We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
479
46
5
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
46
5
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise villa private pool personal butler fashion show water villa our honeymoon villa manager special care the pool bar area baby sharks indoor bathroom fish boat schedule spa room romantic dinner memorable trip min boat ride
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Wow
I have been traveling a lot and the finolhu villa is one of the best hotel I have ever been.
Luxury resort with the best service you can imagen.
Starting with our personal butler Richard that taking care of all our needs taking care that we will have the best vacation we can get. Thanks Richard for giving us the best holiday we have ever had.
52 villa on a privet island give you the feeling that you are alone in the hotel it is so quiet and peaceful after few days you know the crew at the hotel and most important the crew already know what you like : where you want to seat at the restaurant what we like to drink and ……
At the main restaurant we had a great waiter "Rassel" so nice and Services.
I would defiantly would like to come again
Thank you Finolhu team for the great second honeymoon

Room Tip: the sunset vila has the best view at the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, General Manager at Club Med Finolhu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Sakalh,
We would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Finolhu for your recent holiday. It is awesome to hear that you say that Finolhu is the best resort you have ever visited!! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us so much! Congratulations on your second honeymoon!!
We appreciate your kind review as it motivates us to continuously provide a high standard of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
-The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This is possibly the most beautiful place on earth. The End.....

That is really how it is in Finolhu. Beautiful Island, with young inexperienced staff that do not reflect the price paid, or the standard expected. For honeymooners, this is the perfect place and you do not generally require much... For the rest we do expect service. The key to service on this island is the "Butler" that is assigned to you on arrival. Our butler "Boo" was really a postman, rather than a butler. Always uncontactable and came daily with the a flyer for the activities.

Now.. I appreciate that this is only one of the 20 butlers that appears daily to swoon their guests with service. When you sit though and observe this, it exacerbates this loss in service. Your butler is responsible for everything you want to do - Room service, spa, breakfast, tours. Remove the butler and it becomes a difficult place to stay.

Example: We have had breakfast in the room everyday. We have had the same breakfast in the room everyday.7am - Poached eggs, toast, juice, toast, fruit, butter. Each day one of the items in the list was missing. I mean I know its a lot to remember. Sometimes we did not even get breakfast so we had to go to the restaurant.... Arrival time was based upon the location mars and jupiter apparently.... or if the restaurant staff had had a big night and were all late for work (today) the entire island ran late......
The best though was "The Cheese Burger". Apparently no one told them about the burger... I just got cheese.....

I would say in general that around only 20% of the staff are qualified / trained for their position. Strong leaders in each area carry the weaker ones. Shaheem in the restaurant is a key person in it. On his day off it was like the Day of the Dead. People walking round lost without guidance.

Now, back to the story. Without good management, each staff member can do what appears to be a social media fest. There are buggy's that ferry you around... Well they drive up and down on facebook and ignore you unless you block them. Not once have we been asked would we like a lift. They also seems to be a vision issue. There are over 200 plastic bottles floating in the water and on the beach that I try and clean daily (see pix). They just walk past them like they are meant to be there. I have word to describe this: ignorance

Club Med - You have a great island that you are killing by ignorance and perceived autonomy. Please Please pick up your game before you kill and island......

Room Tip: Sunrise Villa 52 or Sunset Villa 51 (the best for privacy and sea life)
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
40  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

First of all I would like to thank Vikash and the team at Finolhu Villas for making our Honeymoon experience awesome we stayed in the sunset villas, the rooms and the views are first class and the service and food is a treat. I would definitely recommend the scuba diving experience with Otto was a real thrill. ✌️✈️

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lemos90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, General Manager at Club Med Finolhu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Lemos90,
We would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Finolhu for your recent holiday. It is great to hear you enjoyed the amazing scuba diving on offer around Finolhu. We hope you managed to see some Manta's!
We appreciate your feedback as it motivates us to continuously provide a high standard of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
-The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

The resort is like a paradise. Everything is luxury. The staff are really nice. Every staff just speak to you like friends. My butler Vishal Kelly arranged everything for me e.g. Room service breakfast, pick me up to restaurants, ... Me and my wife were just like king and queen. My wife left some stuff in the room before departure and my butler found it out so we didnt lose anything which is very nice.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeterC7159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, General Manager at Club Med Finolhu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Peter,

We would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Finolhu for your recent holiday. It is great to hear your lovely feedback about Vishal. I'll be sure to pass it onto him!

We appreciate your kind review as it motivates us to continuously provide a high standard of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
-The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Room

We stayed in a Sunset Lagoon Villa which was spacious, clean and well maintained. There were two TV's inside which we never used. However the portable bose (bluetooth) speaker was great to take out on the balcony while we had a swim in the ocean or pool.

The living space, bedroom and bathroom were all beautifully appointed and just as you see in all the photos. The housekeeping staff do a great job of keeping things clean and tidy.

There is a small minibar fridge with soft drinks for purchase. As others have mentioned, you can only get alcoholic drinks in the room if you order from the bar or room service which is very expensive.

Butler Service

We aren't really used to this level of service so we didn't know what to expect. It took us a couple of days to work out how to best utilise our butler Vikash. However as our stay progressed we realised that he truly wanted us to have the best possible experience and practically challenged us to come up with some special requests that he could help fulfil.

Vikash really was amazing and we feel like we got to know him and enjoyed his dedication, professionalism and personality (especially his sense of humour).

Food

We are really big foodies so were a little unsure about what to expect with an all inclusive resort. We were very satisfied and impressed with the variety and quality of food.

There are chefs working in Motu (the restaurant) that represent a variety of cultural backgrounds. We had some fantastic Chinese dishes that chef Kevin created at lunchtimes, which is a fancy buffet with 4 stations where the food is prepared fresh for you.

The highlight for us however were 2 nights where we had requested special meals. Our butler, Vikash is Mauritian and as he got to know what we liked he suggested that he could ask the restaurant to prepare us a Mauritian meal. We excitedly took up this offer and the result was very memorable. The food was outstanding and the staff were clearly excited to be serving us something they were proud of. It was one of the best curries we have ever tasted.

This brings us to Sandren, the funny, hospitable restaurant manger who we really enjoyed seeing each lunch and dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for Sandren and his team. Sandren often asked for feedback to ensure we had ample opportunity to make special requests or if something was not meeting our expectations.

A special mention also to Ali and Raoul, a couple of Sandren's waitstaff who provided great service.

Activities

The only included activity we really made use of was the snorkelling which we thoroughly enjoyed. This takes place twice a day and the staff that run the activities are really fun.

We also did 2 of the discovery activities. The blue lagoon tour, which took us to 2 excellent snorkelling spots and to a local fishing village was really worth doing. As was the half day lobster picnic. On this tour the guide took us to 2 snorkelling spots with a lobster BBQ on a private island in-between snorkelling locations. The tours were $230 USD and $215 USD per person which seems expensive however we are really glad we did these as we are keen snorkelers and the locations we went to were stunning.

We also had a couples treatment at the day spa which we would recommend as it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, General Manager at Club Med Finolhu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Ghai K,
We would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Finolhu for your recent holiday.
We are glad you enjoyed your romantic pool-side dinner! I'll be sure to pass on your satisfaction to Kelly.
We really appreciate the time you took to write your kind review and give us all your feedback as it motivates us to continuously provide a high standard of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
-The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews