We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
204
179
73
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
179
73
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area an adult snack bar sister hotel hotel guests small supplement relaxing holiday seaside suite main pool quiet resort quiet road low key entertainment hotel bar small supermarket sea view the ground floor half board
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Quite a lots of repeats guests and they all got the best tables in restaurant we got pushed in a corner drinks very expensive in restaurant only had water wine was a ripoff not very friendly in hotel wouldn’t come to this hotel again lovely location loved salgar great bars very nice place but book a better hotel

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 169gillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramzy K, Director General at PortBlue Salgar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Gill C

Thank you for posting your comments. I am really sorry that you did not feel confortable, one of our strength and proud is our staff the reason why we have a lot of repeter guests. As i am not sure that you still in our hotel due to the Pseudo name in this site, please contact with me the manager if you still are with us. I am sure that we can make your holiday very better.

kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Some info we picked up from our stay that maybe useful to future guests:
 
The pool is open 10am – 6pm. It is not covered or closed off but we presume those times are when the lifeguard is present and therefore swimming should only be done then. You can still sit by the pool before 10am. Reserving of seats withtowels is not allowed, and did not happen. The lifeguard patrols around for this; but beware there aren’t enough umbrellas for all the seats so if you are down there later (we found if after 11am) you may not get an umbrella so something to bear in mind if you need shade as I do!

Lunch is served in the restaurant by the pool rather than over the road in the main building. There are sometimes weddings at the hotel and then certain areas are not accessible to hotel guests, including the adults only pool.

There was invariably a queue for lunch as there are not enough seats for everyone at the same time. It is served from 13.00 – 15.00. There was usually a swarm of people at 1pm!

All Inclusive stops at 23.00, including for bottled water! There is a café and a couple of bars a short walk away, plus a supermarket which is open 08.00 – 21.00hrs. Our room had a fridge.

Deposit for the safe in the room was 6 Euros per day which is refundable, plus a flat charge to actually “use” it. Pool towels are available for your stay with a refundable 20 Euro deposit. Both the safe and towel payments need to be made in cash.
Eco tax was approx 40 Euros and this can be paid by card.

Entertainment more lively at PortBlue Luis. As guests of S’Algar we could still get All Inclusive drinks there but not food.

We walked up to La Trattoria at PortBlue Las Palmeras for our wedding anniversary and were disappointed. The interior of the restaurant had the look of a service station and the food was not great. Food, and drinks, there are also not included in the all-inclusive (as stated in some older reviews.)

There is now not a train around the area due to funding (again as stated in some older reviews.)

We were staying on the first floor out of two) and there were approximately 25 steps (up and down) to get to our room, something to bear in mind for those with disabilities. The restaurant is on the second floor but there is a lift.

You can catch a local bus to Mahon from near PortBlue Luis hotel for just a few Euros.

There are jellyfish in the sea!

Although it’s advertised as an adult’s only hotel, because the PortBlue hotels allow access to the others in the “group”, sometimes children do come with their parents to use the pool. There is an adults only pool, also with seating, further round; in which children are not allowed. There were sometimes children in the restaurant at lunch time.

Ines and Carmen were lovely in the dining room and Laura was excellent on reception.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MissRed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I had a long weekend with some girlfriends, we are all in our early 50's. We personally found a good mix of guests, yes some were older, but some younger couples and there was a wedding while we was there, with children but they stayed in the San Louis up the road. Fabluous setting overlooking the sea!!

The rooms are what I call rustic and very spanish, but clean, comfortable and have everything you need, we overlooked a very pretty garden with a pond with seating if you wished to sit there.

The food was very very good, always something to eat, excellent wine and service, Carmen and Paco were always welcoming as were all the other attentive staff. Yes it did get busy at times especially at breakfast, but it only takes alittle patience and being courteous! We always enjoyed the food, Cava for breakfast too!!

The swimming pools are fantastic, yes over the quiet road, think I only saw a car drive past a couple of times. We used both pools and also the terrace by the sea which had sunbeds and a gorgeous sea view. The staff at the pool bar and restaurant for lunch were also lovely and the food was very very good, as we was all inclusive we could eat lunch at either location.

The resort itself is VERY quiet, but we liked it. If you venture up the road past Dinkies (which is a good bar but not included) there are about 3 shops and some restaurants, but they are up a street so you could miss them. We personally didn' eat in the restaurants, but bought a view items from the shop.

We walked to the small beach the day we got there as it was a little cloudy, some of the walk was over rock, which we managed with no problem, but other people may need to take more care. The beach was lovely, we said we would go back but unfortunately never made it, there was a bar/restaurant there and was really pretty. The walk to it through the extremely quiet streets, past all the lovely villas was good.

We took the bus into Mahon which is definitely worth a visit, good market there, lovely town and the port area is very nice, also the gin distillery is worth a visit. We asked for samples and was told to help ourselves, AMAZING!!!

There was some OUTSTANDING live music while we was there, a duo and a guy with a tambourine (yes honestly) but both had VERY VERY good voices and seemed pleased when we got up to dance, as did some of the other guests.

Our favourite waiter even bought our drinks to us after we had ordered them at the bar. Treat people how you want to be treated and they look after you is our motto.

Had a lovely time and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank debsh189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This place lives of it's past reparation it's not the same, the food is of poor quality under cooked poor choices and Luke warm if you love salad it's the safest thing to eat the Staff are really nice but they are not aloud to make choices and must stick to the rules laid out by the New owner's it's place we will never visit again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel half board but can stay there all inclusive. Food excellent with views over the pool and bay of you sat outside. Lovely quiet location. 2 pools located across a very quiet road from the hotel one exclusively for Porblue S'Algar guests. No beach but there is a terrace with sun beds and access to the sea. Would recommend this hotel and stay there again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank 16Carolt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews