We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
248
27
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
27
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunting lodge olive trees pasta antipasti course dinner five courses this wonderful place local ingredients fantastic food multi course beautiful umbrian countryside gorgeous pool incredible value wonderful accommodations homemade yogurt a special place historic center
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Driving from Spello through olive groves, on a narrow and winding road with red poppies ( flowers) in abundance, is but just a taste of what lies at the end of the road in Mount Subasio Park - a beautifully restored medieval house, with beautiful rooms and stunning views.
We were welcomed by Jacopo, given a grand tour of the house and during our stay he was always available, friendly and helpful.
The restaurant serves wonderful breakfasts, homemade sweet pastries, cake and jogurt and much more. In the evenings one can book for an Umbrian 6 course meal prepared by Jacopo and his mother. A gastronomical experience and very special with of course their own wine and olive oil. We would have liked a choice from a smaller menu as some evenings we would have liked a lighter meal. From here it is very easy to explore the surrounding area - Spello, Bevagna, Montefalco, Collopino, Mount Sibilini, Norcia and many more.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend Il Bastione to all our friends. Annelize and Lareine, Cape Town, South Africa

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wanderer709752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

How special is it to step back in time and dwell in a 1000 year old Fort which morphed into a hunting lodge owned by the infamous Baglioni clan. Now transformed more civilly by Jacopo and his family into a unique quite spellbinding 6-room only medieval agriturismo lodge, just a little way from the exquisite hill town of Spello. An option for guests is the 25 euro half board package; this is ridiculously incredible value for 5-6 course dinner and unlimited wine and drinks, with all ingredients sourced from the family properties. Along with the generous breakfasts you will be throwing your hands up in surrender very quickly. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Nobile 5 is sensational.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Roshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Agriturismo il Bastione during our honeymoon. It was a nice stay. We really enjoyed the dinner and breakfast, as the food was plentiful, local, and delicious. Dinner begins at 830 pm, and is 1.5 to 2 hours long. If you’re not used to eating a late dinner, bring snacks. Our host was kind and there to meet our needs. We were fortunate enough to have the biggest room on site, which was quite a unique experience. It felt as though we were staying in a museum. There is extensive history to the property, it’s surprising they allow guests free reign and access to most parts.
Check in was at 4 pm. We arrived at 330 pm and couldn’t find anybody on site, or any unlocked doors, which we thought was strange, especially since we had just come from another agriturismo in Tuscany where the owners were there 24/7. As a note of reference, do not arrive prior to check in time, as there may be nobody there to check you in.
We were also disappointed in the pool area during our stay, as it was one of the main reasons why I booked this agristurismo. The pool was littered with bees, too many to count. We couldn’t enjoy the area because of this. When we talked to the host about it, he politely explained there was nothing they could do because the chemicals to kill the bees would go into the pool. Understandable, but disappointing.
Overall, the stay met, but did not exceed our expectations.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

A fantastic 1000 year old Agriturismo property perched above the charming hilltop village of Spello

Food all local or produced on site- be prepared to diet on your return home!
Amazing views and swimming pool

Wonderful hosts

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stuart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Jacopo, the host, was excellent. The homemade, five course, dinners were absolutely amazing--the best food we had during our entire stay in Italy! Il Bastione is beautiful, a medieval structure with modern amenities (wifi, a pool overlooking the valley). Spello is a beautiful hilltop village and a perfect location from which to explore Umbria.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nikih15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews