We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out.”
Review of Kimilia Beach

Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Read the reviews right here and thought we'd give it a go. Glad we did.
Drive wad a bit of a pain. Had to go through a fence but there was a nice little area to park after offroading for about 80 metres. Once parked we loaded the kids up and trekked for about 15 minutes along a stoney path. Not at all bad. Strangely, just as we got to within eye sight of the beach, there was a small area with a couple of tents in and some makeshift chairs. There were a few men here. They had a make shift shower set up and toilet rolls hanging from the trees. A lady from Essex we met told us that they were divers and that the previous day they had took the beach over by laying there equipment all over it. They had a small boat moored just off shore for fishing. Apart from a small ginny starting up occasionally and some gentle Greek singing they were no bother at all. I didn't forget that this is there island and we were probably intruding on THEM. The beach is by far the best on the island. A few shaded areas and plenty of ready made segregated seating/laying areas. The water is amazing. Shallow out to about 10 metres and then gradually deeper crystal clear water perfect for snorkeling. Not too many people here,I suppose because of how hard it is to get to. Absolutely must see.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minute walk"
in 9 reviews
"on foot"
in 5 reviews
"an abundance"
in 2 reviews
"make shift"
in 2 reviews
"main road"
in 2 reviews
"small bay"
in 3 reviews
"crystal clear water"
in 5 reviews
"flip flops"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful bay"
in 3 reviews
"long walk"
in 3 reviews
"shaded areas"
in 2 reviews
"water shoes"
in 2 reviews
"large pebbles"
in 2 reviews
"clean water"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 3 reviews
"woodland"
in 9 reviews
"track"
in 6 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

As other reviewers testify, this is a beautiful secluded (small) beach. We arrived about 12.30 ish and there were only one other (young) couple on the beach who seemed well hacked off when we arrived. Make of that what you will. Like all beaches in these parts, it's stony - but you will have needed some sturdy footwear to get here in the first place.

It is reached via a long lane then track off the main road into Fiscardo. Allow about 25 minutes on foot all the way from the road. You can get a car some of the way down but the lane gives up and there is then no option but to proceed by foot. The track winds through trees and scrub so there is good cover from the heat in places. Dont be put off if there is a wire fence pulled across the road/track in one place. You can untie the fence and proceed. This is a local established footpath/walk. I suspect the fence is for goat control. There are no facilities at the beach so take your own food and drink.

Now for the main bit of advice. Don't turn left. When you get to the beach there is a path going left. That takes you firstly to another small (even more secluded) bay after about 400 yards. That is fine. However beyond that big trouble beckons. We had downloaded an app on walks in Kefalonia. This seemed to show a footpath all along the water/cliff edge round to Dafnoudi (another lovely bay). So we followed this (or what we thought was this). After a while we saw a sign to Dafnoudi so we followed this. This seemed on the face of things a short cut, taking you inland, away from the water's edge, but a short cut if you look at the map.

After 20 minutes or so of walking we found the path we were on petering out. The more we walked, the more impassable the terrain became with thick spiky bushes, trees and scrubland. So we turned round, and proceeded to get totally lost.

At which point the tension started to mount. It was hot (but not as hot as it could have been), the water supply was dwindling and power was draining on mobiles where we could at least plot our route. The route back to Kamilia seemed to be through ever thicker terrain and at one stage we found ourselves facing a sheerish cliff drop. Cool (in a manner of speaking) heads eventually prevailed and we got back to Kamilia looking as though we had either had a fight between us (my wife and I) or we had gone 3 rounds with a bear. Covered in scratches, hot and very bothered.

Eventually got back to the Fiscardo road, turned left (downhill) into town and went into a bar we know. Possible the best big beer I have ever had in my life. My wife's "Ice Cold in Alex" references were never more appropriate.

Serious note to fellow travellers. Do not under any circumstances try to walk round the coast or cross country to Dafnoudi from Kimilia. There are other established walks to Dafnoudi but not directly from Kimilia. Otherwise Kimilia itself is a must.

Date of experience: May 2018
8  Thank Rhod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This is another stunning beach in Fiscardo with shaded areas and wonderful snorkeling.The tiny cove to the left is often empty so really lovely to have a beach to yourself.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Long walk But well worth it. Perfect little white stones beach. Very private if you want to feel secluded

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank caroltA5133ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Visiting involves a walk of around 1km so you can be sure of a quiet visit. Small bay with great swimming and a secluded sunbathing spot. Lovely.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kimilia Beach also viewed

Lixouri, Cephalonia
Zola, Cephalonia
 
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
Eleios-Pronnoi, Cephalonia
 

Been to Kimilia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing