We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
US$686
View deal
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,363)
Filter reviews
2,363 results
Traveller rating
2,083
179
55
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,083
179
55
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetarian restaurant street food sunset bar kids club sea plane junior suite fish main restaurant buggy drivers special thanks hire bikes pool villa buggy service male airport mini bar tennis coach special mention
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 2,363 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2021

From the moment we stepped onto this beautiful island,we were greeted and welcomed by the most hospitable staff who went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one.
We were excited to travel after the pandemic. All our expectations were met in terms of comfort ,hospitality,relaxation and cuisine
We stayed in the Water Villas with a pool. It was beautifully decorated and the bathrooms were spacious.
The beaches and pools were stunning.
Special thanks to Ms Mei,Sandy,Tjijender,Saalim,Abdullah,Ambika,Sunandar and all the staff that were so friendly and helpful at all times.
The Island is very big and a buggy is required to move around.
All the restuarants served delicious food .Especially Just Veg-I didnt think that vegetables could taste so good. Lunch at the Sunset Restaurant was also very good. Everything was appetising and very tasty.
We will definitely recommend this resort to all our friends in South Africa.

Room tip: watervillas with pool is ideal
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shaeedas2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmosphere Kanifushi, Other at Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Dear Shaeeda S,

Sunny Greetings from Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.

Getting through your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us makes our day, each and every experience was beautifully described the property so well from the quality of our food & beverage, your villa, and exceptional service provided by islanders we are blessed to have a very talented team of brilliant staff that enhance our resort tremendously, I will surely share your feedback with all the Kanifushi Islanders especially to all those name mentioned.

As always, it has been a great pleasure having you on our beautiful island, we would love to have you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mei P. Pun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

I were there with big corporate client and we were all in sunset beach villas. Everyone from the hotel shows care and ability to assist even you dont need.
Special thanks to MS.Mei, Mr.Raman and all good people there.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmosphere Kanifushi, Other at Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Dear Petar Stoyanov,

Sunny Greetings from Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was wonderful and that everyone contributed to you having such a memorable and magical time. My team and I truly appreciate your kind words on our exceptional level of hospitality, we always worked at every stage to ensure our guests are comfortable and provided by their needs.

As always, it has been a great pleasure having you on our beautiful island, we would love to have you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mei P. Pun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We stayed at Kanifushi for 12 days in the middle of May, 2021. We were so excited to travel after the long pandemic. After much research, we selected Atmosphere Kanifushi for the reviews, accommodations, and the fact that they have five different restaurants. Since we were traveling such a long way (30 hours) and were going to be staying for an extended period of time, having multiple dining options was very important to us. Overall, we were blown away by the property, the food, and, most importantly, the staff and service.

Service
We cannot say enough about the level of service we received throughout our stay. From the moment we walked off the seaplane, and were greeted by our GRO, Arif, we felt welcomed and unbelievably cared for. While our arrival was during an unusually heavy downpour of rain and our room had taken on water as a result, the staff immediately attended to the situation, making sure that we were safe and comfortable.

We were amazed that everywhere we went on the island, each employee (and we mean EVERY employee) greeted us with warm welcomes. The staff at Kanifushi goes above and beyond at every level to make each guest feel special. They take great pride and consider it an honor to serve every guest.

We cannot say enough about Arif, our GRO we mentioned earlier. He ensured that every request, from items in the mini-fridge to dinner reservations, was met and that every day exceeded our expectations. It's obvious that Mei, the General Manager of the resort, is doing a fantastic job of running the property and coaching her staff. She maintains a high level of attention to detail. And she made herself present everyday. We had many interactions with her. We have been to resorts all over the world where we never see the GM once.

Accommodations
We selected the Over Water Sunset Villa with Pool. We read some reviews that the pool wasn't worth it. Don't kid yourself, the pool is beyond worth it. Coming back after dinner and swimming under the stars in your own pool is magical. Not to mention, an early morning dip before you start your day. There is also access from the deck into the ocean. One of your toughest decisions will be pool? Or Ocean? And why not both.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and modern. The bathrooms, while not air conditioned (that could be an improvement), are big, picturesque, and lovely, complete with windows to the ocean outside, as well as the ocean below. The mini-fridge in the room is well stocked with beer, wine, and snacks. And it is replenished twice a day. You can also request what you want more of or less of. We, however, are vodka drinkers, and they gave us two one liter bottles for our visit. Although be aware that in order to get ice, you have to order it from room service (this could be an improvement). Having near by ice machines would have been great.

Dive Shop
We are avid divers and were very much looking forward to diving in one of the world's premiere dive spots. The staff at the dive shop were perfect. They were island laid back, but extremely professional with great attention to detail. They took our equipment at the beginning of our stay and kept it at the dive shop. Everything was waiting for us on the dive boat each day. In addition to the professionalism of the dive masters, the boat crew were also amazing. On our first dive, as we were putting on our gear, the boat crew took our fins and put them on for us. We have never seen this kind of attention to service on dive boats.

Food
As seasoned travelers who have been at many all-inclusive resorts, we have never encountered an all-inclusive with this level of food. The buffet selection at Spice changes daily. The theme nights were beyond our expectations, with the Indian Ocean Night being the highlight. The light lunches at Sunset were delightful. Dinner at Pier Six was a culinary seafood extravaganza. And, we cannot express how surprised we were that we loved Just Veg, the all vegetarian restaurant, as much as we did. As devout carnivores, we couldn't believe that we went there twice, and chose to have our final dinner there. In general, we experienced tastes and cuisines that we didn't know existed.

Spa
A quick shout out to the incredible women at the spa. We had multiple treatments and highly recommend that couples experience the Couples' Massage with two therapists per person. Having two people massage you at the same time will blow your mind, and you will thank us later.

We cannot recommend Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives enough. Just stop searching and book it!!!
We cannot be back quickly enough.

Hope you found this helpful as we found other reviews helpful when we were booking.

Cheers

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank krystoferd2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmosphere Kanifushi, Other at Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Dear RydoBurr,

Sunny Greetings from Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing detailed review. We know there are plenty of choices in the Maldives, and with your careful planning and research, we are extremely pleased that you chose Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives for your holiday this time.

Getting through your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us makes our day, each and every experience was beautifully described from the quality of our food & beverage, your villa, our platinum plus offerings, Spa and water adventure which had thrilled our hearts, my team and I truly appreciate your kind appreciation on our exceptional level of hospitality.

Once again thank you for leaving this feedback and for your commendation, your review will be helpful to all our prospective guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back whenever you plan your next visit to our paradise.

Best Regards,
Mei P. Pun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We were lucky that our first trip to Maldives was to Atmosphere Kanifushi, we spent 3 nights at beach villa, and 3 nights at water villa, our stay was more comfortable than we expect, the staff were very expert, everything is easy with them.
Hope that i can give them more rating stars,
Thank you for all and specially Saba, you made my trip memorable

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mohamad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmosphere Kanifushi, Other at Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Dear Mohamad Yazigi,

Sunny Greetings from Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives!

We are delighted to read that your stay at Atmosphere Kanifushi was amazing and that everyone contributed to you to have such a memorable experience, we are blessed to have a very talented team of brilliant staff that enhance our resort tremendously, I will surely share your feedback with all the Kanifushi Islanders.

As always, it has been a great pleasure having you on our beautiful island, we would love to have you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mei P. Pun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

After having not traveled in nearly in a year and a half(well, abroad and on a plane I mean), my wife and I have spent a lot of time researching where our first proper holiday should be and, after agreeing on The Maldives, we set about looking at all the resorts there. When I say all, I pretty much mean all! We deliberated on what was important to us and it was always about the quality of the lodgings, F&B offerings and price. We didn’t want to scrimp on the price but basically wanted to ensure we were getting good value. I can hand on heart say we definitely found the level of quality we wanted, perhaps even better, for a price that I still can’t believe from Atmosphere Kanifushi. We opted for the Premium All Inclusive package and this included EVERYTHING, the best of drinks from Grey Goose to single malts to Allan Scott wines(from a vineyard that my wife and I had visited previously), even the seaplane was included with this package, something you would normally expect to pay $500+ per person for other resorts.

The arrival process through Male Airport was pretty smooth, we were met by a hotel rep and were whisked to the seaplane check in and relieved of our luggage. Then we were taken to Atmosphere’s own lounge at the seaplane port but were only there for around 30 mins before taking off to the island. The journey itself is quite an experience, amazing sights of holiday islands, working islands and reef’s being seeded and preserved. Although it is a little cramped you don’t get time to notice because it only takes 35 mins to get to Kanifushi. The greeting we received when we got there felt so special, a bit superstarish, with a parade of the staff, drummers and welcome flowers to take us from the jetty to the reception area. A welcome drink awaited us when we got to reception and we were paired up with your guest relations host Aliya, who was incredibly friendly and helpful. Even the manager of the hotel, Mae, took the time to introduce herself and make herself available to us if and when we might need her during our stay, nice touch.

Once the formalities where complete we were whisked off to our Sunset Water Villa by buggy(the island is 2.4m in length so buggies are a must). We had a water villa with pool and the whole entry to this was jaw dropping, from the quality and size of the room to the view from the balcony and pool, simply spectacular. We were introduced to the service staff that looked after the cleanliness, the minibar and our well being while we were in the villa. To be honest, I think we lucked out here because this is where we met Prakash. He asked us many questions about what we liked in terms of times we usually go out from the villa, the drinks we liked and when we wanted the minibar to be replenished, he even did this whilst pouring us a glass of prosecco! He was such a friendly gentleman who fell over himself to assist us, with pretty much any request, throughout our stay. Just a small tip on giving a small tip , the service staff at Atmosphere are good at their jobs, regardless, however a small tip to them goes a very long way in terms of ensuring the fridge in your room is always full with the things you want and that anything you need is just a few minutes away from a phone call. This experience of being shown around such stunning room by such a friendly member of stuff created such an impression on us that we immediately decided to extend our stay. I’m glad we did because I think it was that night we spent an hour on our balcony watching a pod of dolphins frolicking in the sea just beyond our breakwater, probably the highlight of our whole stay.

We then spend an hour or so of the first day with our guest relations host, Aliya, who advised us on the activities and schedule for our stay. She had taken the time to book us on a few boat trips, 1 sunset cruise and a fishing trip as well as lunch/dinner reservations at the various eateries on the island. She gave us her mobile contact number so that we could drop her a message at anytime. Then we went on a personal tour of the island with her so that we could familiarise ourselves with the location of everything. Once we had seen everything we decided to get dropped off at the adults only pool in the Sunset Bar.

The Sunset Bar and adults only pool are located at the eastern part of the island and has a very chilled feel with great views over the water villas and jetty. Its particularly cool when the seaplanes are taking off right over you and in the evening for sunset. The floor of the bar is all sand and feels great under foot when you get out of the pool for a drink. Although the quality of food was good at this bar, the choices were a bit limited but, as its an adult only area, the drinks were great!

At any point during a stay at Atmosphere you can go and collect snorkeling gear from the activities/dive hut. Again, this is all included in the price of the package so no additional rental costs. In fact, all the non-motorised watersports were included so kayaking, sailing, paddleboards etc. We spent part of the second day snorkeling outside our water villa(there was steps leading directly into the sea from the balcony). Although there was a bit of marine life visible, it was quite limited in the variety of what we saw. We then tried the snorkeling off the jetty and were totally wowed but what we saw, from wrasse, rays, beltfish to eels and even a huge pufferfish, it was totally alive with marine life. The reef and coral was so vibrant in colour and complexity, we were mesmerised by all of it. Although a little small in terms of the area it is a must to see, probably best in early morning but you will not be disappointed at any time of day.

Previous experiences of All Inclusive package holidays have left my wife and I feeling a little disappointed but this was certainly not the case here. As I mentioned, it’s the very best of brands when it comes to the drinks. The liquid bar at the main pool is a great place to experience some of these. We even decided not to have coffee with our breakfast one morning because the espresso martinis were so good at the pool. Its not just the drinks but also the food is so well prepared and presented. The buffet at spice had everything from lobster to bacon to eggs everyway. It always seemed to be open so you could eat your way through the whole day if you wanted. Our favourite place to eat was Just Veg, which was a real surprise to us carnivores. We tried pretty much every dish on the menu and said after each one that we would have that again! Each dish is lovingly prepared and comes to your table with a sense of presentation that was simply theatrical. Try the veg skewers and you will see what I mean! At this point I really must point out and thank Venky from the service staff at Just Veg. He was so knowledgeable about every dish and encouraged us to try things we would normally pick. Such a friendly and humble gentleman that spent so much time with us explaining not just the food but the environment we were in, the ocean and the culture of The Maldives. He really made every visit to Just Veg feel like we were going round to a friends house that was a really good chef! Also as part of our package we were invited to a more cordon bleu dinner at Pier Six. It was indeed that, very fine dining with high quality food and wines in an amazing environment. Quite possibly the best surf and turf I have ever had whilst watching so much sea life around the restaurant.

I want to conclude my review with what some people might consider to be cliché but I have never seen it so prevalent as I did here. The resort and Atmosphere really is made by the staff. You can see from all of them that they are happy in what they are doing and have nothing on their mind except your wellbeing. This is evident from the GM, Mae, who was always visible around the resort, day and night, taking feedback from all the guests, to the service staff that clean your room. I commend them all. I’d like to pay a special thanks to the doctor onsite. Not only does he have to do PCR tests for everyone every day but also had to give my wife and I some attention. I had a reaction to sun cream and my wife needed some medication for a minor tummy issue. He cycled over to our villa during a dramatic rain storm to personally deliver this medication, thank you!

Visited in May 2021 as part of my wife’s birthday celebration and cannot wait to go back. If you are thinking about booking this resort then don’t, there is no need because you will not find a better option in the whole of the Maldives!

Room tip: Sunset Water Villas With A Pool.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank RydoBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmosphere Kanifushi, Other at Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Dear RydoBurr,

Sunny Greetings from Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing detailed review. We know there are plenty of choices in the Maldives, and with your careful planning and research, we are extremely pleased that you chose Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives for your holidays this time.

Getting through your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us makes our day, each and every experience has beautifully described the property from the quality of our food & beverage, your villa, platinum plus offerings, and water adventure which had thrilled our hearts, my team and I truly appreciate your kind appreciation on our exceptional level of hospitality.

Once again thank you for leaving this feedback and for your commendation your review will be helpful to all our prospective guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back whenever you plan your next visit to our paradise.

Best Regards,
Mei P. Pun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews