We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nest Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Inkosana Lodge(Cathkin Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
River Crossing B & B(Cathkin Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
220
282
83
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
282
83
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersdining roomcourse dinnerunderfloor heatingtable tenniselectric blanketsrelaxed atmosphereexcellent fooda lovely staybeautiful scenerymountain viewtennis courtshome away from homegreat familyfamily holidaycentral drakensberglong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The Nest is a lovely stop in the Drakensberg for a family.
Lots to do - Bowls , tennis , snooker , darts and walking trails . Food exceptional. ( breakfast , tea time , lunch , tea time , dinner - all delish ! )
Staff very friendly and helpful . Small spa on site with treatments at reasonable prices. Ro

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dgrisd942103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon dgrisd942103,

Wow!! Thank you for your awesome review - glad to hear you enjoyed all the delicious food we have to offer.

Come back soon!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Good value for money, great facilities and location and excellent service.
Our room was a little dark and showering wasn't the best experience, but overall a good visit.
With the full board service and facilities you would not necessarily need to leave the site.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dave893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon dave893,

Thank you for your review! We are disappointed to hear that you had a bit of a 'shady' room!

Next time you visit, please do let us know if you have any issues as I can assure you we will try our utmost to accommodate you!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The Nest is well situated so that you can visit the whole Central Drakensberg. We stayed in the garden family unit. It is very very small for even 3 people. It is a bird nest and can only be used to sleep in. You leave in the morning and come back in the evening. Even to watch television is difficult as every one needs to sit on the double bed. For us it was not a retreat just a over night stay. The bath/shower is difficult, you have to stand in a small space in the bath and after you have showered the floor on the side of the bath is totally wet and slippery even is you are cautious. The restaurant was good, the the food were good but there is space for improvement, at the buffet I called on a waiter to remove the fruit salad as the pineapple in the fruit salad had dark spots which were not cut out, my daughters fish had fish bones and my husband had same scales, but over all nice. Our waiter Ncami was very friendly and excellent, we did enjoy being served by her.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petra152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon Petra152,

Whilst we strive to accommodate all of our guests, we also realize that we cannot be everyone's cup of tea!

We will be sure to pass your note onto your waitress, Ncami.

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

excellent location and great value for money however food at dinner not excellent and new towels needed. upgrade of rooms needed - lasted visited around 25 years ago and not much has changed. entire hotel needs an upgrade

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mirella358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon mirella358,

Thank you for your review - we will keep your comments in mind.

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Visited this venue to break up a trip from Durban to JHB. Stunning location however the rooms and hotel need to be upgraded and the family room we stayed in was not safe at all for kids due to the double story building which meant we stayed in the kids area. The food was average and the service slow. Great stop over but I will look at other venues when planning another trip.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon Richard P,

Thank you for your notes.

Next time you book with us, please be sure to state your childrens ages, as all of our Family Mountain View Units are duplex units. It may be best to book a Family Garden Unit. We will be sure to accommodate you as best we can!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews