learn that you always wanted to return with us here in the Maldives. Your feedback about your stay are real words of encouragement to which our team would always aim for.

It was an honor to welcome you back again!We hope that you will come back to our resort in the near future and we can bring another memorable moment!

Warmest regards,

Shiela Marie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

A perfect piece of Paradise.

Booked this after a 18 months of cancellations and this really did not disappoint. Arriving into Male (make sure you have window seats) you can see the atolls and islands in the ocean. From there it was a speedboat across to this island, which was great fun. As you circle the island and pull in you notice the turquoise waters. On arrival you are given a chance to freshen up before being given an introduction to the resort.

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and would fully recommend this. The rooms are spacious and clean, trust me the shower alone is bigger than most bathrooms in hotels. We were fortunate to be facing the ocean which meant that our decking caught the sun for most of the day. Oh and the air con is a lifesaver if like me, you melt when the temperature hits 25 degrees.

The resort is beautiful with loads of wildlife and sealife (watching crabs chase each other is great fun). The food was amazing and the spa treatment top class. Entertainment is nice and chilled and the bars have a fantastic choice.

I will say that whilst all this was amazing, the holiday wouldn’t have been anywhere near as good without the wonderful staff. They really can’t do enough to help. There was Abul who cleaned our room and ensured that everything was to our requirements (especially the mini bar) but more importantly he always greeted us with a smile and a conversation, which helped kick our days off. Niyaz who was our waiter, never forgot our names from Day 1 and would go to the far end to ensure our meals and drinks were perfect. He was always great to talk to, and with our view of pasta point he pointed out the surfing. He really couldn’t do enough for us and was a great laugh. Finally getting to the Sunset Bar there was Dileepa and Dilshan. Initially bonding over cricket these two were amazing, and kept a fantastic supply of drinks including a couple of special ones for my better half. They were great craic at the end of the evening and again could not do enough to help.

Room tip: Check at time of year for weather, we got all inclusive premium but were unable to use excursions.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Wander38266964085
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Dear Wander38266964085,

Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!


Thank you so much for taking the time and share your experience with us on TripAdvisor community, your valuable time is highly appreciated. We are truly pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and you have love our team service and friendliness. We take pride in providing memorable experience to our guests and are very happy that our hard work resulted to your wonderful review.

Abul, Niyaz, Dileepa, Dilshan and rest of our team will be so delighted to read your generous feedback, we are sure that it will brighten up their day! Indeed, we are blessed with passionate and hard working individual in our team who are going out their way to ensure our guest will have a pleasurable stay. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at the Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Shiela Marie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews