We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
189
108
23
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
108
23
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Having won a voucher for a nights' stay we decided to use it on our wedding anniversary and looked forward to going as it as it was very different to our usual choice of hotel.
We were given a lovely welcome in the warm and cosy reception area before being taken to our cabin which we found to be spotlessly clean and once the heater had been on for only a few minutes, a perfect temperature as well on a wet and chilly evening.
We are very pleased we chose to go there for our special occasion and would happily return.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank belchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile PECHADRE, Directeur général at Les Cabanes dans les Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Really cool these good marks that we do not hesitate to share with the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and had the most amazing time with our two girls aged 2 and 5. The cabin (not really tree houses, as they are built on stilts) was absolutely perfect and rather luxurious (better than some hotels we've stayed in) and had the most gorgeous view. We tried breakfast which is delivered to the cabin. It was good but a tad overpriced, so was dinner (excellent flavours and piping hot, but a bit small considering the price). Staff were friendly and welcoming in their French way, the pool was fantastic and very clean. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katie_c_dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile P, Propriétaire at Les Cabanes dans les Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hello Katie
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers. The whole team thanks you for this opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Great spot and lovely well appointed cabin - great breakfast and pleasant staff - would recommend just check if pool is open as despite advertised as open from April was not yet open so kids disappointed

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Castleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile P, Propriétaire at Les Cabanes dans les Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

We are sorry for your children but we had a small heat pump problem for the pool. We know that this is not a consolation for them but it is now repaired and the first bathers were able to dive as of today 10 April ...
Thank you for your good opinion on the rest of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

My wife booked us into this most unusual hotel as a surprise for my birthday and we had a fabulous time!

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and very friendly. After a few formalities, the most important being ordering our dinner for the following evening, we were taken to our cabane.

The interior is, of course, wooden but light and airy (and the bed very comfortable!) with a small dinning table for two and a desk area. The shower room is off the main area. A lovely ambiance; we thought it was wonderful!

On the opposite side of the cabane a door leads out onto the large terrace in the tree tops; amazing! There is a small round table here, two stools and a couple of lounging chairs for soaking up the sunshine.

The cabanas are on a steeply sloping hillside, so by entering the cabane from a woodland path and passing through to the terrace there is a huge change in elevation!

The evening meals are delivered in a basket to your door, for you to eat in the cabane. The food was very tasty! We had the Terroire menu on the first night and the very copious Romantique menu on the second. Oh, do't forget to order a bottle of the domaine wine! The red was our favourite.

If you feel the urge to explore your surroundings, as we did, you can do so using two quiz leaflets guiding you around the woods and riverside by answering questions at different spots (no prizes, but good fun). One is for adults and one for children, take both and you can cheat; it's much easier and you'll see why when you get the leaflets!

This was a very different and quite magical experience for us; a big thank you to the wonderful staff and as you are only 40 minutes up the road from us, we will be back!

Highly recommended for all big kids!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile P, Propriétaire at Les Cabanes dans les Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression on your stay in this unusual hotel . The whole team is delighted that you are so happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

My husband wanted to surprise me with a one year anniversary stay at this place. We arrived and everything was just gorgeous. The lady that welcomed us was very friendly and she helped us by taking us and our luggage from the parking lot to the cabane.

The room was also stunning, We decided straight away to have some fresh air at the private terrase, then we went for a walk and finally we made it quickly to the room as we had dinner reservations in Carcassone.

When we went to the bathroom, we noticed a SUPER STRONG ACID/SWEAT LIKE SMELL, and we tried to figure out from where it came from. As it was already late and the reception seemed closed, we decided to go for dinner as we thought that leaving the window open will help to clear the smell.

When we went back, the smell was UNBEARABLE. We tried to spray lotion but it seemed to penetrate every single corner not only from the bathroom but also from the entire room.

I tried to sleep, but honestly it was IMPOSSIBLE. Can you imagine sleeping with a strong disgusting sweat smell? In addition, we found hair in the bathroom as well as under the bed, balls of dust and spider webs in the bathroom.

The next morning, we got our breakfast and then was check out. When the lady at the front desk asked about our stay, we said what happened... first her answer was, Im sorry.. would you like some coffee? I was totally appauled by her response, specially as I am also a hotellier.

After a few minutes, she went in to see the manager and she gave us the breakfast (22 euros) as a courtesy for what happened. What surprised me THE MOST, was her answer: "Im sorry, WE KNOW THAT THIS CABANE HAS THAT ISSUE, BUT WE THOUGHT WAS TAKEN CARE OF".

If you KNOW that a room has this kind of issue, you dont give it to a client! The place wasnt even full, as when we had the walk we saw several empty cabannes and only 2 cars parked for the night. Just unbelievable!

We paid over $130 euros to smell sweat all night long. Im super dissapointed and I hope that this DOES NOT HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE IN THE FUTURE, and that management can take responsibility not only for the room, but for our sad one year anniversary experience.

Room tip: Check the smell of the bathroom as soon as you walk in.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank BDCervantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile PECHADRE, Directeur général at Les Cabanes dans les Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2020

We renew our apologies for this bad experience.
We have to admit that we had a really not very appropriate attitude! and thank you for pushing "where it hurts" with this notice!
We took that into account with the whole team so that it never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews