We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$315
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
HolidayInn.comUS$315
ExpediaUS$315
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,000)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveller rating
1,370
479
97
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,370
479
97
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach house kids club water villa garden villa fish surf break outdoor shower complimentary snorkeling sunset cruise water sports local island special thanks hermit crabs boat transfer kids menu dive sites half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Fantastic resort in Maldives. Very well maintained. Awesome food with good varities. They have all the watersports. Very clean beaches and beautiful beach villas. Perfect place to visit. Perfect place for kids.

Room tip: Go for a all inclusive package as food is very expensive
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NatarajBadagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnResortKM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Dear NatarajBadagi,

Thank you for your review of your time with us at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives.

My team and I are delighted to see that you had a great time with us; we are especially delighted to see your recommendation to family travellers - being a family oriented brand, this is indeed high praise.

NatarajBadagi, thank you once more and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives very soon

Best regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Myself & wife stayed on the island the first week of July, amazing was the full experience, food, service, water sports & relaxing, it was like heaven, i highly recommend the island.
Take advantage of the driving on the island it is brilliant, make sure you collect your mask , snorkel & flipper from the activity centre, free while you are on the island.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank mcmanus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnResortKM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Dear mcmanus1966,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us earlier this year.

We are delighted to see your recommendation of our resort to other travellers and appreciate your sentiments of the services we provide. I couldn't agree with you more that the South Male Atoll is indeed a spectacular location for diving and with the great team at Euro Divers Kandooma, this is a MUST DO activity for all.

mcmanus1966, we thank you once more and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives very soon!

Best regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

It was a delightful experience for us and our grown up kids. We stayed an all inclusive holiday for 3 nights and made most of it. The island resort is beautiful, yet not so far from Male Airport. The Beach Villas are splendid with a sit out area, good bathrooms, open air shower and right on the beach. You can see clean blue waters from your bed! The resort is very friendly and minimal restrictions. The Stay Spiritted package has average quality alcohol choices but cocktails are great. Many places on the beach to relax. Great pool and water aerobics by Sam way was really fun, don't miss it. Restaurant has wide spread including an Indian counter for every meal. Beachside bar was efficient and happy to service. Thithi, in ad and Chef Kallim were worth appreciating for their good service with smiling face. All in all a great holiday we will always remember.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 108snehals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnResortKM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Dear 108snehals,

Thank you for your review of your time with us at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives.

My team and I are so happy to see that even though your stay with us was short - you and your family truly made the most of it! I shall certainly commend the team members that made your stay extra special - no doubt they will be delighted to see your appreciation.

108snehals thank you once more and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives very soon.

Best Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We have booked a stay at the Holiday Inn Kandooma between days 23 to 25/11/18 - the hotel indicated it accepted payment in japanese Yens , with which we would pay our stay. In order to avoid surprises we have asked by e-mail the total value of the stay in USD (the base currency used by the hotel) and Yens. On 05/11 we have received a response from Indi (from reservation desk) telling us "Regarding the calculation, kindly inform you due to fluctuation on exchange rate hence we are not able to calculate in advance. Total amount in Yen can be finalized on the day you settle all your payment following the exchange rate on that day. We are please to inform you that we accept Yen for cash payment".
Well given the current exchange rate was not provided but 'the exchange rate of the day' would be considered we trusted the good faith of the hotel of charging the current rate (even considering a 5 - 8% spread over the yen-dollar commercial rate).
First surprise : 2 days before our check-in date our credit card was charged the equivalent of USD198. we asked the reason as we had already informed payment was to be made in yens (cash). it seems it is a standard practice in this hotel, but we were not informed beforehand
Second surprise : when checking in we were asked to deposit a value ~30% higher than the projected cost of the stay beforehand. I have never seen this practice in any hotel in the US, Europe, Japan or Latin America. The balance would be returned later, but this is a serious issue for someone that was not expecting this. Again, we should have been warned beforehand.
Third and most unpleasant surprise: Today we closed our balance. We were expecting to pay a balance of USD1297 (already net of USD198 that were charged beforehand). The yen-dollar commercial exchange rate today is of 112.95 . I was expecting to be charged between 112.95 and at most 121,98 (8% spread). By exceeding by any account the limit of the reasonable we were presented with the exorbitant exchange rate of 138.88 yens to the dollar (23% of financial spread) - the USD1297 balance turned out to be around USD1595 for us, which begs the question : the fact that upon our previous inquiry the rate was not informed was actually an attempt to sneak an additional 23% charge on unsuspecting customers?
When complaining to the staff about all of this I was met with unsurprising indifference - I have never felt so ripped off in my entire life and do not intend to book never again any other stay with Holiday Inn.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ErickPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnResortKM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Dear ErikPol,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for allowing me the opportunity to address your concerns. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

In regards to the settlement of your final billing during your vacation and exchange rates provided at the resort, you felt were less competitive than the cyber available rates that you searched. As you are aware exchange rates in country is set by the local bank and only an administration fee is added by the establishment. This fee is NO means a revenue stream for the Resort but a means to facilitate the currency payment and conversion with the respective banking institution.

In your case you chose to settle your account via your credit card and not via cash payment. When settling your account with a credit card you also have the choice to pay in the local currency which is USD here or home denomination, both these exchange rates and fees are set by the local banking institution and not by the Resort.

Pre-authorization on credit cards is a common practice by many hotels & resorts. The pre-authorization charge at a nominal rate on the credit card to ensure the authenticity of the booking prior to arrival. This is a common practice internationally as is the deposit at check-in for incidental charges. In your case with the settling of your account at the Resort you chose to pay by credit card.

I feel it is important to note, that the Resort is more than willing to facilitate a reversal payment on guest credit cards. Sometimes guest wish to change credit cards types or even prefer to settle their account with cash in full instead. We are more than happy to oblige to these requests without delay or questions.

Once again ErikPol, my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, and I appreciate your feedback. I certainly hope that the above concerns communicated will not deter from your future stays with the brand, nor does it reflect the overall stay had as the exchange rates are not initiated by the Resort.

Best regards


Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2018

Am amazing stay. Lovely property with plentiful facilities. The staff were simply amazing.

Arrival at Airport:
Seamless transfer to the waiting boat. Safety briefing and drinks provided on-board.

Arrival at resort:
Whisked away to reception in a buggy. Towel and drinks waiting at the IHG Elite check-in table. Everything was explained meticulously.

Room:
No. 73, Over-water Villa. Clean, spacious room complete with everything you'll need for a comfortable stay. Outdoor bath tub, Maldivian sea at your balcony step and hammock to watch the sunrise everyday. 5-7 minutes walk from the OWV to the restaurant/pool area, buggy was always available on-call and will not have to wait for than 10 mins anytime.

Facilities:
Used the pool everyday along with the kids' club. Good mix of crowd and kids, my 7-year old made a few friends from Russia and S.Korea. We went for the Dolphin Cruise and were the only ones so it became a private cruise. Very lucky to spot lots of dolphins as well. Wanted to go for the Male City Tour, but did not meet the min. 6 pax required (maybe something for the tour operator to think about).

Food:
We were on the all-inclusive and ate mostly at Kandooma cafe. Food could be a hit-and-miss, but generally good. The deserts and ice-cream everyday was a hit with the kid. Kids' menu provided, and chef was happy to mix it up a bit after repeating for a few days (i.e. changing the grilled chicken to fried; swopping the greens with fries to make kiddo happy). Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely restaurant staff who works hard. Do not miss the sunset deck and The Kitchen too.

Staff:
Very friendly. Special thanks to Bandula for decorating the room and arranging a cake, knowing that it was our wedding anniversary.

Weather:
Weather was perfect for the 6 days we were here. Only a passing shower lasting a few minutes on one of the days.

Last Day:
Requested for extension of room till 6pm as flight only leaves at 10pm and was lucky the room was still available despite the hotel running at almost full capacity. Only hiccup was no communication between reception who registered the extension and the rest of the staff - got a call at 11am telling me that extension is not available; another call at 1145am asking if my luggage is ready for collection; a knock on the door at 1155am from bellboy wanting to collect my luggage. Little hiccups, but could be bothersome if you were swimming, showering etc.

A wonderful stay overall and we will be back.

Room tip: Room 73, Seaview water villa is perfect
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnResortKM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Dear SJS82,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives.

We are delighted to see that you and your family had a wonderful time with us and I am especially thrilled to see your appreciation of my team members.

We apologise for the miscommunication on the last day of your stay - rest assured that we have already addressed this with refresher trainings f to ensure there is no repeat of this.

SJS82, thank you once more and we cant wait to welcome you and your family back to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives very soon.

Best regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews