We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soma Birds Lagoon
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dewland(Kochi (Cochin))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nalanda Residency(Perumbavoor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Suvarna Palace(Kochi (Cochin))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Willow Heights(Athirappilly)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Elixir Hills(Munnar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
23
17
10
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
17
10
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird sanctuaryorganic farmchecking outbird watchingstayed here for nightsresortjanbirdsforestbirdwatchersparadisebirdwatching
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I feel this hotel is slowly slipping backwards. We stayed here five years ago and it looks if very little has been updated/replaced during that time. The setting is simply superb, overlooking a lagoon with birds everywhere. Perfect for four Birdwatching friends. However the basic levels of comfort are somewhat lacking. The beds and pillows desperately need replacing. They are so thin and hard. I know birdwatchers are always so shattered when we fall into bed, but we do need a good, comfortable nights sleep.
The food can be a little mixed but by and large very good. We had the most amazing fish curry during our stay. Without doubt the best meal during four weeks of travelling in Southern India.
The staff are very charming and helpful and do their utmost to please their guests.
With some money spent on Birds Lagoon, it really could become a fantastic place to stay. It has everything in it's favour, and once promoted in the right places the guests will come flocking in. Let's hope so.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucylocket24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Soma Birds Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Thank you very much for your stay and feedback. We are very happy to note that you like location, felicities and the huge potential of its Bird watching. This Birds's sanctuary is having the biggest birds habitat in India. We are adding up more facilities like Swimming pool, Organic farming, Garden etc. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you again at our Resort.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My family had booked a one-night stay in Jan 2017. Could spot different birds there. Food was yummy. The surroundings need to be maintained better. We were not happy with the way the room was maintained/cleaned. Overall quality of the room was not satisfactory for the price. The phone in the room was not working. Found that there is no sufficient staff available (it was a weekend).We ended up checking out the same day.

Bird Watching + Tasty food - If you're looking for this, its a good destination. Do not have high expectations on the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

A great place if you are interested in birds, or want something a little different, off the beaten track. A room overlooking the lagoon gave us the opportunity to see 3 different sorts of kingfishers with a minimum of effort. Lots of lesser whistling ducks, Darter & cormorant on the lake, despite the (apparently) low water level. The room was simple but quite adequate and functional. Do not expect 5-star luxury, but it was clean and functional.

I was able to go on a spontaneous excursion by bike to look for birds near the hotel, accompanied by an interested and enthusiastic member of staff, who would qualify as a good amateur ornithologist (probably a similar level to mine in Europe). The high-point was probably an asian paradise flycatcher, but there were plenty of other "firsts" for me, including a Black Baza.

A separately-organised tour with a local expert ornithologist the following morning was spectacular - I could scarcely begin to list all the species seen. High-point was probably the Malabar Trogon (male) but there was so much to see, I could hardly keep up. And fabulous colours. The tour ended with the "party-piece" - seeking out the ceylon frogmouths and the roosting owls in the forest.

My only regret was that we didn't have longer to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank richardr0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

A super place for birdwatchers, close to the Bird Sanctuary. The lagoon is easily visible from all the rooms and is full of interesting birds. The Resort has an organic farm attached with Pygmy goats, cattle and hens. The website claims that their restaurant serves fresh organic food. We did not experience this at all, and the food was the poorest quality we have had after two weeks in India. Breakfast this morning was very low quality chicken sausages, cheap bread toast and boiled eggs with no vegetarian option. They have a large menu, but local food did not seem to be available and it was certainly not fresh cooked.
The website also showed pictures of a swimming pool but this was empty when we arrived.
The rooms had air conditioning and hot water and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean.
Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We stayed in the Kingsfisher room. The location is remote with nothing close by to walk to. The staff were friendly and food was delicious however the showers had a very small hot water supply, there were constant power failures, the rooms were very small, there's no kettle, no fridge, no alcohol, no yoga or meditation despite it being advertised that there was.... Our small group of 5 people were the only guests there at the time and whilst the location is pleasant over looking the lake and the sound of the birds there is a lot of work to be done before we would find the desire to return....

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SharonTweedHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews