We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and staff who work passionately and deliver top service”

Ristorante Borgo Antico
Reserve with
Ristorante Borgo Antico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We ate here on three evenings of our recent stay in Tavarnelle and cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. The menu has a lot to choose from but there are also daily specials. As everything was so tasty, we indulged every time having three courses. We had several starters, such as the bruschetta pommodori and mixed bruschetta and several primi such as a pasta with freshly made pesto, gnocchi with tomato and mozzarella from the oven, pasta all'arrabbiata, pasta with bell-pepper sauce and a tagliatelle with lemon sauce (to mention a few!). We found them all delicious. We also tried many deserts, which all were excellent but of which the pecorino cheese platter and grandma's cake became my favorites. As we're not wine experts we always drank the red house wine which complemented the food very well.

A special mention must be made about the excellent service that Katia and the ladies provide, running everything efficient while giving all the guests personal attention, quickly learning what one's taste is and giving excellent recommendations. Besides that, they create an atmosphere where people have conversations, laugh and don't stare at their smartphones in silence and where the dinner experience is just as nice for couples as it is for families with kids, groups of friends, locals and tourists.

Both the outside terrace as well as the indoors seating area are great places to eat and at the end of the evening, when you look at your bill, you can only be amazed at how they deliver such wonderful food, service and atmosphere at such affordable prices.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Ruud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I Stopped here for lunch on the way to our hotel Castello del Nero, and didn't want up. The food was very good, flavorful and well cooked
When I mentioned about gluten diet , the gluten free pasta and bread was served with no problem and so tasty.
Katia the owner was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome . During the lunch we decided to come back same day for the dinner to celebrate our anniversary ! WOW ,what a pleasant surprise ! When we arrived for the dinner there was an anniversary card on our table . Katia!!!!
We had a wonderful dinner with excellent service! Great alfresco eating , fabulous food, amazing desserts.
A top recommendation !
Looking forward to be back!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Miamiblues1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is attached to the B&B where we were staying and the host and staff are very friendly. Good choice did foods and wine with daily specials. You need to book as this is really popular.

Food was excellent, had a bit of a mix up with secondi but these things happen.

Worth a visit

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank scottw1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

A highly recommended local restaurant. We were a party of 15. I reserved a table over the phone a week in advance, and when we arrived to the restaurant, a wonderful table was already set up and waiting for us. The owner took great care of us. She speaks very good English, is (rightfully) proud in the local dishes she serves and is a very sweet, warm and accomodating host. Service, in general, was friendly and professional. The food itself is very good, all very local and made in loving hands. Prices are reasonable. The restaurant is very pleasant and has lots of space for children to run around in. Don't miss this restaurant if you are around.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We were staying in a nearby agriturismo and stopped here for a late lunch. The restaurant was hosting a couple of dinner parties and could not offer us a full meal but called a nearby restaurant to see if they could accommodate us. When told the restaurant was closed, the owner set up a special table for us and provided cheese, prosciutto, tomatoes and salad.
A few days later we showed up for dinner but failed to make a reservation. Again, a special table was set up for us and we had a spectacular meal. The waitress was friendly the food was excellent and we felt very welcomed at this wonderful restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Borgo Antico also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing