We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
170
69
31
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
69
31
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsazul ocean clubcosta ricablack sandoutdoor showerdirt roadsan juanilloprivate beachhidden gembeach frontboutique hotelpool baroff the beaten patha great experienceatv tourbreakfast and dinnerminute drivelaid back
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We stayed at Azul Ocean Club for four nights in February 2018.
The hotel was clean, rooms were spacious, pool was great. There is beach access - and the beach was always empty! We enjoyed morning swims in the ocean everyday and having the beach to ourselves was so incredible.
The hotel is not super close to other amenities - and you do have to travel down a long gravel road (unpaved) to reach it - therefore I would recommend renting your own car (ideally a SUV).
The food was pretty good and the service was great.

I did enjoy the feeling that this was not a party resort - it was very quiet, not a lot of other people around - which gave it a more calm and relaxing atmosphere :)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This small boutique hotel, right on the beach , is simply fantastic . Seems to be out of this noisi and busy world, silent and quiet in the night when you relax and wach the absolutely fantastic sky, with stars big like coins and so bright you can stay hours to wach them. The hotel has two restaurants and two bars one in the swimming pool is just fantastic while ralaxing in a sunny day,huge rooms with all the comforts, two restaurants, one by the pool one under thecpalm threes, in both of them the food is really good and really plentifull , fantastic fruit plates and drinks, gentle and nice waiters and bar tenders, i,ve been there 4 days and i booked allready for spring brake. This is really a pkace where to go, dont miss it is a really fantastic esperience,the only negative thing about it is that you are going to miss it as soon as you walk out of it. To get there dont be ashamed by the road, almost every beach in Costarica has the same roads to get there, but if you are a good driver is pure fun. Dont miss this place.....pura vida

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Giorgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We spent the last 4 nights of our trip in Costa Rica at this property, and as mentioned by others, it is quite in the middle of nowhere, at the end of a very rocky road. (SUV or Jeep HIGHLY recommended!) Regarding staff, and sometimes lack thereof, was where consistency was needed. At times, it just felt that they were stretched thin as there were only 2 (usually 1) available at a time and so at times you had great service, and at others, just crickets. That being said, Juan Jose at the front desk, was ALWAYS amazing. The food was very good, however the dinner menu could use a bit more variety (I'd highly recommended adding things from the lunch).

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIrishGuatemalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

I love the atmosphere at his restuarant. Tables sit on a well lit balcony, looking into the jungle darkness.

The service is attentive, and excellent, Trying your Spanish is lots of fun.

The food was very good, seafood or roasts and reasonably priced.

One of the better restauants in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2439GAmaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This property is remote and secluded, you drive 20km on a dirt road to get there. If you are looking for serenity and untapped beaches, this is a great spot. The cottages are very spacious with contemporary furnishings, however overall the rooms and property are not well cleaned nor maintained. Our upstairs unit did not have hot water for the shower and despite their efforts to fix it we still ended up with lukewarm shower. Thankfully water in our downstairs unit was warmer and my kids were able to take warmer (but not hot) showers.

The beach was beautiful to look at but not to swim in. Beach sand is black due to volcanoes underwater. Waves are very strong, not too suitable for kids. There is a calmer white sand beach in nearby village San Juanillo but beware of rough rocks in the ocean.

Azul ocean club hotel had very good food, especially for Costa Rica where food is generally overpriced and average.

Another turnoff on this property are the TONS of bugs which enter your room each night. It was hard for me to sleep fearing bugs crawling in my sheets and hair.

Lastly, staff were very polite and helpful, but perhaps overworked.

Overall, property location is amazing; you have ocean view from I think every cottage. However, it feels like it’s withering away in the elements but if you welcome nature then this is a good choice to escape crowds coupled with good food. One star each for location, food and service.



Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank msun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews