We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$119 - US$170
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Torre’s menus are inspired by Tuscany’s bountiful seasonal ingredients. The maxim of Executive Chef Di Pirro is, ‘if you want quality then you must follow nature’. Spring brings crisp green beans, zucchini and fragrant herbs. Summer, the Tuscan ports reopen, sending over fresh lobster and prawns. Autumn offers rich flavours of chestnuts, mushrooms, wild boar, and the best porcini and truffles. Each morning Di Pirro takes pleasure in a stroll through the terraces of his own kitchen garden and selects the best sun-ripened produce. In the summer months dining is al fresco, the rolling Chianti countryside unfolds beneath the terrace, with lines of vines and olive groves, fringed with forest. In winter La Torre’s dining is warm and stylish, with a vast period fireplace dominating the room, beneath the vaulted ceilings of the castello’s former stables.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

As we were staying at the Castello del Nero we opted to give this highly rated restaurant a try and definitely made the right choice. The service was superb, elegant yet welcoming. The staff were helpful in providing recommendations and the food was beautifully presented and exceptional. Desserts are works of art so try to save room. As it was a magnificent night, we were fortunate to be served outside which just added to the ambience.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Good afternoon from La Torre at Castello del Nero Barbara H,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased to read such a nice comment which reinforce our dedication to quality delivering, attention to details, to customer happyness and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again and again soon to our restaurant.
Best regards from Sunny Chianti.
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
and all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018

We had the seafood tasting menu here. Every beautifully presented course tasted succulent. We drank an outstanding local wine: Castella della Salla Cervaro, Antinori. The service left nothing to be desired, either. We could hardly believe they served a "pre-dessert," followed by dessert, then macaroons ... but wait ... there's .... more?! Yup. A round of house-made chocolates. Whew, were done. Nope! The final, final round of dessert was the little treasure chest of miniature pastries. When was the last time you had a five-course dessert?! I forgot to mention how gorgeous the decor was--elegant, country Italian (though leaning hard toward Frenchy). It was as perfect an evening as any connoisseur diner could dream up. We'd return--but we'd be sure to budget our stomachs for the elaborate desserts! (NOTE: There was a vegetarian option for the prix fixe menu. :D This restaurant also provided one of the more outstanding breakfast buffets I've had in Europe. )

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Litr8r86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Good afternoon from La Torre at Castello del Nero Litr8r86,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased to read such a nice comment which reinforce our dedication to quality delivering, attention to details, to customer happyness and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again and again soon to our restaurant.
Best regards from Sunny Chianti.
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
and all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We ate here a couple of times on an earlier trip to Tuscany when we stayed across the field from Castello del Nero. That time was in November and we ate inside, it was dark out, but the food was amazing, especially for my celiac husband who needs to eat gluten-free. For this trip we were traveling with friends and so booked a rather early dinner reservation. At the last minute, due to the illness of one of our party, we had to change our reservation from eight persons to two. The restaurant was very gracious and we showed up early, actually before they opened. If we had understood the lay of the land, we would have gone to the lower patio for cocktails. Despite being early, they seated us on the patio (only outdoor seating that evening), and brought us to check out the wine cellar. The patio, and the view from the patio was stunning. We had a set menu that was superb. As we had remembered, it was extremely good for gluten-free, with excellent GF bread. Service was very professional, yet warm and friendly. Wine mark-ups were more like the States, since we found in a lot of the smaller, more modest restaurants mark-ups on Italian wines were nearly non-existent. This was a lovely dining experience from start to finish. Our thanks to Pasquali and his staff for a perfect evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Good afternoon from La Torre at Castello del Nero huntejk,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased to read such a nice comment which reinforce our dedication to quality delivering, attention to details, to customer happyness and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again and again soon to our restaurant.
Best regards from Sunny Chianti.
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
and all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The Michelin Star restaraunt is beyond words. We did one of their course menus and words cannot describe the meal and the attentiveness of the entire staff - it was a meal beyond any expectations we had!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank khite715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Good afternoon from La Torre at Castello del Nero khite715,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased to read such a nice comment which reinforce our dedication to quality delivering, attention to details, to customer happyness and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our restaurant.
Best regards from Sunny Chianti.
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
and all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

As a Michelin Restaurant it was a experience we never had before. The wine pairing, the several dishes and the presentation was an experience by itself.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AccidentalCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Good afternoon from La Torre at Castello del Nero AccidentalCritic2014,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased to read such a nice comment which reinforce our dedication to quality delivering, attention to details, to customer happyness and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our restaurant.
Best regards from Sunny Chianti.
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
and all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Torre del Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing