We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat unlucky .....”

D`Bar Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Qala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: D-BAR is a family run Restaurant, Pizzeria and Bar, brimming with charm and tradition. Set over two floors, the upper level provides a relaxing and traditional experience; here you will find yourself gazing upon a beautiful collection of vintage portraits of Qala. Downstairs, we have the bar and a further dining area, providing a more vibrant atmosphere, where we often feature international sports on television and offer a range of local wines and lagers. During the summer months we have a stunning terrace area on the upper level, (Great for parties and groups) and outdoor seating on the lower level where you can dine al fresco and take in the lovely surroundings of the Qala square.
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We have been to this restaurant before and were very happy with the experience and sought to repeat it. This time we weren't so lucky. The food arriving at all the other tables looked delicious, be it pizzas, steaks, octopus ...everything looked mouthwatering. So we were looking forward to our order to arrive as we were famished. The antipasto platter was ok but the spaghetti carbonara that we both ordered was somewhat disappointing. This dish is admittedly tricky to get right but this was, in my opinion, really off the mark. The pasta, which was just slightly overcooked, was sitting in a white sauce - making it look nothing like pasta carbonara. I regretted not having ordered something that the neighbouring tables had ordered as everything else looked more appetizing. Maybe this particular dish should be taken off the menu so as not to ruin the dining experience and expectations of returning customers.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xemx40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Visited the restaurant on a saturday eve. Better to pre book. The restaurant has a lovely cosy atmosphere, with a bar downstairs and restaurant upstairs. The food was fabulous. We were 6 people and all had different choice of food. It was all cooked to perfection. The waiters and waitresses were very welcoming and professional. A big thumbs up!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TiffanyGzira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

An ever changing menu of delicious and exciting dishes keeps everyone on the staff interested and on their toes and the fact that D-Bar is packed most nights is an attribution to their success. People from all all over Gozo and Malta dine here and the ambience is a tribute to chef Chris, owners Tony and Natalie and an extraordinary wait staff, make this one of the best restaurants this 66 year old has experienced. It ranks with anything in Paris, NYC, or Buenos Aires. My only reservation is this review will make it harder to get a table.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pr0sper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Apart from being a cosy restaurant (my winter type of restaurant), D'Bar always manages to satisfy my taste buds! We have been customers for long years and never ever disappointed. One thing which I slightly dislike is the size of the rather small tables but above that, D'Bar is always worth a visit! Keep it up

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank bendermalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We love this place and frequently visit. It is local and quaint. DBar offers daily specials apart from the main menu. Personally i go for the specials as it reflects the market offering and season around us. Visitors are both local and foreigners. My treasure hideaway.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 207joycem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D`Bar Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Qala, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Island of Gozo, Malta
Qala, Island of Gozo
 

Been to D`Bar Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing