We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing changes”

Roots Cafe Abergele
Ranked #17 of 99 Restaurants in Abergele
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family run Cafe / Restaurant based in Abergele Vegan - Vegetarian & Gluten Free Options • Healthy • Honest • Organic
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Firstly can you explain how 2 reviews dated 2014 and 2015 are included when the café has just opened in 2018????? Strange.! With regards to the new owner/refurbishments, they are very good, BUT, regards to the menu choice for breakfast then there are huge let downs, The menu offers a large cooked breakfast which is a staggering £8-95, no small option like before, Also I do not know of many people who want advocado or halumi for breakfast in Abergele, Only small option is egg on sourdough at an eye watering price of £5-50, no bacon or sausage butties, no ability to buy just toast or teacakes. If there is then it is not listed on the menu and should be. Not offering these smaller options is cutting off the local people who always came for a coffee and toast and a natter in the mornings. We were not going to stay where better choices, for those of us who do not want huge breakfasts at high prices or fancy styles of breakfast, are servedt.
I can only just advise 'don't forget those customers who have been the basis of this business for decades'. The staff are very friendly and we wish them well but they are not going to get much custom during the colder months and are relying on the local trade if they do not 'bend' a little and remember the OLDER cliental in Abergele who do not have the money for high priced breakfasts. We just had a coffee which was fine, but would have liked a breakfast of bacon, egg and tomato to go with it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KierenB123, Manager at Roots Cafe Abergele, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi LL,


Thanks for your review.

After a change of management, it was essential for us to change the menu and the prices to correlate. The menu prices have not increased since early 2015. Due to an increase in business rates, increase in staff wages, compulsory staff pensions, inflated energy prices etc. this increase is needed for the business to survive and remain as a cafe in Abergele.

We are in a transitional stage, our menu has not yet been finalised and will be updated in due course. We do have a small breakfast, toast, teacakes etc. available at request, with many more options on our specials board. We have also removed all chemical additives, preservatives, flavor enhancers etc. and we are now almost fully organic with everything we sell, we are only using local suppliers to keep peoples hard earned money within our local community.

Change is necessary for businesses to survive. You only have to look at the businesses that once stood in Abergele, which are no longer.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We visited nearby Gwrych Castle and needed a snack, our guide recommended this cafe. We were thinking of a sandwich or something similar but were persuaded by the really interesting menu and ended up with avacado and beetroot toast and a stack of pancakes with maple syrup, fruit, bacon and butter. The food was delicious, attractively presented and very reasonably priced and I was also tempted to try one of their range of smoothies: Holy Cacao, also delicious. The interior was attractive, service was excellent, what more could you ask for?

1  Thank Graham_Bibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KierenB123, Manager at Roots Cafe Abergele, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Graham,


Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the new menu and also the fantastic work they have done over at Gwyrch Castle.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We had spotted this café on a visit to the local Tescos during a stay in Towyn....I remembered it as another café many years ago but, that's another story.... My son and I decided to bimble on down from Towyn to try out their vegetarian/vegan selection, we were not disappointed .... I have to point out i'm a meat eater at heart but, the 'pulled pork' jackfruit in barbeque sauce served with nachos, vegan cheese and vegan sour cream was delicious, as was the Pumpkin and Quinoa Gnocchi which we both had....their choice of smoothies was great.... and very reasonably priced...the staff were attentive without being intrusive....overall a great, no excellent experience made even better when I discovered that they were Everton supporters ....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kazbar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KierenB123, Manager at Roots Cafe Abergele, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for the great review! We hope you enjoy your time here in North Wales, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Wow...What a difference Roots Cafe
Looking great with a new bar area and dining room
Had the breakfast with a tastie cup of coffee
Can't wait to return to sample their interesting menu....

1  Thank G9605XZstephenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KierenB123, Manager at Roots Cafe Abergele, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Stephen,


Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

we called in at roots cafe at abergele for a meal we have been hear many years and never been disapointed when it was abergele grill now its called roots cafe we called in for a meal and it was exellent good food clean lovely staff very helpful give it a try you wont be disapointed maureen and dave would like to wish you all the best for the future we will be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KierenB123, Manager at Roots Cafe Abergele, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Maureen & Dave,


Thanks for the great review. It was great to see you & we hope to see you again some time.


Kind Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots Cafe Abergele also viewed

Abergele, Conwy County
 
Abergele, Conwy County
Llanddulas, Conwy County
 
Abergele, Conwy County
Abergele, Conwy County
 

Been to Roots Cafe Abergele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing