We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
183
75
15
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
75
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne marie polynesian style manta rays bora bora fish self catering dining area perfect location reef jams bungalow guests maupiti interaction motu kayak paradise
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2015

The bungalow was the most charming and comfortable we stayed in during our 4-weeks in French Polynesia: particularly the bathroom which was pure rustic bliss. The food and wine were top quality and the conversations always stimulating thanks to Camille's excellent library and stories. Great dive with the Giant Mantas, canoes to the Motu, walks along the beach. Perfect.

Room Tip: Closer to beach = less mosquitoes
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

During our time Anne Marie and Camille were amazing hosts. Fabulous trips to see the Manta's, snorkelling and exploring Maupiti. The weather was great and the views over Bora Bora at breakfast were amazing.

The food was out of this world. The fresh tuna, Mahi Mahi, fruit, gratin were all restaurant quality.

The location on the Motu was just stunning and if you are after somewhere to wind down and recharge the batteries this is the place for you.

We will always remember our time and the 'black pearl' will bring back great memories. Sorry to leave Durga behind as he always came with us when we swam on for a walk around the island.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank alanhelenabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

It's all to easy to forget whilst staying here that you are a paying guest and not visiting distant relatives as you are made to feel so welcome and at home.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and charmingly rustic. Food is delicious and Anne-Marie & Camille are excellent hosts. Not to mention their gorgeous dog Durga who is great company and endlessly entertaining.
Perhaps it does not face the most picturesque side of the motu but it is more than compensated for by the cooling sea winds and you can be on the lagoon side in about 60 seconds anyway.
One word of warning - the mosquitoes are relentless and will happily eat you during the day as well as dusk til dawn......
All in all had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2014
2  Thank HadieSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Let us start with a big thank you to Camille and Anne-Marie, the owners, for their warm welcome, the quality of the atmosphere they create, the setting that makes you feel light-years away from stress and artificial luxury. Everything here is genuine, from the people, to the island itself, and neighboring islands/beaches you can kayak or swim to. We saw manta rays, superb corals, and you took hundreds of pictures of sunsets and sunrises on either side of the island. Our children felt at home and enjoyed the kindness of the owners as much as we did. If you plan any stay in Polynesia, do not miss Kuriri and Maupiti's authenticity. It is worth every dollar.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FrRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Our gracious hosts, Camille and Anne Marie ensured our stay at Le Kuriri was enjoyable, comfortable, and entertaining. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the Maupiti airport located on one of Maupiti's 5 Motus, outer islands on the reef surrounding the main island.

We were taken by launch to the Le Kuriri Pension where we were briefed on the grounds, how things were laid out, what excursions to expect if we so chose, then shown to our bungalow. Ours happened to be closest to the beach so we were gently cooled by the trade winds. By walking the short distance (10 meters or so) to the beach overlook, we were able to see the islands of Bora Bora, Taha'a, and Riatea in the distance.

Le Kuriru offers free Wi-Fi, however, the reception area is confined to the dining and breakfasts area. It's really not a bother. I prefer to be disconnected 98% of the time anyway. That said it's nice to let family know you are safely ensconced in paradise.

By selecting the half board rate, we were provided a breakfast of delicious fruit, juice, and coffee as well as delicious dinners of fish and meat, mostly fish given where you are located.

Camille and Anne-Marie and their staff knew how much we enjoyed coffee in the morning upon awakening so they sent us to bed each night with our own thermos of coffee and creamer for the morning. The coffee was still piping hot every morning.

Camille had captivating stories of his days as a sailor before he and Anne-Marie settled in at Le Kuriri. He made certain to offer up a suggestion for excursions each day. A couple of days were overcast and rainy but it did not dampen our spirits nor their desire to ensure their guests enjoyed their time at Le Kuriri. Eventually, the weather cleared and the excursions went on as if it had never rained. The excursion to NOT miss is the one where you snorkel over the cleaning stations for the giant Manta rays. Of course I saw the largest one on the day I did not have my GoPro with me. I did this excursion 3 times in the 10 days we spent on Maupiti so I had other opportunities to film the Mantas.

Le Kuriri has a fine library in the dining bungalow where we all gathered for our nightly cocktail hour before dinner was served. Many books of sailing stories, reproductions of the charts used by Captain James Cook, and many others.

In an unusual situation for us for a couple of days, only Camille, Anne-Marie, me, and my mate, were English speakers. The rest of the guests spoke only French. There were the meager attempts by me and another guest to attempt a feeble conversation until we discovered that the two of us spoke enough Spanish to communicate! After discovering that, we were thoroughly entertained speaking Spanish to each other then translating for our respective mates.

All in all, Le Kuriri will remain as a wonderful memory and a grand experience with abundant snorkeling out in front of the Pension in water not more than waist deep. Maupiti is like Bora Bora was in 1982 when I arrived on my first of 18 trips to Tahiti. Tahiti is my favorite spot in the world for a relaxing vacation. Le Kuriri will be a destination for me on future trips to Tahiti.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bungalows closest to the beach to ensure a nice cooling breeze. The other bungalows are in a beautiful garden setting but don't always get the full effect of the ocean breezes.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 318billa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews