We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
12
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
12
6
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This place is about as remote as it gets! Had to take a tiny plane and land on a grass landing strip, then took a boat downriver to the lodge site. But the lodge was really authentically decorated and the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and local. Wonderful service, in spite of the atmosphere of "roughing it" with limited electricity, no wifi If you want an authentic experience and chance to view wildlife, this location is for you!!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vernak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Karawari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hello Verna. Thanks for taking time to post you review of Karawari Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. There seem to be few places left in the world that are as remote, exotic, authentic and hospitable as Karawari Lodge. Will share with the staff you comments about their friendliness, knowledge and service.

Best regards,
Andrew Neufeld
General Manager
Trans Niugini Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

as far as we saw it is a fixed program of four tribes. do not matter if you have more time. since we arrived early afternoon and had half day ..they didn't have what to show us but only to be on the boat...to point for us on the tribes that we will see tomorrow and to talk...this is not enough...this is not fair. if you come that far the program should be better than that.

Room tip: lodge need full program 1/5 -2 days.limited electricity. huge Mosquitos.unique place.fantastic view..August is doing his best
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dafna1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TransNiuginiTours, General Manager, Trans Niugini Tours at Karawari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank-you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at Karawari Lodge. We are pleased that you found the lodge unique and the view fantastic. A stay at Karawari Lodge is often cited as the highlight of a PNG trip. We are surprised that the touring program did not meet your expectations. Much effort goes into providing guests with rich and memorable experiences on the river and with the tribes in the villages. At rare times the realities of this natural and remote location may necessitate a change of original touring plans. These uncontrollable realities include extreme river levels, severe weather, delayed flights and private village matters such as a funeral. In these unusual situations the lodge manager, guides develop alternative programs.

Andrew Neufeld
General Manager
Trans Niugini Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Perched high on the banks of the Karawari River, the Karawari Lodge has its charm but you will have to make some allowances for its remote location. The main lodge has its wall embellished with masks and carvings, many of them for sale but few of them small enough to fit into your charter aircraft weight allowance. It is modelled in shape on a spirit house. There is a pleasant outdoor terrace overlooking the river which was visited by the local hornbill, Joanne.
The rooms are in thatched huts, two rooms per hut separated by a nice sitting area, again overlooking the river and beyond, but you need to be in room 1-6. They are basically furnished with two single beds encased in mosquito netting. There is no air conditioning, just a ceiling fan that needs to work frantically between 6am and 10pm when the generator is on. The bathroom is clean and large enough, and filtered water is available for drinking and cleaning your teeth. Sadly for us we could get no hot water which would have been most welcome after our drenching during an afternoon village excursion.
Excursions are by boat and the transport is comfortable enough but your ride up to the lodge from the river is in the back of a four wheel drive vehicle along a bumpy and muddy track. The excursions were a little disappointing particularly compared to those offered by the Sepik Spirit, one was basically just a shopping exercise at a local fishing village. Supposedly there was to be a local ceremonial dance but it just didn't happen.
Our lunch was simple, pasta and salad with a vegetarian sauce plus some diced fruit. OK, good sized portions but pretty basic. Dinner was more elaborate, soup, a tasty chicken dish and a chocolate dessert. Plenty of cold beer and soft drinks are available, along with red and white wine.
The staff here were generally shy but friendly and they tried hard to make our stay enjoyable.
The term best available is used often here, we had a day here before our flight back to the highlands and we enjoyed the rustic nature of Karawari Lodge.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Spit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Karawari Lodge is so remote that it is hard to believe it is even there! This lodge is set on a beautiful spot above the Karawari River. First, we took a small plane ride, landing at a grass airstrip, then took a short boat trip to the lodge.
It does get quite hot there and with the humidity it can be uncomfortable, but it is the jungle, so what can you expect!
The main lodge is spectacular, built in the form of a spirit house, and it is full of hand-carved masks and other items. They have nice items for sale, too.
There is a full bar, with a wonderful porch overlooking the river. It is a great spot for watching the beautiful sunsets.
The rooms are nice; they are basically duplexes and open at the top of the wall to the room next door. (this is done to permit more air flow). There are ceiling fans in the room, which help with the heat. The rooms have nice porches, most of which also overlook the river.
The food was fine, and there are numerous villages to visit in the area. They are fascinating.
There was good birding, too. We went on an early morning boat ride and watched the Nine-wired Paradise bird displaying and mating, and saw some other great birds, too. The boat is great, as you can be in the shade and have nice breezes which cool you off.
If you like to be in a remote area, and see people living pretty much as they did hundreds of years ago, you will love Karawari. We did!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sallyjO336YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Staying at the Karawari Lodge was a great experience. It was fun to arrive in a small bush plane and utilize a boat to get to the lodge. Comfort was outstanding when you realize how remote the place is.
The guide Paul was so knowledgeable and helpful and we learned so much about life of the local tribes in this protected area.
My only suggestion would be to use more local ingredients in the food that we got served. I was not traveling to Papua to eat western food. Give me some sago pancakes for breakfast next time. And please keep the pineapple slices if all you have is canned pineapple!

Room tip: Bring a flashlight
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews