We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, lovely view”
Review of Escondidinho

Escondidinho
Ranked #39 of 56 Restaurants in Ferragudo
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The restaurant is run by a Portuguese man and his English wife. It is situated on a beach behind the castle in Ferragudo. The food is excellent, a mix of English and Portuguese, and very generous. The children´s menu is also good, very sensible...with baked beans! There is a wide variety of drinks.

The restaurant is situated on the beach with a good view of the harbour, vessels in and out, water sports on the go. There are big rocks and caverns for children to explore, and the beaches are graduated, so that young children can play safely.

The restaurant can be reached by the road at high tide, walking behind the castle, or by the beach at low tide.

There are t-shirts to buy and a wide variety of ice-crams available.

A welcome is assured, weloved it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Food is simple but great! Live music some evenings
Quieter part of beach in the day time (turn right at the end of the board walk)
I had the perfect grilled squid (x2)
Deck chairs with food and drink service great to chill in the evening

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSN2014A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Had visited Praia Grande on many occasions, but had never heard of Escondidinho as its slightly tucked away to the right hand side. I'd been recommended to try it by a friend and when we arrived it was jam packed with locals having lunch (usually a good sign). We asked for a table and were told 5mins. Once seated, the service was prompt and we were shown the specials board. Great variety from simple snacks and salads, to fresh fish of the day. Really nice spot as you are right on the beach and can enjoy the views for hours. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Returned to Escondidinho several times over the last few weeks . Atmosphere and setting are fabulous . This place is one of the reasons we return to Ferragudo year after year .
Food is good and fresh although it's the service and setting /atmosphere that are the drivers for our continued return visits
See you next year

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Returned to the Hideaway following several years absence from the Algarve anxious to know if Rui and Diane were still running the business.Our curiosity soon turned to delight when we saw Rui walking along the sand towards us. Just say the Escondidinho is possibly the only bar/restaurant still located on the beach along the western Algarve.Other resorts we visited have undergone extensive upgrading turning the original atmospheric beach based shacks into copycat dreadfully drab brown boxes on stilts lying way back off the beach.That's business and progress I suppose. We quickly settled down and enjoyed drinks and the impressive range of food at very modest prices Rui and Dianes son and the other friendly staff make you so welcome and a lovely lady called Raquel takes your food orders and even brings a selection of fresh fish to your table to drool over. Altogether the food and presentation is excellent. Plenty of room and safe for children on the large stretch of beach or like us just sitting around enjoying the sun and the atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend a visit to Rui and his family if you find yourself in this neck of the woods. You wont be disappointed. 'Obligobbly' again Rui and Diane for making our visits to your splendid establishment once again so thoroughly enjoyable.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reginald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Escondidinho also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Escondidinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.