We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling with Captain Wilson”

Island Wilson Excursions
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Red Hook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling, Sightseeing, Island Hopping or Whatever. Experience the islands in stretch-out comfort at a pace that's just right for you. No schedules. Just the perfect relaxing day in the Virgin Islands.
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Our group of 6 enjoyed the private snorkeling trip with Captain Wilson. The booking process was very easy and Captain Wilson was always very responsive. With his help, we had pre-arranged taxi transportation to and from the docks. We were in port on a cruise and we never worried about making back to the ship in time. The weather was not ideal, but he was able to takes us to some beautiful spots around St. Thomas and St. John and did his best to navigate away from the rain.

1  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Captain Wilson made it very comfortable and casual. He took us to Buck island where whe swam with the turtles and saw a shipwreck. We then traveled to an a area of nice coral reef where we spotted eel, huge puffer fish and stingrays. Great trip even though the weather cut us a little short.

1  Thank Lonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-Wilson-DejaBlue, Owner at Island Wilson Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hey Lonnie

Great having your gang on board for some awesome St Thomas snorkeling. Next time without the dark clouds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We vacationed in the Virgin Islands for the first time in early June. We have a family of 4 with 2 girls, ages 18 and 14 years. We weren't sure exactly what we wanted to see or do. Captain Wilson helped us narrow it down. We snorkeled at Great St James, Maho Bay on St. John and Buck Island. We also enjoyed Pizza Pi for a fabulous lunch. He keeps Deja Blue clean and organized with a variety of top notch equipment. We borrowed underwater cameras and he also took pictures of us. All were prompted emailed to us at no additional charge. The girls learned so much about underwater sea life. It was a incredibly relaxing day. We posted about where we were and friends were coming to the area a few days later. We rebooked with Island Wilson for a second day with our friends. We visited some of the same places and new ones. He really catered to every person on the boat. We would highly recommend Captain Wilson. His prices are extremely fair. Our days on the water were the best ones of this trip. You cannot go wrong with this excursion!

Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-Wilson-DejaBlue, Owner at Island Wilson Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Jill. Thanks for the kind words and two fantastic days. Hope to see you all back on board in the future. Until then, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This year we planned on two days with Captain Wilson. One in BVI. The second in the US. This is the 3rd year we have planned a trip with Captain Wilson. Deju Blue is a very nice boat which is kept immaculate and is very comfortable. It has plenty of room for 6 people perhaps more. My wife and I have three kids 19,16 and 11. The captain has taken us all over the VI's on our trips. The Bitter end, Saba Rock, the Baths, Cooper Island, Scrub Island, Prickly pear, White Bay, Sandy Spit, The Indians, The Rhone shipwreck, Christmas Island, Turtle Cove, Cartanza Senora shipwreck, and Waterlemon Cay! You are missing out if you don't go Island hopping to snorkel and swim!

Captain Wilson is very concerned with making sure you have a great adventure. I can not imagine going to the VI without island hopping! If you have never done it. Go out with Captain Wilson and you will not be disappointed. It's worth every dime!

Captain Wilson can guide you if you are not sure where you want to go. I thought it was great that he asked each person in my family what they wanted to do.. He help to shape a day that would fulfill everyone's desires... When snorkeling he will give you great advice and will also tell you story's that make it much more fun! Off the cuff we stopped at the Mermaid's Chair because my youngest talked about mermaids..

She was thrilled...(picture attached, smallest beach in VI)

I have been on other boats. Captain Wilson is the way to go.

Give him a call! You, your family and friends will experience a day you truly will not forget!!!



We will see you next year Captain!


The Davis family - Repeat offenders!!!

Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-Wilson-DejaBlue, Owner at Island Wilson Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

What started as a one way trip, has backfired into to a yearly 2 trip tradition. And we are glad it did. The Davis Family trips are always highly anticipated. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Coming to Saint Thomas, we were looking to ease into snorkeling. Captain Wilson not only kept us comfortable, but showed us some amazing snorkeling places where we were the only ones there. He kept the music coming. He was great to hang out with for the day. I can't recommend him enough.

Thank ChadKJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt-Wilson-DejaBlue, Owner at Island Wilson Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Beginner snorkelers to awesome snorkelers in 60 seconds. (plus a little) Thanks for coming out with us. See you next time for the part 2.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Wilson Excursions also viewed

 
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Island Wilson Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing