We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
431
394
116
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
394
116
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting outdoor pool train station cooking class figline valdarno breakfast room opening hours great history small town stepping back in time small shower perfect setting middle ages amazing building scrambled eggs and bacon food for breakfast an easy minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing building from 14th century with great history, which they tell you during the wine tasting activity. It is close to the trainstation to firenze/roma and @ chianti wine road. Food is great and staff extreamly friendly. You can use 2 pools and there is also a wellnes area

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Breakfast was taken outside in beautiful courtyard. Figline valdarno is a pleasant town with good restaurants and connection to Florence by train.( Two stops on fast train) wine tasting experience was well worth the money as it included tour of 13th century part of the hotel complex. Good for a few nights touring the Florence area. Lovely swimming pool complex over the road although surprised to pay extra for sunbeds and umberellas. Difficult place to leave behind as it was perfect for four middle age travellers

Stayed: July 2018
Thank middleagetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

As a family of 5 looking for a relaxing 2 week holiday in Tuscany we chose this hotel based upon the numerous complimentary reviews the hotel had received, but sadly the hotel did very little to live up to its hype. I can only assume the majority of visitors stay at the hotel for a very short period of time so do not have long enough to contemplate the many drawbacks of this hotel. Although the hotel is indeed beautiful it is sadly not maintained.
The hotel says there is wifi but please be warned - the wifi does not work. It is desperately slow and completely unusable. They do not even offer one English speaking channel on the TV so if you do like to relax and use technology at all - it is barely possible. If you want to stay healthy and use the gym be warned this is a deeply basic one and is in a terrible condition with ancient machines and no air con. We had to beg for a fan to be installed which was granted grudgingly.
To use the main outdoor swimming pool you have to pay 5 euros per day. For our family of 5 staying for 2 weeks this meant we had to pay an additional 350 euros extra just to swim and laze by the pool! This is not mentioned on their website.
In regards to the half board option - we took this assuming this would be the easiest way to feed our family in the evening. What a mistake! The menu does not change at all. There are no daily specials so you will learn the menu by heart within a few days. In addition to this, over half of what is offered on the half board menu incurs an additional charge so we had to pay constantly for meals that were supposed to have been covered by the half board payment.
I realise this review reads dismally but I want to give an honest review of what we experienced and had we read more of these it would perhaps have prevented us from making the mistake of thinking that this hotel would be a good option for a 2 week family holiday. I am sure that this hotel would be great for people wanting only a 2 day stay as a base to explore the area from, but as a family vacation option for any length of time - I would strongly advise against this.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank slk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa2010, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Casagrande, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear slk83,
we are sorry to learn that your stay at Villa Casagrande has been below your expectations. This said we need to clarify some points you reported to our attention.
This is an ancient building with thick walls and besides our effort in few spots wifi signal is not very strong; this doesn’t mean it’s not working. However we are working on wifi net to improve it.
We have several english speaking channels on tv. Maybe in your room the previous guest cancelled some of them. None reported us this problem so actually we were not aware of this issue otherwise we should have fixed it.
Both our swimming pools are totally free for our guests. The 5€ fee is for renting sunbeds, towels and umbrella, not for entering the outdoor one.
For your next trip we suggest to send an email to the structure with all your requests and needs before booking a room; especially when it’s a not refundable reservation. We still hope that after all, your stay here was not as bad as it appear from your review as the rest of your family showed us appriciation for the structure and for our assistance.
We really hope you will give us another chance to amaze you.
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing stay in this beautiful villa. Stayed only 2 days and we loved the room, breakfast and the indoor pool as well the grounds. We walked from the train station after short ride from Florence. We also rented a car from Hertz 20 min walk from the hotel and explored the Chianti region. Overall I would highly recommend this quiet villa. The town has plenty of small bars and restaurants and is 5 min walk.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kochanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Villa Casagrande,
The perfect spot to relax and enjoy the gastronomic delights along with wine-tasting tour where you receive a beautiful history of the villa and its owners, and wonderful wine-tasting experience too))
My stay was made particularly enjoyable by the service received from the staff, who did everything they could to ensure that I had a lovely time! Credit must be given to both Jonas and Damiano from the concierge team who were very very patient, and amazing with me))
The swimming pool gave the villa another layer offering stunning views and delicious seafood))
All in all, a must-visit destination!☺

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinegreer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews