We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
12
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
12
6
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This was my favorite lodge on my recent trip to PNG. While there is no air conditioning and it was quite warm, I just loved the authenticity of this lodge and the magnificent view of the river and surroundings. The staff was excellent.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Our group spent two nights with amazing visits to several villages. The natives were very welcoming and greeted one and all very happily. The experiences can not be beat and thankfully the videos and images taken will be memorable for many years to come.

The Lodge needs major restoration and improvements and the meals offered as well which were sub-par. The staff however tried their best to please the guests. Take lots of DEET...the bugs and mosquitos are fierce.

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank 734evem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Yes, it has lovely views, museum quality artifacts for sale, etc. (see other reviews for these details). But it could be improved 100% by adding a generator so that a provided ceiling fan in each room could run all night to make sleep possible. Under mosquito netting, topped with plastic, and in the rain forest humidity, a working fan is essential for comfort. I have stayed in similar properties in other locations, such as the Danum Valley in Borneo, that manage to provide this, and it would take minimal expense and effort to do the same here in PNG. I strongly encourage ownership to look into this problem and solve it.

Room tip: Not all rooms have river views, so ask for one.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Redfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This place is about as remote as it gets! Had to take a tiny plane and land on a grass landing strip, then took a boat downriver to the lodge site. But the lodge was really authentically decorated and the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and local. Wonderful service, in spite of the atmosphere of "roughing it" with limited electricity, no wifi If you want an authentic experience and chance to view wildlife, this location is for you!!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vernak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Karawari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hello Verna. Thanks for taking time to post you review of Karawari Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. There seem to be few places left in the world that are as remote, exotic, authentic and hospitable as Karawari Lodge. Will share with the staff you comments about their friendliness, knowledge and service.

Best regards,
Andrew Neufeld
General Manager
Trans Niugini Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

as far as we saw it is a fixed program of four tribes. do not matter if you have more time. since we arrived early afternoon and had half day ..they didn't have what to show us but only to be on the boat...to point for us on the tribes that we will see tomorrow and to talk...this is not enough...this is not fair. if you come that far the program should be better than that.

Room tip: lodge need full program 1/5 -2 days.limited electricity. huge Mosquitos.unique place.fantastic view..August is doing his best
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dafna1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TransNiuginiTours, General Manager, Trans Niugini Tours at Karawari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank-you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at Karawari Lodge. We are pleased that you found the lodge unique and the view fantastic. A stay at Karawari Lodge is often cited as the highlight of a PNG trip. We are surprised that the touring program did not meet your expectations. Much effort goes into providing guests with rich and memorable experiences on the river and with the tribes in the villages. At rare times the realities of this natural and remote location may necessitate a change of original touring plans. These uncontrollable realities include extreme river levels, severe weather, delayed flights and private village matters such as a funeral. In these unusual situations the lodge manager, guides develop alternative programs.

Andrew Neufeld
General Manager
Trans Niugini Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews