We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pension Papahani(Maupiti Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Pension Taputea(Maupiti Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
181
75
15
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
75
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne mariepolynesian stylemanta raysbora borafishself cateringdining areaperfect locationreefjamsbungalowguestsmaupitiinteractionmotukayakparadise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

A nice little 4 bungalow pension run by a couple who genuinely care about, and enjoy interacting with, their guests. French is the dominant lingua franca but English is also spoken well here, which sets it apart from most Maupiti pensions. The bungalows are clean and well furnished and well-built in an old-school Polynesian style with lots of woven bamboo. A guide book referred to them as "a bit ramshackle" and that's not inaccurate. There's a nice lounge and dining area and a unique viewing platform looking East over the reef, past the whales (which are close enough to be heard as well as seen), toward Bora Bora. Breakfast of fresh island fruit, local bread and jams and coffee, hit the spot, and the fresh island fish-centric dinners were superb. The bad news is that this review has an expiration date. After 15 years of running the pension, they are switching to self-catering bungalow rental next year to see how that works. If that appeals to you, keep in mind that the motu has no markets, restaurants, or snacks. Planning ahead will be important.

Room Tip: closer to the beach = more breeze = fewer mozzies.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TwoAmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We stayed at Le Kuriri for 4 nights, Nov. 17-21, 2017. We were so happy that we chose to stay here and to visit Maupiti. It is the perfect vision of the non-touristy, French Polynesian island. Quiet, white sand, secluded beaches for walking; warm, crystal clear water for snorkelling; placid lagoon for kayaking, and a lovely small Main Island to visit. As Le Kuriri is on a motu, you feel you have really left the rest of the world behind, it truly is an idyllic location.

Le Kuriri is situated so that you have access to the lagoon on the ocean side, breezy and perfect for snorkelling with lots of fish and some harmless reef sharks, and the main lagoon on the other side, formed by all the motu, perfect for kayaking. You can swim in both areas, but there are some currents you will be notified about.

The bungalows are lovely and spacious, open to the lovely breezes, have terrific bathrooms with the most exotic outdoor shower with stone floor and plants off to one side, open to the outside, yet totally private, at least our bungalow had this. The beds have mosquito netting, so no problem with sleeping. If you spent any nights in Papeete, you will notice a profound change!

Le Kuriri owners, Anne-Marie & Camille are very ready to ensure your days are as planned as you want them to be.....active or lazy....they will make it happen. They speak both French and thankfully, English, which for us was terrific. They are well travelled and so willing to share their experiences of sailing the world, but eager to hear from you as well. This mostly happens at the communal dinner table that was the evening highlight for us, meeting other guests and hearing about their travels. They would both do their best to make sure the French was translated for us, a tedious process for them I'm sure, but so lovely for us.

The food was different every evening and was beautifully prepared and presented. Always a starter, a main, usually fish, but not always, and a dessert. There was no dinner that wasn't excellent and everyone's plates were cleaned. The breakfasts are served over a 2 hour period and you come when you want. Lots of fruit and those wonderful little buns that we ate too many of, along with excellent coffee. Filtered water is provided free of charge and as much as you want, so lovely to not have to constantly buy bottled water!

They have single and double kayaks, snorkel gear including fins, and are very happy to take you in one of their boats if you wish to visit the Main Island. We did all these things and can highly recommend them all.

But the absolute highlight for us was when Camille took us out to snorkel with the manta rays in the lagoon. This is something you will remember for the rest of your life. My husband is not keen on deep water, but he was not missing this, so don't hesitate. The manta are so massive, graceful, and majestic, it is an enormous privilege to be in their presence. Many, many thanks Camille!

And thank you both, Anne-Marie and Camille for hosting so perfectly. An example to many!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This is an opportunity to immerse yourself in the European "pension culture" in one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Imagine a bed and breakfast with dinner; as you are "invited" to dine at the same table with fellow pensioners and are served a meal of your host's choice. Such an amazing experience to meet new people from all over the world and enjoy incredible local French Polynesian cuisine. We ate some of the freshest mahi mahi I've ever had from a menu that had multiple gourmet courses. Also I can't say enough about how we were welcomed, encouraged, and enjoyed feeling at home as a guest. At the same time I cannot recommend Le Kuriri enough, please understand that this is not an air conditioned commercial resort. Our functionally furnished cabana was entirely open air with mosquito netting around the bed and a bathroom whose shower area was open to the sky but privately fenced. The prevailing sea breeze off the lagoon came through our cabana 24 hours a day and kept things cool day and night. As rustic as this might sound we still had a flush toilet, running water, inline propane heated showers, and the grounds are entirely powered entirely by solar. If this sounds as awesome as it was, come to Le Kuriri, we loved every minute as a guest and can't thank our host enough for sharing their home!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DVMFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 nights at Le Kuriri. The bungalow was in a perfect location to feel the ocean breeze. The location occupies a space between the lagoon/Maupiti side and the barrier reef/ocean side. It was amazing to see the waves crashing on the barrier reef but still be able to explore the calm waters on the ocean side inside the reef. The dinners were delicious with very nice sauces to accompany the fish. We also enjoyed the dessert. Camille took us to see the manta rays which was amazing. We were able to swim along side three of them. We really appreciated the complimentary drinking water and kayaks. Overall we had a fantastic stay in Maupiti. Thank you to Camille and Anne Marie for sharing their spot on paradise. Just a few tips for other travelers - if you tend to eat a lot of small meals/snacks throughout the day or are used to big breakfasts, you might find it helpful to bring along some peanut butter, granola bars or similar snacks.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We stayed 4 nights in the bungalow facing the sea. Amazing view to wake up with!
We loved the food and the owners were very friendly, recommending us many activities which allowed us to make the best out of our short stay in Maupiti.

The atmosphere at the pension was great. Everyone gathered for dinner, which was a nice moment to each share our daily adventures.

Our only regret is not having stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nils M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews