We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
23
17
10
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
17
10
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird sanctuary checking out stayed here for nights dining area resort birds setting banks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

The photographs of this resort don't do it justice. It doesn't look much on the photos bit we found it was a beautiful place. Nice rooms with good facilities and lovely food.
We found the staff very attentive and service at reception and for food both excellent.
The food was very good from the restaurant. Maybe a little overpriced as there is nothing else close by but we enjoyed it very much.

A special thank you to the bird guide there who took us for an early morning birding walk around the area.

We would stay here again and for a little longer than 2 nights!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel and the setup just amazing..But the Staff and administration just worst as it is..we couldn't find anybody in Reception when we reached.so you can just imagine..Rooms are worthy and it's very close to nature.And I wish they could have efficient staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vimij2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Ours was a group and we stayed there for 1 night and 2 days.The rooms were all are good n spacious but the problem is with their service.There were only few guest still they couldn’t manage the service properly.
They charged a whopping amount for the food we had from there.The food was only average.
So overall disappointing stay at Soma Birds Lagoon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 6rays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, General Manager at Soma Birds Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Kindly note that we do not have any record of stay as per your description in this mail. We consider every feedback as a chance to go for further excellence in service/facilities. But feedback without staying at the resort is not a positive sign. We never had any such complaint from our guests recorded in our feedback form or the suggestion book or through our mail. Please have a look any mismatch in your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights jut before Christmas. It is very remote and the scenery is beautiful. We were happy to walk around the grounds and also around the area - not much to see other than natural habitat, but we were very happy with that as it is stunning. There was no swimming pool that we could see, but that didn't bother us. We arranged an auto rickshaw, via the manager, to get to the main bird sanctuary and it was quite easy to arrange one by ourselves to come back. Our rooms were comfortable and clean - we didn't have any hot water however, and we weren't able to resolve this with the staff. This didn't spoil our stay, but other people may be less happy.

The food was excellent and we had dinner there both nights. It wasn't clear to us that we would have to have the buffet dinner when more guests arrived - personally I would have preferred to have had a choice about this, but it was fine and the food was equally good. The breakfast buffet was also really enjoyable.

The only criticism we had was around payment, and I haven't decided whether this was due to a language barrier or something more deliberate. When we were presented with our final bill, we queried the amount as it was twice what we were expecting to pay. We went back to our room to check our on-line booking, and returned to query this with the manager. What we had agreed to pay at the point of booking was printed off on an email and presented to us - but someone had hand-written 'x 2' on it (as we had 2 rooms I assume), and hand written a different final amount underneath it. When we came back with our copy of the booking, we somehow managed to relay that we were not willing to pay more than we had agreed on line, and this was accepted - without argument.

I really don't want to think this was a deliberate attempt to mislead us, as we have not had that experience in India in all our travels there, over several years. However I'm not sure why someone had gone to the effort of handwriting on a print out of an email, and changing the final amount owed - this may have been a misunderstanding? The manager's English was certainly better than my ability to speak in his language - however it was a problem when trying to challenge our bill, and I wonder how we would have resolved this had he not agreed to what we were wiling to offer. We were also told when checking out that the hotel was no longer able to take a card payment, so we had to arrange to go the the local town to find an ATM, and hand over the cash to the staff member who followed us. We duly did this, but we weren't provided with a receipt for this payment and it caused us some inconvenience.

My advice to other travellers would be to retain a copy of your booking confirmation, and check the bill before payment just to ensure there hasn't been any confusion. It is also worth asking about methods of payment, as this also changed during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I feel this hotel is slowly slipping backwards. We stayed here five years ago and it looks if very little has been updated/replaced during that time. The setting is simply superb, overlooking a lagoon with birds everywhere. Perfect for four Birdwatching friends. However the basic levels of comfort are somewhat lacking. The beds and pillows desperately need replacing. They are so thin and hard. I know birdwatchers are always so shattered when we fall into bed, but we do need a good, comfortable nights sleep.
The food can be a little mixed but by and large very good. We had the most amazing fish curry during our stay. Without doubt the best meal during four weeks of travelling in Southern India.
The staff are very charming and helpful and do their utmost to please their guests.
With some money spent on Birds Lagoon, it really could become a fantastic place to stay. It has everything in it's favour, and once promoted in the right places the guests will come flocking in. Let's hope so.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucylocket24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Soma Birds Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Thank you very much for your stay and feedback. We are very happy to note that you like location, felicities and the huge potential of its Bird watching. This Birds's sanctuary is having the biggest birds habitat in India. We are adding up more facilities like Swimming pool, Organic farming, Garden etc. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you again at our Resort.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews