We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
272
37
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
37
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river shuttle bus beautiful hotel main building breakfast buffet linen sheets tuscan hills every hour top notch first class attention to detail wine tasting sister hotel the wait staff city centre junior suite visiting florence
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

As our last name is Massa... so of course we had to stay at this hotel 12 years ago when we first heard of it! We returned this July - welcomed by several staff who remembered us from our first trip as if we were family and had been away too long! If only we could call it home more frequently! The staff is impeccable... every detail is handled and you are simply left with the peacefulness of relaxing and enjoying! Tamara Trambusti is a fabulous concierge who personally planned our Vow Renewal ceremony in the wonderful small chapel on the property.... all I had to do was ask for her help planning via email before our trip and answer a few of her questions about our preferences and she did the rest! It was magnificent... a memory that will never be forgotten (thankfully the photographer she arranged ensured that as well!) We enjoyed a tasting menu on the beautiful patio overlooking the Arno that evening - treated like royalty and yet made to feel so very much like family! The food was fabulous.... truly the best of our whole visit in Italy! The chef even helped arrange a visit for us to a local winery called La Massa on another day! We loved breakfasts on the restaurant terrace each morning with a wonderful buffet and several evenings enjoyed drinks alongside the river as well. As wonderful as the Tuscan views are from this property....the inside is not to be missed. The bar area is a cozy and the staff great. The interior lobby atrium is old world but airy and bright. And our 2 bedroom suite was a great size with views and perfectly furnished. The bathrooms were amazing! Large American size plus showers and a so much space!
We used the shuttle one morning to go into Florence ... but it was so nice to escape back to Villa La Massa when they picked us back up and enjoy the peacefulness after the tourist crowds.

We cannot thank Tamara and the rest of the staff enough for treating us like family and making us feel so much at home! Villa La Massa is not to be missed on your stay in the Tuscany area... but it will be missed by us until we can call it home again!

Room Tip: Rooms with the Arno river view are wonderful... but the gardens and property are all beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank massafamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, General Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Mrs. Massa,

On behalf of the entire team of Villa La Massa, I would like to say thank you very much for your kind review!

I am glad to know that you have so much enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with your accommodation and our service; Rest assured that our purpose is to take care of the minimum detail in order to make our Guests stay a memorable one.

I am sure that people make the difference and I will let know all our team about your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing Villa La Massa and sharing your positive experience with us and I am looking forward to meet you again at "your home away from home" in a not to distance future.

Sincerely Yours,

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. The staff was very helpful from beginning to the end of our stay. The rooms vey spacious with a walk in closet and marbled bathroom. The property is so beautiful and the views are breathtaking. They have a free shuttle to take you into the city. If you take a taxi it would be $35 one way, so very helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Spreads of meats cheeses. Cereal, fruit, eggs sausage etc. and the view at breakfast is something magical. There is a horse riding company that works with the hotel.only $40-45 an hr. Very convenient considering where im from its $150 an hr. The riding trail gave us a view of florence we would have never seen. It was spectacular.hotel has a spa too. Very nice. This hotel will not disappoint you. I want to come back again soon.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bsromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, General Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us in occasion of your honeymoon.

We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with your accommodation, our service, the environment, the food and location of our Villa.

No need to say that, I will make sure that all the team will be informed of your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing Villa La Massa and sharing your positive experience with us and I am looking forward to meet you again at our Tuscan Villa in a not to distance future.

Sincerely Yours,

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We spent a few nights at Villa La Massa before venturing to the heart of Florence. We wish we had spent more time at this Villa though. The tranquility and peacefulness was matched by the best customer service we have ever encountered. From the restaurant staff to the concierge, everyone was amazing. The extra special amenities made us feel welcome from the start of our stay. Our extra spacious suite overlooked the river and was very quiet.
The restaurant was amazing! My husband ordered the steak one night and it was the best he has ever had. We also loved the zucchini blossom appetizer. The breakfast buffet offered a number of wonderful options.
The concierge arranged an amazing private wine tour for us. Our driver was informative and very pleasant.
I really enjoyed the spa and the massage therapist was incredible! The outdoor track/park area was perfect for an am run.
This is honestly the best hotel/villa we have ever encountered. The next time we are in this part of Italy, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eastergal805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, General Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our Hotel Guests and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with your accommodation and our service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Florence,

Sincerely Yours,

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 days at the Villa La Massa located in a quiet place near the Arno river and 15' away from the heart of Florence. Our room on the top floor was spacious with a nice view over Florence and the river. It had all the amenities one can expect from this kind of hotel (good wi-fi connection too). The restaurant too offers very good food and service is perfect. We had all our dinners there as this was a moment of rest after the visits we did in bustling Florence. In short, a great place away from the city yet close enough to reach it easily (there are shuttles leaving from the hotel to the city every hour). We can recommend it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Petrus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, General Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor, we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to know about your compliments regarding our location, food and Hotel facilities.

Thank you again for choosing Villa La Massa and sharing your positive experience and we look forward again to the pleasure of your visit on the shores of the Arno river in a not to distance future,

Sincerely yours,

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My husband, 13 year old daughter and I stayed here June 14-19. This is a beautiful, small Tuscany hotel with excellent service. We had 2 rooms joined together by a bathroom. There was ample room for the 3 of us. The bathroom was situated so that someone could be showering while others were using the double sinks and have total privacy. The grounds are immaculate and the restaurant top notch. We had the breakfast buffet every morning which had so much to offer. They have a gorgeous outdoor seating area that overlooks the river. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant twice, once trying the tasting menu and the other ordering off the regular menu. Both were excellent! There was also plenty for our daughter to eat with her picky American taste buds! The staff was very accommodating and we enjoyed sitting by the river on a few evenings with a drink. The hotel is about 20 minutes from downtown Florence. They have a shuttle that runs pretty often, but we took a cab on a few occasions which cost about 30 euros each way (something to consider). We enjoyed being "in the country" as you do feel like you've gotten away from the hustle of Florence. The front desk was extremely helpful and always attentive. I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, General Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to read your detailed review following your stay at Villa La Massa.

Many thanks for your comments regarding our location, setting, food, shuttle service, accommodation and also for your kind words to the service our team provided you that I have passed these on to them.

We all hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Achille Di Carlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews